We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vagabond's House Inn (Carmel) - Best B&B stay ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vagabond's House Inn
Ranked #9 of 25 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We came to Carmel for some recreation and to decompress. What we received at the Vagabond's House Inn was so much more than we expected. Nearby shopping, fantastic restaurants, and a beach second to none - what more could someone want? But Vagabond's House added a level of homey - ness and comfort we thought was out of our reach! They treated us like royalty, and spoiled us.
Fantastic food was brought to our room by pleasant staff members in the morning. No running out and grabbing something inferior on the way to the day's activities, it was all taken care of by a capable and willing chef and staff.
Onsite massage soothed our sore and tired muscles from the day's sightseeing and beach combing - thank you to Thom for suggesting it. Surely a treat that made our day!
Sightseeing on Highway 1 down to Big Sur, all mapped out for us by the hosts/managers/concierges/everythings Thom and Ran. We always had a seat at the perfect restaurant - which is something hard to do when we don't even know what we want. Ran and Thom steered us in the right direction every time.
Thom booked a whale watching tour for us which ran out of Monterey's Fisherman's Wharf - Whale watching capital of the world! Everyone on our tour saw plenty of whales.
Ran booked a tee time at a golf course nearby. Not the famous Pebble Beach, we are recreational golfers, and wanted something much less lofty. The public courses nearby have phenomenal scenery, are close to Pebble Beach, and only cost about what we'd pay for golf at home. Great choice - Rancho Canada in Carmel Valley.
Monterey Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, scenic routes, whale watching tours, great restaurants, and excellent wine were all Ran and Thom's perfect suggestions.
Wine and cheese served in the lobby in the evenings by Ran and Thom were a good social time to talk with the other guests about their adventures of the day. Special local wines from the area were served, and we enjoyed them all.
Ran and Thom took such good care of us, and we enjoyed the Vagabonds House so much that we have booked a honeymoon suite for a few nights as a gift for our son and his soon-to-be wife. It is the perfect way to start a life together. I am sure the Vagabond's House Inn will be just as impressive to them as it is to us. We're coming back soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hambone629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

My husband and I are not ones to stay at the same place twice, even if we love it, because there are so many new places to explore. However, we couldn't resist going back to the Vagabond House Inn. Everything is walking distance from this charming, unique bed and breakfast.

Our first experience was for my birthday. My husband booked the Grape Escape package. Our room was on the bottom floor, which I loved. The doors to these rooms are Dutch doors (bottom half can stay closed, while top half opens). We liked to open the top half in the mornings during breakfast and evenings during wine, to listen to the pretty fountain in the courtyard.

Our room had a queen size bed, and day bed (This would be great for children), full kitchen and a tiny bathroom. We never went into the kitchen as we only stayed during a weekend and treated ourselves out. The room also had a fireplace, which we used daily.

Breakfast, I really enjoyed how the Inn does breakfast. While checking in, you also fill out what you would like off the breakfast menu and a time for them to deliver it. This can be changed daily or be kept the same. This was so nice, not having to get up and get ready for breakfast. We were able to stay in our pajamas, wrap ourselves in the nice robes they had in the closet and eat breakfast in our room.

The package included a massage. We wrapped ourselves in our robes and walked to The Vagabonds massage room, which is very nice and relaxing. The massages were excellent! We booked a massage the second time we stayed too.

All the tasting rooms were walking distance from the Inn. It was fun to taste around Carmel, because you can taste, shop, eat, taste, shop eat…etc.

The Inn also has a wine and cheese happy hour. The host’s were always so nice and full of information on the area.

The second time we stayed we booked a room upstairs. It was nice, but we really missed the Dutch door and being able to listen to the fountain. The room didn't have the same feel that we got from our previous stay. The gentleman (I feel so bad, that I forgot his name) was so over the top nice, he showed me the other rooms that were available, worked with me on prices, and we were able to move to a beautiful room downstairs. This room had no kitchen and the bathroom was fabulous! Nice chandelier over the jetted tub. I think it was room 5.

I hope this review has helped. We are tempted to go back one more time, before moving out of California.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rosensweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

It's impossible to capture in pictures the ambiance and wonderful feeling we had while staying here. Close to town, the beach, and restaurants - Vagabond's House Inn is the perfect location! Every detail inside and outside on the property were purposely planned for beauty and comfort. Staff was warm, attentive and well informed on local spots which guests would enjoy. Ran and Thom are the superstars of this property - they made our stay outstanding.
Thom booked a whale watching tour for us - Chris' on Fisherman's Wharf in Monterey. Great experience - a smaller group than most, lasts 3 hrs, and very respectful of the wildlife.
The Tentacles exhibit was at the Monterey Aquarium, something not to be missed. Ran suggested the perfect restaurant on more than one occasion, and helped us plan our route for sightseeing. Perfect call on the restaurants and visual feasts! Thom arranged a wonderful couples massage right there on the property. We floated back to our gorgeous room.
Golf! Of course, Pebble Beach is ground zero for all golf enthusiasts, and it is walking distance. Since we are not the most accomplished golfers, Pebble Beach, Spyglass, etc. are intimidating for us. There are fantastic nearby courses, which cost a tiny fraction of PB, with breathtaking scenery of their own to offer. Rancho Canada in Carmel Valley was just a few minutes away, very rea$onable, and beauty everywhere. Other public courses are similar, but we did not have time to explore them all. Next time, maybe....
When you visit Vagabond's House Inn (and you certainly should) be sure to try some of the wines that Ran and Thom have when they host wine and cheese in the evenings. My particular favorite is Papa's All Blacks - if you're a fan of reds (or even if you're not) you are missing out if you do not try it!
We cannot wait to plan our return trip - and spend more time. Perfect weather, perfect everything. What else could one want?!

Room Tip: They are all perfect rooms - just pick one, and you will most likely be as delighted as were we. Tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TexeCuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We found That Vagabond's House to be very relaxing and cozy. The pictures do not do the Inn justice. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable. The rooms inviting and clean.We felt like welcome guests in a friend's home. We loved the whole experience. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sassieone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed three nights in Vagabond. We stayed in room 9 which is one of the more spacious rooms. The bathroom is really nice with a large shower and a separate bath. The bedroom has a lot of space, you have a fridge with daily fresh water and a microwave which is convenient. The hotel itself is located nicely close to the shops and restaurants, the beach is a bit further but still very good on walking distance.

The location of the room was for us not really great, most of the rooms are located around a patio, there are ground floor rooms and some 1st floor rooms. Room 9 is on the ground floor and it is close to where the maids in the morning get their cleaning stuff so this is a bit noisy, in addition the room lies just behind a small water fall which is on the patio and this runs the whole night, since there is no AC we kept our windows open but the sound of running water the whole night was for us not very peaceful.

Breakfast is served in your room, it is ok. If you want something before breakfast, there is a small coffee machine in the room but not a water boiler for some tea and the coffee machine might be able to give you hot water but it has a taste of coffee. It is a nice place stay definitely but look good which room you select.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esther1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My husband and I had an amazing stay at the Vagabond's House Inn a few weeks ago. The property was beautiful and the room (room 1) was clean and very cozy. We had a fire in the fireplace each morning with breakfast before heading out to explore Carmel. The Inn is in a perfect location on a quiet street, but just a few blocks from downtown so we were able to walk to dinner every night. One of the highlights was the wonderful spa -- we enjoyed one of the best massages we've ever had. Overall, we spent a very relaxing weekend at this charming Inn and would definitely go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1, which was on the street. Although some other travelers commented that this room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank espresso314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Vagabond Inn was more delightful than we could have imagined. We went here for our 20th Anniversary. Our room overlooked a storybook courtyard cascading with colorful flowers and a melodious fountain. We could walk to the beach as well as the shops and restaurants of Carmel. We had a lovely bottle of wine waiting for us at check-in, the innkeepers were helpful and informative, we had a fire in the wood-burning fireplace each night, and breakfast in our room each morning. There was also a lovely wine and cheese each afternoon. If you like charming, small, boutique hotels with lots of character, give this place a try.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TaraSA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
919 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#22 of 25 in Carmel
370 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#1 of 25 in Carmel
466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carmel Country Inn
Carmel Country Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond's House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond's House Inn

Address: Dolores St & 4th Ave, P.O. Box 2747, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range: £204 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vagabond's House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern amenities and fresh decor define this English Tudor style Bed & Breakfast Boutique Inn and Spa Studio, situated in the heart of Carmel-by-the-Sea. All your favorite coffee drinks from Ristretto and Espresso to Flat White at our complimentary coffee station where we serve fresh-weekly roasted La Donna blend from La Coppa. Have movie night with our over sized flat screen Smart Samsung televisions. You can enjoy our DishTV and NetFlix or cast programming from your cell phone or laptop. Most of our rooms are spacious, with heated marble bathroom floors and marble showers, separate freestanding tubs, double vanities, king bed and bar area. Other rooms include one with a full kitchen (#4) and one with a small jetted tub (#5). All rooms include refrigerator and most include a microwave. Beds sleep like a cloud with high end pillow top mattresses that are topped with feather beds, crisp linens, down filled duvets and down pillows. Feather bed and down can be removed upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Vagabond's House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond`s House Hotel Carmel
Vagabonds Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing