We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful atmosphere for Outdoor Dining”
Review of Basil

Basil
Reserve with OpenTable
Basil is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 159 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ocean & 7th
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
132 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere for Outdoor Dining”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

It was too beautiful a night to even consider eating indoors. Lovely outdoor patio, food exceptionally good. My husband tried the soup of the day, which he loved, I tried the excellent pate and, frankly, ate it all - could not bear to leave a tiny bit behind. We had been dining around Carmel all evening, next time, we stop in here for a full meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Itinerant2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    131
    52
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Happened onto this restaurant while exploring Carmel last August. Sat outside for drinks and lunch. Food was delicious and the staff was very accommodating. Recommend!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience . . . but don't be too loud. :)”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Let me explain . . . when I made our reservation for lunch for 10, they wanted to make sure we wouldn't be too loud because their establishment was rather small. They let me know that they usually seat a large group outside, but since it was rather blustery and chilly, indoors it would be. I must confess, this was a bit of a put off and I almost said, "never mind". I'm glad we kept our reservation!

Our group dwindled down to seven by the time we arrived. And yes, Basil is VERY small, much like many restaurants in Carmel. But the food was LARGER than life, and so was the service! We started with the Abalone appetizer since most of us had never had abalone. It was fresh with a delightful mix of peas and potatoes in a light cream sauce. And the presentation was gorgeous! (see pic) Basil also has an excellent wine selection.

Everyone enjoyed what they ordered. I had the Roasted Beet Salad: Belgian endive/wild arugula/goat cheese/walnuts/raspberry vinaigrette. It was VERY fresh and flavorful! I tried a bite of someone's Pulled Pork Slider and it was wonderful (braised in dark beer, how can you go wrong!).

Next time we are in Carmel we will return for dinner, hopefully on the patio. The website says they have heaters AND provide blankets - SOLD!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I'm still thinking about their food!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

If you're coming to Carmel for a vacation - be sure to stop by Basil. Their food is always fresh and new and their cocktails are to die for! It's an intimate venue so be sure to call ahead for a reservation. And yes I'm still thinking about the lamb....

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sheresar0cks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fresh local food, imaginative cocktails”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had dinner on a Friday, made the reservation earlier that day. The service was extremely friendly, almost too enthusiastic. The food was more on the classic side with the tastes, really good but nothing really new. The ingredients were local and fresh. The drink menu was more playful with herbs (of course basil, but others as well) etc.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Riikka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basil also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing