We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UPDATE From July 21, 2013 Review”
Review of Candle Light Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Candle Light Inn
Ranked #6 of 25 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This is an UPDATE to a negative review that I had experienced back in July trying to reserve a few rooms for a surprise 50th birthday weekend.

After speaking with the Operations Manager--Felina Smith--back in the summer, she assured me that our stay would be a pleasurable one. In total, our group utilized 5 rooms and the staff was extremely courteous and the housecleaning staff was very friendly. This inn is in a PRIME location…walking distance to everything in Carmel. The best part of our stay was fire pit that is lit nightly from 5pm-10pm and yes, it will keep you warm.

We had a fabulous weekend!

Room Tip: They offer rooms with shower stalls and rooms with tub showers. The lights from the street and the i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

201 - 207 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

The Candlelight Inn is really a nice place to stay in Carmel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location within the city is great because you are of walking distance to all the restaurants and the beach. There was a fire pit right in front of our room which was nice for the chilly evening, even in July ... We were 2 adults and 2 kids and the room was sized appropriately for our party. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Candle Light Inn was a true gem in a fabulous location in the heart of Carmel! Although we only spent one night there, we would definitely come back again. The curb appeal was charming, an outdoor fire pit gave it nice ambiance on a brisk evening, the bed was great and the rooms were clean, fresh and updated.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoSurprise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights during September on our trip South down the PCH to San Diego. We had no complaints about our room, which was very spacious and the bed was huge and so lovely and comfortable. Nice modern bathroom with good shower. We liked the coffee machine in the room and the breakfast was ok but not very substantial but then it was free. Loved the fire pit outside although we did not get a chance to sit there. Love Carmel so pretty and picturesque. Had a little problem finding the streets names in the dark from a car as there are no street lights, but would still go back and hope we can.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here recently for two nights and had problems both nights with the use of the bathroom. On Saturday morning, the water was not draining in the shower stall, so it was an extremely quick shower for both of us. We contacted the office staff and brought them to the room to show them the problem. We were told it would be fixed. When we returned to the room that afternoon, we checked the shower and everything seemed to be working properly. However, at 7AM the next morning, we were awakened to a bathroom filled with sewer water that was overflowing onto the bedroom carpet. We quickly packed our belongings and notified the office. They came to our unit, inspected the problem, and offered another room for us to use until check out. That was appreciated because our room was uninhabitable. I know that they don't have to compensate us for our inconvenience, however, one expects a completely functioning bathroom when checking in and we didn't get that. I sent them an email regarding this and never received a response. We were very disappointed that we were not compensated in some way for a less than satisfying experience at the Candelight Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This was our first time in Carmel and we had a terrific time. This is not our typical type of vacation place but we were there for a family wedding. But found it to be quite impressive. Such a cute town, great people, history and architectural buildings were amazing! The weather was just like San Francisco, not much sun and not at all like we expected. We were there in July and found that their summer type weather is usually October through January. The Candle Light Inn was an awesome place to stay; centrally located, great staff, the grounds was beautiful and loved the fire pit outside in the courtyard!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ttolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We were in town for our anniversary and stayed for two nights on Oct 16 and 17. This is an old motel masquerading as an Inn. A strong odor was present, maybe coming from the carpet or the small fireplace. We bought candles to mask the smell, but were no help. breakfast was convenient but inadequate, just some boxes of cereal and canned juice. We did not even bother with it the second morning. The door to the outside had no weatherstripping around the frame so small rodents could have entered no problem. For some reason the garbage truck arrived both mornings waking us at 7am. The room was dark and uninviting. I felt really bad that I selected this hotel for our anniversary. When we checked out there was another couple receiving a complimentary bottle of wine (which we were never offered). This was our icing on the cake. Stay somewhere else. By the way there does not seem to be anyone on site after hours. You are advised to call 911 if there is an emergency.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#12 of 25 in Carmel
346 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
920 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
1.5 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
725 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candle Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candle Light Inn

Address: San Carlos Street, Between 4th and 5th Avenues, Carmel, CA 93921
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range: £135 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candle Light Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This romantic Tudor-style inn located in the heart of Carmel offers charm and warmth with a friendly staff providing gracious and personalized service. Candle Light Inn features 20 large guest rooms and suites and a variety of amenities including continental breakfast, daily newspaper delivery, off-street parking, and in-room gourmet coffee service. All guests will also enjoy staying connected with free local phone calls and in-room wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Candle Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candle Light Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing