We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”
Review of Svendsgaard's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Svendsgaard's Inn
Ranked #12 of 25 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed in June 2011 and had a wonderful time. The room decor is somewhat dated but very very clean. The coffee and waters were replaced every day. The continental breakfast was very filling every day. But the best part is how they cater to dogs. We could walk right out our door to the grassy area so our dog could play and relieve herself. And the area was very neat with disposal bags provided. The flowers were very nice. Lots of parking so you could walk everywhere.

If you are looking for a fancy hotel with perfect decor, this is not the place. If you are looking for a clean, quiet place to stay with your dog that is very reasonably priced even during the summer months, this is the place to stay. We will be back.,

If you have a dog that needs to go out at night, ask for one of the lower level rooms. You can just walk out and not deal with any stairs.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAtortoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
There are newer reviews for Svendsgaard's Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

273 - 279 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2011

We could not have been more pleased with our decision to stay at Svendsgaard's Inn. We have an ailing and older golden and the staff could not have been more helpful and kind . We needed help lifting him down the short flight of stairs and there was always someone there willing to do this for us. The rooms we surrounding a little green lawn area and it was nice to let him have a place to roam and play. We stayed in a room on the end and I would recommend this, as we did not face the courtyard. In the mornings a breakfast basket was left at our door with the daily newspaper, cereal, fruit, muffins, juice and treats for the dog. Our room was clean and quiet and we loved the Jacuzzi tub . We will definitely return and highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: end rooms and, if not with a pet, top floor where some have ocean views
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fotomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stopped at Carmel on the way back to LA from spending Christmas in SF. We loved this town and decided to stay last minute for the night. We went to the guest service office and found this last minute deal. It's a great, cute place, clean and cozy. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CloeyLosAngeles_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

My fiance and I stayed here for a romantic Memorial weekend trip and we stayed for three nights. The Inn is located at a great place as it is close to downtown and the beach! We are in our mid to late 20's and we walked everywhere! We only drove once to Point Lobos other than that the whole weekend we walked to the bars and restaurants. The beach is about a mile away and it's gorgeous! The breakfast coolers in the mornings are great-so cute! The items are not bad, pastries, cereal and fruits! The hotel decor is a bit outdated but it's clean and very comfortable. The housekeepers are great! There is a little pub right across the street and it was fun to watch games and get some good cheap eats late! The front desk attendants are just wonderful--so helpful! We were craving some cookies one night around 11:30pm and we just asked if they had some more (secret stash) and the guy gave us a plateful! :-) Will definitely come again and recommend to friends and family!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

The name "Svendsgaard" must certainly be Swedish for "Hospitality at its Best". This little Inn just screams "Charming" the moment you pull into their parking lot. Set on a quiet corner just a few walking blocks to the main areas ot carmel-by-the-sea. Well manicured shrubs and glorious flowers abound surrounding the heated pool and 38 units. Like a painter's palette with splashes of color everywhere on the property of Svendsgaard's Inn. You feel relaxed the moment you step out of your vehicle. Greeting you is a little office with a lovely entrance into a large comfortable sitting area furnished with lovely fireplace burning little logs.
Seth, the front desk gentleman, was extremely pleasant with a friendly smile checked us right in. Supplied us with the local town map and answered our questions readily. Room was ready, no wait. Seth informed us our continental breakfast would be brought to our room in the morning. Room was lovely and supplied with refrigerator and coffee maker. Had shower in our private bath which was sufficient. Little amenities rounded it off.
In the morning hot coffee/tea were available in the office along with a selection of fruit. In the afternoon, cookies and, again, coffee/tea. Nice touch.
The continental breakfast was very nice and plentiful. Cereals, milk, yogurt, pastry, and fruit were in the little cooler bag left outside our door by 7:30 approximately. More than enough to get you started for the day.
The Inn is far enough away from the shops and restaurant traffic but close enough to walk anywhere. Little free shuttle bus that encircles the town was great. After checking around, Svendsgaard's Inn was the most compettitve in the tariff. Overall, this little "Inn" works extremely well on your wallet but most of all surpasses the "others" with loads of charm similar to walking into a "Thomas Kinkade painting".

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GCSMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

This has been our second stay at this lovely inn and we will always stay here when we visit Carmel ! The room is perfect for us. Huge bed { i tend to hog the bed } and jacuzzi. And we just adore the breakfast basket each morning. The staff are helpful and quite charming. We just hate leaving the place !! Thank you Svendsgaad, we will see you again.....soon!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teamDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

Svendsgaard has it all. Perfect walking location to restaurants and downtown shopping in Carmel. Ambience in the main lobby area and rooms are comfortable and charming. The staff provides excellent customer service. As we are seniors and my husband is disability retired we look forward to their specials and promos as their regular rates are higher than our budget allows. They also have "walk-in" rates that are equivalent to the inexpensive places to stay nearby but not nearly as comfortable and desirable as Svendsgaard. This can be your "go to" place always if the cost was kept to a moderate level.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dormieone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
596 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
680 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
0.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Svendsgaard's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svendsgaard's Inn

Address: At the corner of San Carlos Street and Fourth Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range: £138 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Svendsgaard's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the European ambiance of Svendsgaard’s Inn, the newest pet-friendly lodging in Carmel. Located in the heart of Carmel village, most of the 35 guest rooms and suites overlook the garden courtyard and large heated swimming pool. Accommodations include complimentary in-room wireless internet access, continental breakfast and newspaper delivered to your door each morning and plenty of off-street parking. Most rooms and suites also include fireplaces, kitchens, and spa tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Svendsgaard's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svendsgaard`s Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing