We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Candle Light Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candle Light Inn
Ranked #13 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Anniversary Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We found the Candlelight Inn the perfect place for a short anniversary getaway. We went to the Farmer's Market at the Monterey Peninsula College and got fresh fruit and flowers. Then to a grocery to finish our shopping. Once we got to our room we were quite pleased to find that everything we needed was already there. I called the desk for a flower vase and was thrilled my request was immediately answered. The kitchen was fully equipped with what we needed to prepare our romantic anniversary dinner inn!. We were even brought and extra log for the fire. The packed breakfast for 2 at the door in the morning was plenty to get the day started. Everything is in walking distance. We never moved the car. I loved the staff. Everyone we encountered was friendly and eager to make our stay comfortable. They had warm peanut butter cookies (my favorite) down in the lobby in the afternoon. I would recommend Candlelight Inn for a great getaway. Definitely one of my favorite Inns by the Sea experiences!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yayamoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    117
    31
    17
    6
See reviews for
78
178
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 night on trip down the coast. Very nice, convenient property. Loved the fireplace outside--sat near it with a glass of wine after being out all day. Lots of restaurants within walking distance. Room very big, Keuring coffee maker provided as well as small refrigerator. Bed super comfortable. Table and chairs outside room on balcony-ate breakfast there. Breakfast adequate and delivered in a cooler to your door in the morning. Bathroom updated and very clean. We had a room in the front of the property on the second floor. Street traffic and trucks in the morning were noisy. Only complaint is the only mirror is in the bathroom-would have been nice to have one in the bedroom also. The two young women in the office very helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room not in the front--because of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asker, Norway
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

No hazzle, no stress, clean and smiling staff. When you get this at a fair price in this little town, you don't have to search any further.
No aircondition in the rooms, but that was not a problem for us, we just opened the windows. No problem.
If we ever come back to Carmel, we will definitely book here again.
Nice place outside to have your coffee in the morning hours when you are waiting for your family to get ready. AAhhh - great.

Room Tip: All rooms are good - just make the reservation. Trust me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thore S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is the second property we've stayed at with this hotel group. The Candle Light Inn was quiet, clean and centrally located to all the amenities of central Carmel, making it very convenient for walking. The property doesn't have modern hotel amenities in the bathroom (i.e. marble slab counters, stylist faucets and hardware,) but it is extremely clean and in great repair. We had a King suite with the kitchen and fireplace, which was a welcome addition. The bedding was of high quality and very comfortable. The staff was responsive and timely in their service. Overall an A+ experience. We intend on staying at another of their properties in our next stay to continue sampling the various themes of each property. A great value for your money.

Room Tip: Getting a second floor room will provide a bit more solitude. You can hear the occupants upstairs m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vance T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

This little inn was a great surprise! The room was quite big, with a huge bed and even a Jacuzzi! The outside is quite cute with a fireplace. It was very reasonably priced such that our stay in Carmel was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GoldenBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We traveled to the Candlelight Inn and Carmel for the Big Sur Marathon. I have stayed in Monterey for the marathon in the past, and would highly recommend staying in Carmel and at the Candlelight! The staff was super, super friendly and very tolerant of my neurotic state of mind due to the marathon. I was in the office a fair amount asking about the shuttle, where to eat, and for help printing my boarding pass. They were awesome. We never ate the breakfast, but the Inn put out fruit the night before the marathon since I had to leave at zero-dark thirty, and could not eat their breakfast. The Inn is close to everything, but is not on a main street so it is very peaceful. The room was perfect...comfy, large, and very pleasant. The fireplace outside was charming - loved it. I left some running tights in the room, and they were kind enough to send them back to me. This was super impressive. Thank you Candlelight. We enjoyed our stay, and you made the trip to Carmel perfect!

Room Tip: We were very happy with Room 2!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RunningBMutha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

When we checked in to our room, there was classical music playing. It was a nice, calming touch as we had traveled a long distance to get there. The fire pit outside was great, too. We sat by it and drank wine in the evening.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#17 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candle Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candle Light Inn

Property: Candle Light Inn
Address: San Carlos Street, Between 4th and 5th Avenues, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candle Light Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This romantic Tudor-style inn located in the heart of Carmel offers charm and warmth with a friendly staff providing gracious and personalized service. Candle Light Inn features 20 large guest rooms and suites and a variety of amenities including continental breakfast, daily newspaper delivery, off-street parking, and in-room gourmet coffee service. All guests will also enjoy staying connected with free local phone calls and in-room wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candle Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candle Light Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing