We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful Retreat in Carmel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tradewinds Carmel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tradewinds Carmel
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Restful Retreat in Carmel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012 via mobile

We loved everything about this hotel, from the Asian decor to its location within walking distance of great restaurants. When we checked in the desk clerk (also the owner as I later found out) was very thorough about showing us where to eat, shop, and go in her town. The room was so quiet and restful, and beautifully decorated. I bought one of the lovely kimonos to take home. We enjoyed the fresh breakfast which is much more lavish than the usual continental fare. the staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. We can't wait to return.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lakespring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    120
    50
    13
    17
See reviews for
89
272
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

After reading all of the MANY positive reviews and critiques of Tradewinds, I feel compelled to add ours to the list as we were truly disappointed and won't return.

Tradewinds does have a terrific location....but, for over $400 for the ocean view room (in the distance), and all the positive feedback online (really?), we expected SO much more. It does have a nice location for walking in town so, if you snag a low price for a room and keep your expectations lower, stay for just that reason. BTW, we've paid less for Ritz Carlton and Four Seasons oceanfront properties, not to mention oceanfront inns nationwide that were memorable!

In my opinion, it is a glorified motel with beautiful landscape architecture and a comfortable bed with Frette sheets. The ocean view room was butted up against another building and overlooked a sea of other apartment patios, even though we did see the ocean in the distance . The neighboring hotel guests were outside on the connected patio much of the time and so very close that it felt like they were also in our room.

On first arrival, a student aka "bellman" walked us to our room with an orchid (we had no luggage for him to carry) and then left after he said "here's your room". It was unnecessary and didn't feel welcoming as I am sure the innkeepers hoped. There is a zen-like small fountain in the room...but we can't comment on it since ours did not work. We had no shampoo, conditioner, moisturizer, etc in the room on arrival, just two bars of soap. Each and every morning the housekeepers thrashed around in the supply closet right outside our door, adding to our disappointing stay. In addition, the bathroom shower was old, crusty and didn't work properly.

We did not find any of the staff particularly friendly or memorable; especially those who worked the bleak breakfast "buffet" (think chain hotel continental breakfast). We so hoped breakfast would be special, but it was equally disappointing. In fact, we left after the continental breakfast and ate breakfast at the nearby Katy's Restaurant, which was delightful and worth a visit. On our visit all of the guests we spoke with felt the same.

We won't return to Tradewinds as there are so many lovely, special and charming places to stay in Carmel. This just wasn't one of them.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank urbanetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Thank you for your review. I am personally concerned about each and every guest and I am sorry that you did not have a good experience. Our staff are very careful to describe views. I am wondering if you made your reservation on-line or over the phone. We much prefer phone reservations so that we can thoroughly describe the room and view. Our continental breakfast buffet features french pastries from Parker-Lusseau, a local French bakery, fresh-cut up fruit (melon, watermelon, strawberries, pineapple, etc.), cereals, breads, yogurt and juices. We do describe the breakfast over the phone. I do recommend Katy's Place, a little restaurant a block away for those who prefer an extended eggs/pancake breakfast. I am not sure what happened with the shampoo, etc. Each room has our own specially made brand of organic, natural shampoos, conditioners, body wash and lotion. With respect to the bellmen, we will discuss the procedures with them. They normally take our guests into their rooms and describe all of the room features. Again, thank you so much for your time and I wish that you could return so that we could insure that you have a good stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Get an ocean view room! We had the sliding door opened all the time and those winds were grand. No need for air conditioning here, and we were there in July. The staff was so helpful. They made all our dinner reservations and provided great tips on what to do. Parking is on site and all of Carmel is an easy walk.

Room Tip: The ocean view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COTravelerBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Thank you so much! Our guests are so happy to have relief from the heat. We hope to see you again soon. Warm Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

After arriving tired and late from a full day's travel, my husband and I were thrilled to discover this gem of a hotel, within walking distance of restaurants in Carmel. The rooms were elegant with comfortable beds, gorgeous kimonos and great decor. The staff were really helpful and friendly, attending to our every need. Beautiful serene courtyard with meditation pond, we woke refreshed and rested. Just when it couldn't get any better we went down to breakfast which was absolutely delicious; fresh pastries from the European bakery, wonderful fresh fruits and good coffee.
We didn't want to leave and will definitely return to explore Carmel, knowing that this is the one and only place to stay! Thank you

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophiebats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
We sure hope that you can return soon. You are wonderful guests! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High River
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

A wonderful stay! Great beds, soft kimonos, great decor with Asian water feature, chocolate covered strawberries all make for a great stay! Great location, only a few blocks from the main drag, the exterior doesn't do it justice! A very cool courtyard with greenery and soothing areas to sit.

Room Tip: There is no air conditioning in hotels in Carmel, just open the windows and let the cooler evening a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llergl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Beautifully appointed throughout rooms and property - an Eastern experience and delight. We first stayed in 2011 and returned this summer. Room elegant, rich, and every detail considered. Staff extraordinary. Put a bamboo wish in the meditation pond. Last year mine came true. Mystical!

Room Tip: Think about getting a balcony - you will love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

Great place to stay if you want to recharge your batteries. First time to Carmel and will come back again. Room was perfect and the bathroom was very nice. Only issue was the water leaked out of shower door to the floor . Staff at the hotel were very nice and helpfu.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.4 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carmel
Hotel Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Carmel

Property: Tradewinds Carmel
Address: Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Carmel
#8 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds Carmel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, Mediterranean - 3 blocks from Ocean Ave. on a quiet residential street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tradewinds Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Carmel Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing