We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tradewinds Carmel
Nearby Hotels
Carmel Bay View Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$290
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wayside Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$272
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel River Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$611
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$226
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$509
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel Valley Ranch(Carmel)
US$620
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$530
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (644)
Filter reviews
644 results
Traveller rating
400
149
58
18
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
400
149
58
18
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschocolate covered strawberriesasian decormeditation gardenfire pitcontinental breakfastpastriespartial ocean viewtop floorfew blockscream cheeseresident catjetted tubrooms are lovelyhard boiled eggslittle touchescookiesan easy walk
Filter
Updating list...
448 - 453 of 644 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We just returned from a trip in CA spanning from Los Angeles to San Francisco, & Carmel was certainly the highlight.

We found the Tradewinds online, never previously having stayed in Carmel, and were very happy with our stay.

Pros: The extremely friendly staff. We arrived on the late side (around 8:45pm) & were greeted by a friendly feline named Sweety & a very nice woman who made us dinner reservations so that we were not shut out due to the fact that many restaurants were closing soon. (We went to Casanova's, a quick two block walk away...& it was a wonderful recommendation. Delicious food & charming restaurant)
We were escorted to our room & shown the amenities, a fresh orchid was placed in a wall vase & we were given a place with two big chocolate-dipped strawberries.
The room was clean & there was an in-room water feature controled by a lightswitch at the front door to the room.
The bathroom was updated, clean & comfortable. The grounds are lovely - bamboo, waterfalls & water features, a meditation garden...& several of the rooms have ocean views & fireplaces.
The continental breakfast (included) was fresh & tasty. Bagels, toast, cereals, juices, pastries, coffees & teas... They have a breakfast room where you can eat your breakfast, or there are trays available so that you may enjoy your food outside on the grounds or in your room. They also set out to-go cups for your coffee.
The location was terrific & very walkable to the charming little shops, galleries, & restaurants.

Cons: You can hear the people walking around in the room above you (if you are very sensitive to such things, I would ask for a top floor room)...but this was really minor.
Front office closes at 10pm so make sure to get there before then to check in, or call ahead of time to see if they can accommodate your late check-in.
I'd add a towel rack/ additional hook(s) to the bathroom. There was one peg hook from which to hang a towel. More would be convenient.
But the biggest "con" was having to leave. It really is a comfortable, beautiful place.

We are so happy to have a place that we are happy with here in Carmel. We will be returning, for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYArtistGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thorough review! We are so happy that you had a great stay and hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed here April 4-5. Re-invigorated motel in Asian theme. Outstanding staff from first greeting to check out. It makes a difference. Do not judge this hotel from its former function. In quaint and compact Carmel there are plenty of converted motels and apartment buildings. The issue is appointments. The bed is top notch as are the linens and towels. This room has balcony view to ocean. Light breakfast included. Some parking on site otherwise you are on the street. Wifi included. Walk to town center.

Room Tip: Supposedly first floor rooms carry noise from above. No street noise.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I love room 1 because it is an end unit with high ceilings and the view of Point Lobos. It is so light and airy, too! We hope to see you again soon for a visit to our beautiful little village!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

In February 2012 we stayed at Tradewinds during Valentine's Day week. Our room was beautifully decorated, extremely quiet, very clean and had a beautiful view from the balcony. Yes, chocolate strawberries awaited us!! We had our choice each day of going downstairs to the continental breakfast or having it delivered to our room. The hotel staff was so helpful in answering questions and making recommendations with respect to restaurants and things to do in the Carmel/Monterey area (even before we arrived via telephone calls) and then making the reservations for us. The hotel had more than adequate off street parking and we never had any problem finding a space (although this hotel is within short walking distance of the main part of Carmel and we chose to walk to most of our destinations - you have to work off all that fabulous food somehow!). Our room had a private balcony with a view and a cozy fireplace inside (in my visits at other hotels, I have almost always found that the picture on the internet/website bears little resemblance to the room you actually get but, in the case of Tradewinds, our room looked almost exactly like the photo on the website and had every amenity mentioned - hurray!) In the early evening we could hear guitar music coming from the courtyard firepit area - very nice. Before we left for lunch the first day we asked if a DVD player could be provided in our room and it was there when we returned. The king size bed was comfy, comfy, comfy and the hotel provided warm robes for our use. Wine glasses were also provided in the little bar area so you didn't have to use tumblers if you wanted to watch the sun go down while having a glass of wine (thoughtful things like this make an impression). We highly recommend the Tradewinds and its staff. We had an absolutely wonderful stay and my only wish is that it could have been longer! We will definitely return!!!

Room Tip: Corner room on a top floor is very quiet and has view. Ask for a room with a fireplace - very romantic.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanH291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

You made my day! We are very passionate about making our guests happy and I am so glad that you had a wonderful time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

If you are looking for a bargain, you shouldn't be going to Carmel to begin with. The hotel isn't cheap, but i didn't want cheap. We were traveling there for thanksgiving and were lucky enough to be the exception and get 2 nights (instead of the 3 night minimum for the holiday), but we didn't have a lot of choice in rooms. We had semi-ocean view with 2 doubles beds. I booked over the phone for rooms for both ourselves and friends who were travelling with us; I knew we were going to get great customer service.

We were late arriving at the hotel after spending the day at the monterey bay aquarium and having dinner nearby. Staff were kind enough to call to make sure that we hadn't for lost along the way. We had made dinner reservations for dinner the following night, upon check in they offered to help with reservations, but were impressed by the ones we had.

The grounds were gorgeous. We spent the first night by the fire with some red wine and chocolate picked up along our travels. In the daylight, the grounds were even more impressive, I kept finding my husband reading in different parts of he garden.

Rooms were well appointed, and we loved the bath products. The best was the most comfortable I've slept in in a long time.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beachlighthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Thank you so much! Our gardens are so peaceful and zen-like. We had a well-known author sit in front of the Buddha fountain in our Meditation Garden for 3 days and write a book! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We arrived around 2:00 and our room was not ready. When we returned around 5, we were escorted to our room and helped with our bags. The room was nice, although I was expecting a bit more b/c of the price. If you stay be sure to get a top floor b/c the people above were very loud and the walls and ceiling are VERY thin. The breakfast in the morning was minimal: yogurt fruit and a few pastries with coffee and juice. The parking was free. Unless you get a really good deal, I would try to find another place.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moreno310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWcarmel, Manager at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

We very much appreciate your feedback. Rest assured that your positive as well as your constructive comments will be taken seriously.

We are pleased you enjoyed the room. We are particularly proud of the in-room amenities: Frette duvet covers, Egyptian cotton sheets, Aveda bath products among other things.

We are sorry that you were disrupted during your stay. In almost all cases we can take care of any noise situations if we are alerted to them.

We invite you to return again soon so we can make sure you are completely satisfied with your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews