We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting.”
Review of Tradewinds Carmel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tradewinds Carmel
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Evergreen, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
“Enchanting.”
Reviewed 25 October 2011

The Tradewinds was the best place I have ever stayed in Carmel by the Sea. From our first view of the property, to checking in, to the room and also the breakfast room - we were enchanted. We were just a few blocks from the main part of town - very close to some great restaurants and shopping. The breakfast buffet which was included in the price was quite substantial. I would definitely stay here again. It made our trip lots more enjoyable. Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will S, Manager at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Thank you for all the kind words. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    138
    52
    15
    19
See reviews for
111
308
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Bay, CA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

This hotel is nice and overall we were happy with our stay. They don’t have AC in their rooms leaving me and my husband pretty uncomfortable during our stay. They did offer a fan, but that wasn’t enough. The bed was uncomfortable and we didn’t get that relaxing vacation we were hoping for. The place is pretty tranquil, just off the downtown area and totally walkable. The manager e-mailed me and told me that they had replaced the feather bed we stayed in, so maybe it was just our room. Their continental breakfast was pretty good. There is plenty of parking and the staff was really nice. The bath tub is just a normal bath tub (a little larger) with jets, it’s not a Jacuzzi tub . Oh, I would recommend staying on the top floor, if you can, we could hear EVERYTHING above us. Overall I liked the hotel, if you don’t like the bed, let them know, they seemed to have a very easy fix.

Room Tip: Upstairs are best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will S, Manager at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Thanks for staying with us here at Tradewinds. Our staff really appreciated this post in particular! We do apologize about the lack of AC. It has been an unusually hot Fall. Truth be told, I don't know if any hotels in Carmel that have air conditioning in the rooms. Hopefully we will see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We recently enjoyed a 2 night stay at Tradewinds, and while it was a lovely hotel, it was overpriced at $413 per night. We did have one of the nicer rooms, a deluxe king with ocean view, but that view was looking out over the rooftops of surrounding neighborhood and therefore not a view worth paying extra. The bed was very comfortable and the room very clean. I loved the bathroom with it's very nice tile and Aveda amenities, and appreciated the nice towels. I also liked the little water fountain and the built in cabintry and fireplace. The rooms are not air conditioned (but I understand none of the hotels in Carmel have AC). The garden area was nicely done, and parking was sufficient and included in the price of the room. It is a very convenient location for walking around Carmel and an easy walk to some very nice restaurants, (our favorite was Casanova). The ladies who run the hotel were very nice and seemed happy to help with dinner reservations/directions. A small breakfast of pastries, fruit, yogurt, bagels, etc. was included. The chocolate covered strawberries in the room at check-in was a nice touch. Overall, I would stay there again, hopefully at a better rate. Also, they have a 7-day cancellation policy that made me a little bit uncomfortable. I would have felt better about a 24 hour cancellation like most hotels of this caliber. 4 stars instead of 5 because of the price for what was once an old motel that has been very nicely rennovated to have a modern, spa-like feeling.

Room Tip: Would recommend the top floor for the vaulted ceilings and not having noise above you, unless you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lv2plan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will S, Manager at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to tell us your thoughts. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We do have some great specials for our repeat guests and also some great off-season deals coming up. Best way to find out about them is to sign up for our newsletter. Go to our website and click on 'contact us'. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arizona
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Our four night stay here was fabulous! The newly renovated hotel includes rooms with the finest appointments and the outside terraced garden with fountains and fire pit is so peacefully relaxing. The breakfast features the finest pastries I have ever had at a restaurant or hotel. Obviously locally made and delicious. We will definitely choose this hotel for our return visits to Carmel. It is within easy walking distance of the restaurants and shops of Carmel by the Sea. Parking is available but was cramped for our full sized rental car. The office staff were exceptionally helpful and the fresh baked cookies a very pleasant plus.

Room Tip: We had room 15 top of stairs, quiet and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinplater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will S, Manager at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Wonderful Review! Thanks so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

I simply used Carmel as a 1 night layover while traveling up the coast. I chose the Tradewinds given its AAA affiliation. While skeptical at points of this affiliation, I must say I was NOT disappointed at all, actually pleasantly surprised and actually was torn on staying another day due to town and the accomodations.

The hotel is located slightly off the beaten path, but as a result is quiet and tranquil. Room was reasonably priced, EXTREMELY clean, staff more than accomodating, and in the morning, singularly the best continental breakfast I have experienced, (and I have had a lot with traveling for work and pleasure.)

Definately would recommend and when in the area again will definatley book trip to stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms with views are definately worth it - but no matter what - rooms quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We recently spent 3 nights of our honeymoon at tradewinds. We stumbled across it having been recommended to us by another hotel that was full. And thank we did ! We booked for 2 nights and ended up staying for 3 as the room was gorgeous, the rest of the place had a lovely ambience and the staff, in particular sherry and sylvia , were extremely helpful and made us feel very welcome. The memory of tradewinds will always put a smile on our faces.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandI03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will S, Manager at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
First of all, congratulations newlyweds! We were truly happy to be involved with your special night. It was so thoughtful of you to mention Sylvia and Sherry by name. They were thrilled to hear your review. Come see us again for the anniversary!

Best,

Will and the Tradewinds Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naramata British Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

When we arrived in Carmel it just happened that the Monterey Jazz Festival had just ended. Consequently there was good availabiltiy for accomodation and most establishments were offering some type of discount. We wandered around and made a few inquiries, hence discovering Tradewinds Carmel.

It is conveniently located about 4 blocks from Ocean Blvd, the main street, which makes for a nice after dinner stroll home and it is also very quiet. The building is not particulary inspiring from the street but as soon as one walks up towards the airy office, the atmosphere is welcoming and peaceful. We found as did others, that the staff was outstanding. I doubt anyone could be more personable and eager to please than Sylvia was. She showed us several rooms from which to choose.

We had a lovely room on the front with doors leading to an outside deck and a view of the ocean. There was no one above us so we were not disturbed in any way. The rooms are spacious and very tastefully decorated in a zen motif. Nice touches include the orchid put into your room on check in, the welcoming note and chocolate covered strawberries. We had no fireplace which presumably reduced our room rate but the location of the room was far more important. Unquestionably the free parking is a huge bonus.

We didn't notice a problem with the TV and found the continental breakfast to be what we would have expected. There were a variety of cereals and pastries, everything was fresh and there was PLENTY of fresh fruit.

We do hope their horestails, attractivley bordering the central stream ,never escape their current location however--they may get more than they bargained for.

This is a great spot. We would recommend it and we would return.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the front with no one above you. Forget about a fireplace. The room was beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C0H0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will S, Manager at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Thanks you so much for the positive review. The Jazz Fest is such a great event. Glad you had a top notch time while here at Tradewinds.

Dont worry, we are keeping an eye on the Horsetails!

Best,

Tradewinds Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
873 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#19 of 25 in Carmel
351 reviews
1.6 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
661 reviews
4.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Carmel

Property: Tradewinds Carmel
Address: Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Carmel
#8 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds Carmel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, Mediterranean - 3 blocks from Ocean Ave. on a quiet residential street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tradewinds Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Carmel Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing