We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Popped in for a tasty treat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carmel Bakery

Carmel Bakery
Ranked #1 of 9 Dessert in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
91 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Popped in for a tasty treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

My wife and I were walking on Ocean Ave. and decided to pop in to the bakery for some treats. The place was somewhat crowded, but did not have any trouble getting waited on. We bought a couple of pastries and walked across the street and sat on a bench to enjoy some people watching and our desserts. The food was very fresh and good. The guy next to us had done the same and we compared notes. He thought the same as us, quite good. Nice to just drop into a place and find things this good. I would recommend Carmel Bakery for some goodies anytime.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bayouself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    116
    23
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Handy and Tasty Route 1 Pitstop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We grabbed lunch at the Bakery on our way from San Francisco to LA and were delighted by the tasty salads, cakes and coffee. We took our lunch down to the beach and had a nice picnic. Thoroughly recommended!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JSW390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place for coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

After a morning stroll down to the beach and back most Carmelites stop in this bakery on Ocean Ave for coffee,pastry,their homemade pretzels are out of this world , for coffee, and conversation.Good place to satisfy your sugar hi and have some local conversation

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank laurence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
201 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great lunch and a snack!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We loved taking time our from shopping to grab a little light lunch and a sweet snack at the Bakery. The service was fast and the staff were so pleasant and helpful. We had fun sitting at the counter that overlooked the front window, watching passersby as they were charmed by all the enticing pastries and goodies!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank boloca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waverley, Canada
Level Contributor
394 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Had our lunch at this charming bakery.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Soups, sandwiches and desserts are on made on site; and everything was so delicious! There's not a lot of inside seating, but well worth waiting for. We all enjoyed our lunches very much.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank JeanYHZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carmel Bakery also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Carmel Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing