We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay - Gretchen & Doug were great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edgemere Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Edgemere Cottages
Ranked #13 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay - Gretchen & Doug were great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

We had a two night stay at Edgemere and i wish it could have been longer. Gretchen and Doug were the perfect hosts. The room was clean and cozy and the grounds were wonderful. I was only able to join my wife and daughter one morning for breakfast (early morning tee time at Pebble Beach was calling) but the one day I did have breakfast was wonderful. My wife gleefully rubbed in what I missed the second day of vacation. Any future trips to the Carmel area will include another stay at Edgemere.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rexweeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    23
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
23
75
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2010

Look past the older style and the simple but very cosy and comfy accommodation - Edgemere has two major pluses - the location and the hosts. A family owned and operated B&B (we stayed in the patio room) where your hosts Gretchen, Doug (plus riffraff & magenta - the cats) made us feel most welcome and very relaxed so far from home. The room and property was all we needed to enjoy this very pretty - and pretty expensive - township of Carmel-By the Sea...at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeBevTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2010

If you are looking for quiet, cozy, intimate and romantic, this place is for you!! I seriously need to decompress and this place was the perfect place. We stayed in Rosemont Cottage and loved it! The breakfasts were fabulous and well-portioned. Gretchen and Doug were fabulous! I would highly recommend this place to my family and friends.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FitzMichelleM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2009

Gretchen & Doug are the Best hosts you can ask for they make the Edgemere experiance delightfull ! They are there for your every need .
Their breakfasts are Top Notch, I loved the Quiche and the Cinnamon Toast its the best I've ever had on top of that they will bring it to your cottage !!
The location is one block from the beach and in my opinion the best part of carmel .
If you really want to relax and see carmel This is the place for you!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 1sanjoseWoodchucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oconomowoc, wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2009

I felt comfortable from the moment I spoke with Gretchen, the innkeeper, to make my reservation. Our room included a gas fire-place, a skylight and a separate kitchenette. The location, on a quiet street one block from the ocean, was perfect and we could hear the waves from our room. Our breakfasts were delicious and Gretchen was able to make several suggestions for dining, hiking, etc that really added to our vacation, We really enjoyed our stay and will absolutely return when we are next in the area.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank fascyn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2009

Family operated Bed & Breakfast in a quiet neighborhood near the ocean. Clean and comfortable with friendly helpful hosts. We stayed in the Rosemont Cottage which appeared to be freshly remodeled. Couldn't have enjoyed our stay more.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AustinWeirdness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2009

If you are looking for an oasis just one block from one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, this is it. Our family met here from the East Coast, West Coast, and Europe. We did not want to leave. Great hosts. Great food. Great Accomodations. Within walking distance to Carmel so park the car and forget it. Two nice cats patrol the property 24/7

What more do you want for a getaway?

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank familyreunion2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
1.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandpiper Inn Carmel
Sandpiper Inn Carmel
#10 of 26 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Terrace
The Colonial Terrace
#4 of 26 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carmel Green Lantern Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgemere Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgemere Cottages

Property: Edgemere Cottages
Address: San Antonio Avenue, between Thirteenth Avenue and Santa Lucia Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgemere Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgemere Cottages is a small, romantic, pet-friendly, family-owned B&B located one block from Carmel Beach. On the grounds of a historic Carmel home built in the 1920s and now surrounded by lovely gardens. We provide a delicious, home-made breakfast cooked fresh every morning and served in our dining room. Our cottages are private and secluded and feature kitchenettes, high-definition TVs and DVDs and some have wood-burning fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Edgemere Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgemere Cottages Hotel Carmel
Carmel Cottages

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing