We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in California for romance, views and fine dining....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Carmel Highlands
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Tiburon, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best hotel in California for romance, views and fine dining....”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel was built just after the turn of the century on what I believe to be THE best location anywhere in the U.S. Hyatt bought the Highlands Inn maybe 10 or so years ago and branded it, so there are some changes (I stayed when it was the Highlands Inn) but there has been a successful effort to retain the amazing charm of this great hotel.

I highly recommend renting either an ocean view one bedroom suite or a two bedroom townhome with ocean view so that you can enjoy a small (lovely, newly remodeled, granite, stainless steel type) kitchenette as well as a huge jacuzzi tub that offers view of the Pacific Ocean while soaking :)

Endless firewood sits your door; days of hiking Point Lobos and exploring the coast can end with a glass of wine on your own ocean view deck and a fire waiting to be lit (completely ready for you by your housekeeper) as soon as the post sunset chill beckons you inside.

Room service is wonderful with full fine dining options you can enjoy in your suite by the fire...The hotel dining restaurant is special occasion worthy with some of the best views imaginable. The bar is great with imaginative cocktails and there is no need to dress up if you prefer to spend your day outside and also enjoy cocktails and snacks in the large bar lounge.

Housekeeping goes above and beyond to take great care of guests. Everyone is helpful for whatever you desire; bicycles await for free for those who wish to explore on bikes; and the fitness center is state of the art and very very clean.

I have a special place in my heart for this hotel and will always visit at least twice a year. Sometimes I stay a week but even a weekend can restore even the most tired individual.

This hotel is special because of its location but it's an excellent hotel because of the staff who work hard to ensure that all guests enjoy everything Carmel has to offer.

Honeymooners, anniversary couples will especially enjoy the romantic suites in this very very special location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We are so happy you enjoyed the wonderful views, the wood burning fireplaces and the great local hiking! We hope you visit us again and thank you for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    294
    160
    98
    65
See reviews for
225
627
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Pacific
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We gave up trying to book a nice room at the adjacent Tickled Pink inn and glad we settled on this Hyatt instead. From our 2-level suite we could see back and left to the said inn (with unbelievably tardy responses to online booking attempts) and gauge that actually we did rather well with a superior property complete with stunning ocean and cliff views. We liked our suite with huge bath tub and real wood-burning fire to enjoy s'mores. In house dinner was better than breakfast but views were always superb. Had the best of both worlds by enjoying a fab sunset dinner at the Post Ranch Inn a bit down the road.

Room Tip: We liked the suite with huge bath tub and real wood-burning fire to enjoy s'mores.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LGRL100313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the fireplaces, big bathtubs and of course the fabulous views! We hope you visit us again and thank you for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The structure is still there, the terrific Pacific Edge Restaurant is still there, some of the timely and gracious staff service is still there, but it's not the hotel it used to be. The
Highlands Inn is currently about 3/4 timeshare and 1/4 hotel and it shows. We had been to the hotel twice in the 90's and again July 2014. The last visit showed us that the hotel lacked the energy and vitality it once had. The restaurant and check-in staff seemed to be less gracious than I remembered years ago. The views are what makes this hotel's reputation. The rooms are not all the same and I believe that most of the rooms available for hotel use have lesser features. Although the Hyatt sales agent was gracious, one doesn't expect a sales call when one stays at a $500 + a day hotel room. A special positive shout-out to the bellmen, who are still doing a great job.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlohaMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We are happy you enjoyed great service fro the bellman, and enjoyed Pacific's Edge and the wonderful views. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This is not the type of Hyatt you're thinking of, the kind with a glass elevator and a corporate rate for the conference you're attending in the basement. This is where you use the Hyatt points you accumulate from THAT type of Hyatt. This place feels like you are a resident of one of the most scenic areas of the country. Our room was a full townhouse with a kitchen and a quiet, dark bedroom downstairs. Even though it was February, I was able to swim because the pool was heated. There was also a well-equipped gym. The restaurant has spectacular views and food. The hotel is also more reasonably priced than other luxury hotels in the area, especially considering that it overlooks the ocean. Yes, we did get the annoying time share pitches that others described but we just ignored them. Overall, this was a lovely setting for our anniversary weekend getaway.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We are so happy you joined us for your anniversary getaway and had a great time! We hope you visit us again and thank you for the wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We booked the Hyatt after American Express told us it was part of their Fine Hotels at $750 a night!... We check in at hotel booked 2 villas. Sat down for glass of wine with magnificent views and was approached by young man employed by Hyatt telling us about Carmel and discounts in area. After 15 minutes of talking he now goes into sales hype about time share at Hyatt! We tried to blow him off but he was relentless with offers and going to a meeting. After we had enough of his used car sales pitch we finally went to our villa. Walk into Villa and was greeted to horrible smell from not cleaned fireplace and a room with lumpy beds and horrible paint job!
After experiencing the timeshare nonsense and walking into a supposedly 5 star resort hotel seeing this atrocious room we immediately decided blow this taco stand and get out.
The place is a timeshare mecca and if you are going as a hotel guest AVOID at all costs!
Will say front desk was gracious and we did get a full refund.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Randy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

It is perched around the Big Sur drive and you can directly see the sea from your hotel room.

The room is much like an apartment. Kitchen, two bathroom, lounge (with a fireplace) and a beautiful room. I loved the bath in the centre of the room.

The food is exquisite. I had some of the best food on the coastal drive at this hotel. Really pleased and would go back in a flash!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sonia_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
We are so happy you enjoyed a wonderful visit with us! We thank you for the great review and we hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I highly reccomend the Hyatt Carmel Higlands. The rooms are very clean and the views were breathtakingly beautiful. The service was beyond first class, from the restuarant to the valet, we highly reccomend this resort

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank StocktonLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmelHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
We are so happy you joined us for your Honeymoon and enjoyed a great visit! Congratulations and we sincerely hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
3.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
873 reviews
3.7 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#19 of 25 in Carmel
351 reviews
3.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
10.2 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
347 reviews
5.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Carmel Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Carmel Highlands

Property: Hyatt Carmel Highlands
Address: 120 Highland Dr, Carmel, CA 93923-9607
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#17 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Carmel Highlands 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge yourself. Hyatt Carmel Highlands is a picturesque retreat overlooking the Big Sur coast with epic views of the Pacific Ocean, and a stunning natural environment made even more special by our impeccable staff. Our Carmel by-the-Sea hotel is an oceanfront retreat that seamlessly blends the amenities of a large hotel with the refined charm of a boutique hideaway. Dine at the award-winning California Market at Pacific's Edge restaurant. After a morning of yoga, take a dip in our heated outdoor pool or unwind with a relaxing spa experience. If it's outdoor activity you crave, we offer mountain bike rentals and maps for hikes, jogs and bike rides around the stunning Carmel area. Let the Les Clefs d'Or Concierge arrange a day trip to explore Big Sur or a round at legendary Pebble Beach. Host an intimate sunset wedding ceremony or intimate reception on our redwood deck. Feel inspired by the breathtaking vistas that surround our Carmel hotel. Your experience is limited only by your imagination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Carmel Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Carmel Highlands Hotel Carmel
Highlands Hotel Hyatt Carmel
Carmel Highland Inn
Carmel Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing