We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend in the cottages”
Review of Normandy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Normandy Inn
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great weekend in the cottages”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed in the Normandy cottages with a couple of friends and had great time!

The Hotel was clean and charming with the touch of Old French design, the breakfast in the morning was always fresh and rooms were cleaned nicely.
The manager of the Hotel Sandra made us feel welcomed to her place and introduced us to Mr Taffy who resides on the property. Frontdesk clerk Sheila was very accommodating and helped us with the check in process and directions around the village..
The location is very convenient - right a middle of the main area and we could literally walk to the beach in the day and restaurants at night.

Sandra and all the stuff, thank you for your efforts of making us feel as valuable guests in your hotel!We will definitely return to this place again as it feels like "Home away from Home"!

Room Tip: The cottages are very nice for the family getaway
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustTory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    214
    78
    29
    14
See reviews for
76
349
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2013

It was excellent experience - very decent price for the location, charming place with personal touch of the owner, clean nicely decorated rooms - just charming!
Fresh simple breakfast in the nice breakfast room filled with french music - it makes your morning
special and romantic...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iwonazajac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Have stayed at the Normandy Inn many times; always a great getaway. Quaint, very well maintained buildings. Some rooms with fireplaces. The lobby has a fireplace and the adjoining library is a quiet place to read or have coffee. WiFi is available in the lobby and library. Within walking distance of the Carmel shops and art galleries as well as Carmel Beach with its glorious sunsets. Staff is always very helpful and the rooms are kept very clean. Grounds are beautifully maintained with flowers and hanging baskets everywhere.

Room Tip: The "vanity" rooms have a small extra room with a built in dressing table, extra sink and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank F W S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed in a duplex cottage, which was built in the 1920's. I enjoyed the unique architecture and clean room. However, the walls are thin and we were at the mercy of the inhabitants of the adjoining room. Unfortunately, they were very noisy but the management was helpful. Like everyone else, we headed for the beach to watch the sunset, and it was only a few blocks down a rather steep street to the white sand beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

After staying one night at a chain hotel in Carmel, we cancelled the remaining two nights there and booked a night at the Normandy Inn. We stayed in one of the cottages and it was huge. There were three bedrooms, two full bathrooms, a very large living room and an attached dining area, a kitchen, and a back patio. The continental breakfast was good, though I recommend that you get there early. Location was fabulous. The property gardens were attractive and nicely kept. Parking was wonderful compared to the cramped spaces at the chain hotel. I plan to come back some day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHJCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Normandy Inn is an old building that is well maintained, lots of foliage and flowers, steps going up and steps going down. Room 319 was very basic, yet clean, probably recently painted, nice windows and shades, the bathroom long and narrow and also well maintained. The swimming pool was right outside the room. Water was clear, heated, no one was swimming. Too bad, it looked nice. WiFi was only in the lobby, not in the rooms. Continental breakfast was just as basic as the room. Very limited selection, small dining area, but clean and neat. The hotel is right on the edge of downtown shopping and restaurants. It's also on a slope so exercise walking 'up' to the shops is a built in feature. Price was reasonable and on par with other lodging. The Normandy did not impress me as a romantic destination, but rather a travel and goofing off destination. I would recommend the Normandy.

Room Tip: WiFi in lobby only, not in rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ishieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2013

One of the nicest places I have ever stayed at. Everything was great. Bed was super comfortable. Close to the beach and shopping. Room very large and very clean. I didnt make a reservation and happened upon it and it was the cheapest room of my whole 2 week vacation and the nicest.

Room Tip: Ask for the cottages. about 10 a day more bet huge and well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,655 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
855 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
650 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Inn

Property: Normandy Inn
Address: Ocean Ave. between Monte Verde St. and Casanova St., Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#15 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Normandy Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into a corner of Carmel-by-the-Sea and surrounded by blooming flower gardens The Normandy Inn is a beautiful experience. The historic Normandy Inn exudes Old World European charm and is located just three blocks from the white-sand Carmel Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Normandy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Carmel
Normandy Inn Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing