We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unethical Theives” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carmel Resort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carmel Resort Inn
Ranked #24 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Port Orange, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unethical Theives”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Do not stay at this property. I mistakenly left my children's favorite stuffed animals in the room. I called them within 3 hours of discovering them missing. The staff told me they had found them, I left my credit card number for them to send them to me at home. I called several times and talked to 4 different people who told me the items were there and that Anna the general manager would be sending them out. After a month of leaving messages for Anna and having not recieved the items I was told by the staff that Anna had taken the the toys and had sent them. One month and two weeks and 15 phone calls later I have not recieved the items nor I have had a return phone call from Anna.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    58
    52
    23
    28
See reviews for
32
97
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa cruz
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

You need to be prepared for bare bones accommodations,desk service is very poor,would not answer the phone.When asking for more coffee packets,never arrived.Basket in am was fruit,yogurt and juice,muffins should be fresh..these were stale.Rooms are quiet,but drafty and the fireplace is really just a faux wall heater.Spend $25.oo bucks more and choose a different hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfers831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

My Aunt took me and my cousins to Carmel for my birthday, and we stayed here for one night.
The staff were kind, and gave us a complimentary breakfast, brought to our door in the morning.
The cottages were very cute, and cozy, each with it's own fireplace, and parking spot (which was very convenient).
there was supposedly a hot tub somewhere on the grounds, though we never found it, despite walking around the complex several times. :)
The beds were comfortable, and our cottage had a full size bath.
Would definitely recommend this place for families with young children, or anyone just looking for a comfortable, quiet stay.
Conveniently located too, just a few blocks up from the main street.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We have just had a great stay at this place. "Resort" is probably a stretch of the imagination but the set up is really good. Forty separate cottages with choice of size. We had a cosy but spacious one with very comfy king size bed, lounge room with auto heat fire place, fridge and microwave, coffee set up etc. (not all cottages have fridge and micro, best to ask) Bathroom large and all furnishings comfortable and quaint. Nice and clean. The bonus for us was a lovely hot spa avail to all in the grounds. You need to ask where it is as not easy to find.
A lovely continental breakfast is delivered to your room each morning between 8 & 9am, so nice to just sit back on the couch our outside at the table and enjoy.
Some revues knock this place, I can only assume they usually stay in 5 star accom, if that is you
then this may not be for you. We happen to love the country life so suited us fine.
We felt it was awesome value for the money. The guy in reception was very helpful in suggesting a day trip. We went by our car on the 17 mile drive and it was fantastic. Also the shops downtown (just five min drive) are a shopaholics dream!

Room Tip: If you plan to stay on a weekend be sure to book a few days ahead to get the type of cottage you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

Finding an affordable place to stay on the pricey Monterey Peninsula can be a daunting task. After searching and searching we stumbled on the Carmel Resort Inn. After reading mixed reviews we decided to book. The front desk staff were not the most pleasant, so thank goodness we didn't have to deal with them after our arrival. As for our room, our expectations were not very high, so we were not disappointed. Our room was clean, the main room was large, the closet and bathroom were small and dated, but clean. If you are looking for a nice and elegant experience, this is not your place. If you are looking for a clean rather quirky experience, then by all means, this is your place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gander1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

This is my third stay in this charming, convenient, peaceful and comfortable property. Our room--more like a suite--had a fireplace, space heater, refrigerator and microwave. The charm of the historic 1911 cottages has been retained and modern amenities bring it up to date. Our cabin had an outdoor patio with table and chairs under the trees.

The new owners, with the breakfast basket delivered to the door, have upgraded the ambience of this gem. We needed to leave earlier than breakfast was served (8 am); they brought us yogurt, fruit and juice the evening before.

What great value for pricey Carmel!

Room Tip: I've stayed here three times and all rooms are charming, quiet and well equipped. Never noticed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maryj007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

This is our second time at the Inn and we were not let down! We love the personal attention that we get and the breakfast basket was the best! We love the quaintness of the property and the gathering area is a fun place to hang out with new friends. The rates are very reasonable. We will stay there every time we are in Carmel!

Room Tip: We were in the room called Senic, very quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shineeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.7 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carmel Inn & Suites
Carmel Inn & Suites
#25 of 25 in Carmel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vendange Carmel Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Svendsgaard's Inn
Svendsgaard's Inn
#12 of 26 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Resort Inn

Property: Carmel Resort Inn
Address: Carpenter Avenue between First & Second, Carmel, CA 93921
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Carmel Resort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmel Resort Inn is a unique and truly affordable B&B offering a collection of old fashioned "artists" cottages once belonging to individual land owners. Some as old as 100 years, each of these hand crafted cottages have different floor plans and early 1900's construction. It's all part of the original Carmel charm that makes CRI and the village of Carmel-by-the-Sea a charming and yet popular place for visitors from around the world! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Carmel Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing