We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the cost”
Review of Svendsgaard's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Svendsgaard's Inn
Ranked #13 of 25 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2012

The worst bed I ever slept in. The
mattress was so old you fell into it. Woke up with neck and back pain. If they charge $160 a night the least they can do is provide a decent bed.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maryjones13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

We take these concerns seriously and offered this guest a solution at the time of their stay. The mattress in question is in fact a Serta 5 star pillowtop, commercial grade and just 1 year old. We receive many compliments on these mattresses however, we do regret that it wasn't suitable for this guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

259 - 265 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2012

We enjoy the breakfast delivered to the door every morning. The pool is very nice. The rooms are large and spacious for our needs. The fireplace is wonderful when the weather gets cool. I like the discounts with some of the restaurants in town. The walk to town is easy and fast.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank ILIrene80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The hotel "Svendsgaard's Inn" is a good hotel in Carmel by the Sea. They allow dogs which makes it the perfect destination for us. The rate per night is reasonable. We stay at least three times a year there. The staff is nice. Check in is easy. Locations is central. We stay at the "Svendsgaard's Inn" hotel out of the following reasons: location, dog friendly, okay pricing, two person hot tub in room, fireplace.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank RondaM6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

spent 2 nights here at the beginning of june. on the whole we enjoyed are stay and had no real issues with the hotel , the room was comfortable and the delivered breakfast is a nice touch. the furniture and the rooms in general seemed to be a little dated, this wasnt really a problem for us however the price we paid for the room i expected a little more, i guess though that we were charged the going rate for this kind of property in carmel which is probably higher than other areas.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I booked this at the last minute with no expectations other than that they allowed dogs. I ignored the cranky reviews and am glad I did. It's not a 4 star place, but it is cute and cozy. It is great for dogs. Also, leave breakfast at your door in the morning, along with a little treat for the pooch :-) We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hoohee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

the inn is in a fabulous location, the reception is welcome, clean and tidy. Obviously money has been spent maintaining the communal areas. Likewise the pool and gardens are well maintained and pretty.

However, going into the room it smelt of stale smoke, not from smoking inside the room but from the communal ash tray being located directly outside our door.
The fixtures and fittings were what I would expect from a 1 star B&B broken bedside tables and wardrobe doors. Burn marks in both bed covers (2 bed room). The carpet was dirty and very shabby. If I had a dog with me it would make me sigh with relief that my dog was not going to damage the carpet an more than it was already.

I KNOW everywhere in Carmel is expensive, and location location location, however, it doesn't take much to fix broken furniture, and throwing out bed spreads with holes in them. Tis almost like they don't care.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BitFrustrated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I took my wife there for her birthday weekend and was embarrassed at the very cramped quarter with very dated furniture. Room had no hair dryer, or a microwave. The one positive item is the fact that the hotel is dog friendly. The staff was not accommodating. I asked to switch to another room and was told by the front desk that I could not move because they were sold out, however 30 minutes later a traveler asked if rooms were available and was told yes. I told the front desk person that I did not think it was fair, I should have gotten the room when I asked to be switched and was told that it is hotel policy not to switch guests who book online. I will never stay there or recommend the hotel. I paid nearly $200.00 to me in cramped quarters for three nights

Room Tip: Don't get the rooms closest to the parking lot. That's where our tiny room was located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ka6mbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
617 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
693 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
592 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Svendsgaard's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svendsgaard's Inn

Address: At the corner of San Carlos Street and Fourth Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range: £132 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Svendsgaard's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the European ambiance of Svendsgaard’s Inn, the newest pet-friendly lodging in Carmel. Located in the heart of Carmel village, most of the 35 guest rooms and suites overlook the garden courtyard and large heated swimming pool. Accommodations include complimentary in-room wireless internet access, continental breakfast and newspaper delivered to your door each morning and plenty of off-street parking. Most rooms and suites also include fireplaces, kitchens, and spa tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Svendsgaard's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svendsgaard`s Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing