We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food & warm service”
Review of Basil

Basil
Reserve with OpenTable
Basil is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 159 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ocean & 7th
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic food & warm service”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

My friends and I found this restaurant through Yelp! and randomly walked in on a Sat evening. We managed to get seats for 90mins later, and returned to warm friendly service and great food. Perhaps we were hungry, but the bread and pesto+ garlic was moreish. We shared the seafood meatballs appetizer, which were soft and springy. My artichoke ravioli main was very satisfying as was the duck prosciutto wrapping my friend's chicken. They also had a very interesting cocktail menu, and we had a fun time interacting with the wait staff as they knew their menu well, yet still managed to make it sound personal, and not snobbish. The icing on the cake was we had very friendly neighbours....they were probably honeymooners or very much in love, but it was all just a nice touch as they gayfully and tolerantly prodded us on as we snapped pictures of our food and ourselves (as I was visiting friends whom I had not seen for years). All in all, a very enjoyable evening and highly recommended to cap off a lovely evening in Carmel.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jantsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    131
    52
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Left coast USA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wow, what a find!”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This is a restaurant to return to again and again. Service = A+. Selections = A+. Taste = A+. Bar and wine = A. What's not to like?

Small - need a reservation. Personalized, and friendly. Tasty and creative - both drinks and food. Our party of four tried four differnt entrees - all felt they were outstanding. Don't miss the Ollalaberry cobbler for dessert.

A winner, especaially in Carmel, where many restaurants are either over priced or tired or both.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tex805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Excellent Service”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

After a finding another restaurant closed, we stumbled upon Basil. We decided to give it a try. Even though we didn't have reservations, they were very accommodating and found us a table outside under the heaters. Our waitress, Ashley, was absolutely wonderful. She was knowledgeable. Gave us meal suggestions without being pushy, which I personally appreciate in a waiter or waitress. Our appetizer and entrees were delicious and filling, but the absolute highlight of the meal was the deserts. They made us feel very welcome, when the waitress realized it was our anniversary dinner she gave us candles to put on our deserts. A small but powerful gesture. Overall a wonderful experience, a wonderful service and for all that we ordered a wonderful price.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeur D Alene
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“tiny and in tune”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Fresh, innovative menu and imaginative plating. This tiny space is intimate, fun and satisfying

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank cdafloathouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of my lovliest meals of 2011”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Basil has wonderfully inventive fresh fantastic cooking. I still dream about the grilled king prawns i had for starter. Great staff and wonderful ambience. Great selection of organic teas to go with my cheesecake dessert. I love to go back soon, only wish i lived closer!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Corneelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basil also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing