We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa de Carmel Inn
Nearby Hotels
Normandy Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel Bay View Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$570
US$388
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Playa Carmel(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$472
US$434
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$215
US$158
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$389
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quail Lodge & Golf Club(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel River Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$156
US$150
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel Valley Ranch(Carmel)
US$671
US$473
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$443
US$419
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
25
17
13
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
17
13
4
3
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Thank you Doug and Kristina for the most fantastic 3 days at your Casa de Carmel. We loved every thing about our stay. The unique way of serving the breakfast delivered in a basket every morning was great, and so much fun. You made us feel like family. The only bad thing about our stay was that we had to leave! But, we're already booked for our next visit at Casa de Carmel in March and can hardly wait!!! Dieter and Emily

Room Tip: We stayed in #3 which is downstairs. It was very comfortable.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DEPLincoln_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Stopped in this past weekend with no reservation-we took the last available King room. It was in the back corner under the stairs and the maid's room. We figured the noise level would be reasonable but it turned out to be very noisy. Luckily Carmel is not a town known for it's night life, so people settled down relatively early. We had issues with the plumbing and when I mentioned our problem at check out, I didn't get much sypathy and no offer for compensation, which would have been reasonable considering what I told her. Otherwise, the front desk service was friendly and helpful. We have stayed in the other side of this hotel before (Monte Verde Inn) and preferred it to Casa de Carmel. I'm not sure we'd stay here again unless the front, upstairs room was available.

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs, away from the stairway. This is a very small hotel and the location/price quite good so a reservation (which we did not have) may be a better option.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChicoStateMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

A great choice for those of us who like to drop the car (and leave it!) and enjoy being able to access the town of Carmel hassle free. This delightful, little hotel offers a central location with parking, clean and comfortable rooms (they may be small, but we had no issue with the size) and a warm reception with delightful wine and snacks to tide us over until dinner. The morning breakfast suited us - it contained all the right ingredients to get us off to a good start and we paired it with very good coffee from just around the corner. We would definitely recommend the Casa De Carmel Inn and hope to return there on a future trip.

Room Tip: If you have luggage that is heavy or bulky, a room on the ground floor is a good idea as rooms on the second floor are accessed by a staircase and not an elevator.
Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank RespectTheTruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I do not know how many times I've been to Carmel for the day and parked near this hotel without knowing it was there. This time I got to spend a few nights there, too. The rooms were clean and the breakfast delivery was always "exactly at 8:30am". We had the room right next to the street on the bottom floor and thought the outside noise was going to be a problem, but it wasn't. The hotel is within walking distance of many of our favorite restaurants and shops, as well as Carmel's "dog friendly" off-leash beach.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

The B&B is easy to miss (the sign is tiny) until you realize that it's part of Mt Verde Inn. The room was simple and clean with a comfortable bed. There's a small refrigerator with bottled water and the room has a decanter with sherry for the guests. The breakfast is delivered to the room at 8:30. We were somewhat plain but sufficient: hardboiled egg, orange juice, yogurt (yoplait one day, activia the next)and 2 pastries, orange and a pear per person. On our second day there we were dissapointed as we got a ham croissant but we're vegetarians. Casa de Carmel rooms are located right next to the parking spaces for the B&B so it's pretty noisy in the morning and evening when people are coming and going. Since this is right next to the center, it's also noisy during the day if you want to take a nap.The B&B also offers a wine hour between 5 and 6:30 with 3 types of wines. cheese, crackers, olives and salami. Nice way to meet other folks staying at the place. Overall,. we enjoyed our stay at Casa de Carmel and the location can't be beat.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank onshapiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel-Inn-Keepers, General Manager at Casa de Carmel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review here on trip advisor. As you mention, the Casa de Carmel Inn is located in the heart of downtown Carmel with superior access to local shops, restaurants and the beach. "The location can't be beat". Our morning breakfast basket is full of healthy options including the fresh fruit that is delivered twice weekly from the growers as well as fresh made pastries and breads delivered each morning from the local bakery. No store bought Costco pastries like some of our competitors serve.

It is well known that the City of Carmel lacks parking spaces. However our Inn is fortunate enough to have it's own off street parking lot with the convenience of parking directly in front of your room. No lugging your travel bags from blocks away! For the majority of our guests, this convenience far out weighs any limited noise issues that may occur with the arrival & departure of other satisfied guests.

All of our rooms at Casa de Carmel have been recently updated (12/1/11) and include: flat screen TV's, tiled baths, polished hard wood floors, crown moldings, attractive paint and decor, premium bedding and imported bath amenities usually found only in the finer hotels and Inn's.

We sincerely appreciate and value your business, and hope that you will come stay with us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews