We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint comfort in Carmel”
Review of Normandy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Normandy Inn
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Located a couple blocks from the beach on beautiful Ocean Blvd in Carmel.
Quaint and very clean, unique rooms , ours had beamed ceilings & a glimpse of the ocean, all have fireplaces. Small cafe serves continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DallasBchbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

Spent one night in June 2014 and loved the location. Short walk to the beach as well as the main town on Ocean Avenue. Hotel has been in Carmel for a long time but has been maintained in very good shape. The location is very beautiful with lots of hanging baskets and fuchsias which do exceptionally well in the cool coastal climate. The room was comfortable and even with a front corner room the night was quiet as the town shuts down after hours. Very nice breakfast and a glass of sherry in the lobby is a real treat.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SactoDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Great location for shops and beach, but the walls, floors and ceilings are paper thin! Up all night listening to the person above us SNORE all night long. Every step they took sounded like an elephant was going to come through the ceiling. Cute, but old and needs to be updated. Musty smell needs to be removed as well. Parking is tough, but property was clean. Low water pressure and no AC. So sleeping with window open, your neighbors can offer entertainment all night long. Breakfast is poor.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KenniferB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed for one night, we loved the character this hotel offers. Yes its an older building but very clean, some updating has been done. If you like things outside of the norm this is a perfect place. Each room is unique, this is not your cookie cutter 4 story Holiday Inn. There are stairs, spiral staircases and a small parking lot. But don't get me wrong, we loved it and when we come back to Carmel we will stay here again! The pool is a hidden gem, placement allows for great sun in the morning early afternoon and super clean!! The staff was polite and efficient. The location is right in the heart of it on Ocean Ave. If your room is street side, you will hear some of the street noise. If you love central location, charm, and character this place is perfect! Over all I would rate my experience higher if I could. If your picky go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Can only speak to our room, room 104. It was second floor with a vaulted ceiling. No noise from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I could open the windows from my room and hear the ocean! What a joy to come back to this oasis after a long day at the beach, shopping and walking. The location can't be beat -- walking distance to everything, the beach is only 3-4 blocks. Even the bathroom was pretty. This is one of the few hotels in town that doesn't allow pets so since I left my dog at home I chose this one. Highly recommended if you don't have or like pets. Feels like you're visiting a friends place not a hotel. I wouldn't recommend the free breakfast though, there's not much to it and too many wonderful restaurants in Carmel to sample.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelinDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed for a single night as part of a short 7 day driving tour of Highway 1 from San Francisco to Carmel and back. The location of the Normandy Inn is great, being within walking distance of the beach, while still in the main hub of the town where all the cafés, bars and restaurants are.

The hotel looks cute from the outside, and the lobby/ reception has a nice chill out area with comfy chairs around a fireplace. Complimentary beverages ( tea/coffee/cream sherry ) are available to guests in this area.

Our Queen Room was 'ok', although the air conditioner was quite noisy and the TV was at least a decade old, but it worked fine. The off street car parking was also well located and appreciated.

From this point it goes downhill though. Of the 3 staff we interacted with none of them seemed friendly or welcoming, culminating in the checkout where the gentleman managed to conduct the whole process without once making eye contact. When we asked advice on restaurants we were told "For a 'super salad' go to 'Merlots' 2 blocks away". We took the recommendation and had to endure an extremely bland and overpriced chicken Caesars salad and a burger and fries that probably wouldn't have passed a quality check at McDonalds.

But the highlight....or should I say 'lowlight' was the hotel breakfast. Advertised as a 'Deluxe Continental Breakfast' which fell well short of our expectations( no sliced fresh fruit, cold meats or cheese). And being that there were no staff present in the dining room throughout our 'breakfast experience' we thought the sign saying 'Tips Welcome' next to a collection basket was rubbing salt into the wound somewhat.

In summary, liked Carmel, but would be looking for a different place to stay if we return.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Gadget333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

After spending a few days at Mission Ranch we decided to move downtown and after a lot of research on TripAdvisor we chose the Normandy Inn. This is a very well located hotel with a nice brisk walk to the beach. We booked a deluxe with fireplace which was nice and not noisy even though it faced out onto Ocean Ave. The complimentary breakfast is very basic so once again we walked the five minutes to the Tuck Box on Dolores which conveniently opens at 07:30.
If you have a car to park then make sure you get there ~12:00 even though check in is at 15;00 as there only a handful of spaces and very very narrow, if you have a big SUV you may have an issue squeezing into one! All in all a very good choice.

Room Tip: 2nd floor away from the road and take a deluxe with fireplace as this is nice even though it is a fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.1 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
635 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
718 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#13 of 25 in Carmel
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Inn

Address: Ocean Ave. between Monte Verde St. and Casanova St., Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#15 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: £80 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Normandy Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into a corner of Carmel-by-the-Sea and surrounded by blooming flower gardens The Normandy Inn is a beautiful experience. The historic Normandy Inn exudes Old World European charm and is located just three blocks from the white-sand Carmel Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Normandy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Carmel
Normandy Inn Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing