We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A little stay in paradise"”
Review of Tradewinds Carmel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tradewinds Carmel
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"A little stay in paradise"”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We recently stayed for 2 nights at this hotel and have to say everything was great - we are hoteliers ourself and were impresed by their attention to detail and hospitality. This hotel is situated in a quiet area of the town and a short walk from all main attractions, the breakfast was first class only surpassed by Beritt's (General Manger) personality and professionalism

Room Tip: The different rooms give you a choice of options, we stayed in 23 at the back and could still see th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOBOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, 20 October 2012
So nice to have fellow hoteliers critique our boutique hotel! Glad that you liked the breakfast! Thank you for your thoughtfulness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    120
    50
    13
    17
See reviews for
89
275
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We recently had the opportunity to spend a few nights at the Tradewinds and absolutely loved it! I had booked a room with partial ocean views and a fireplace and it certainly did not disappoint. We even had a little balcony where we could enjoy a cup of coffee or glass of wine. The room was very nicely appointed and I liked the decor. The garden area was lovely with a water feature and fire pit and several nooks where one could sit and enjoy the tranquility. The proximity to downtown was super convenient and the staff was friendly and helpful in making dinner reservations or just answering questions in general. We will definitely be back! Oh, and did I mention Sweetie? The adorable black and white kitty who lives in the lobby? Her name says it all...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candace A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Anniversaries, Honeymoons and special occasions...we love! So glad that you had a wonderful Anniversary weekend. Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We hope to see you again for many Anniversaries!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

My guy and I enjoyed our stay at the tradewinds but not until we moved 2 times and had to pay an insulting additional $27.00. I booked online a partial ocean view king room with a fireplace. Upon our arrival we were given a room with no fireplace. When I questioned this they replied that since I booked on line they didn't know what I booked. After some shifting around we were taken to another room and told that we were being upgraded for free for our inconvenience. It sounded good until we got in the room to find it was an accessible room with all the necessary features if we required them. However the room was equipped differently, no shower only a tub with a very low hand held shower head, with the tv positioned to the side of the bed rather then in front. Totally unacceptable. My guy went to the desk and was charged an addition fee to move us to the room we had already paid for in full according to the website! Their website. This really spoiled my mood. We did however enjoy a fun walk to dinner, by some great shops and down to the beach. The location is within walking distance of all the sites. The front desk asked that we post to trip advisor when we checked out. Sure they regret that request!

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Lucydamico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay once you got settled. I am sorry that you somehow got booked into a room without a fireplace. A good portion of our reservations are booked on-line. Once in a while, but rarely, we have a guest who books on-line and doesn't get the room desired. We always prefer to discuss the room options with guests so that we can offer you the room that best suits your needs. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and acknowledging that we have a great location!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

This Asian themed establishment was a place of total calm and tranquility. The rooms were beautifully decorated and surrounded lush gardens with water features which looked wonderful at night with the flickering of candles. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. This place is just a few minutes walk from the centre of town and provides adequate parking. Continental breakfast was a pleasure with lovely fresh produce. We really enjoyed our stay here and were sorry the leave.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bets56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
We love our British guests! You add the elegance. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

What a lovely hotel. Helpful staff, beautiful grounds, stunning room, lots of little treats to make you feel pampered. I would go again just for the toiletries alone. What a relaxing stay. A real treasure of a place.

Room Tip: I would ask for an upstairs room as the view will be better and you would not hear people walking ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wallywallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
We love our guests! It is You who make us classy! In a 1960s article about Tradewinds, we were referred to as "swanky". I like that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

After moving to Carmel and finding my new home uninhabitable (water pipe leak), I needed to find a place to stay immediately. Somehow intuition led me to Tradewinds, even though I had never been there or seen the place. They were wonderful, and when they heard my tale of woe, upgraded my room to one with a spa tub. That was just what I needed--relaxation and de-stressing. The whole place just makes you feel calmer, too. There is a meditation garden with a big Buddha statue and pools of water. There is a fire pit. The grounds are landscaped beautifully, and the rooms are stunning. I wish I could live there. But now my house is fixed and I'll just stop by to visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LM9882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
You are welcome to come sit in our Meditation Garden any time when you need to de-stress! We once had an author stay with us for 4 days and write her book while sitting on the bench in the Meditation Garden! Thank you so much for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Bookham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We stayed there for 4 nights and it was absolutely perfect. After the hustle and bustle of downtown San Fransisco we wanted somewhere quiet and relaxing to unwind for a few days before heading home. What a perfect choice this was. Of course Carmel itself is a beautiful place but to find such a treasure as Tradewinds was a real bonus. Having stayed in ShangriLa Hotels across Asia we thought we had walked into their latest addition! The decor and furnishings were beautiful and luxurious and we love the asian feel this place has and it seems to exude a sense or tranquility when you sit down to relax in your room. Many smalll nice touches exist which other reviewers have mentioned so I will skip the details here. The staff were great and very helpful with recommendations on where to go and where to eat. Breakfast was a good buffet mix and anybody who is in desperate need of a cooked breakfast can head to one of the many eateries nearby, but for us the choice was more than satisfactory. It's not easy to find such well maintained and nicely thought out private accommodation like this. This is a real treasure. If we ever get back to this area again we will definitely stay at Tradewinds.

Room Tip: We had a king size room. The seaview rooms are on the higher floors and give a partial view of the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBoy912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Comparing us to ShangriLa Hotels in Asia made my day! We do try to focus on the details and offer a unique experience. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.4 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carmel
Hotel Carmel
#11 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Carmel

Property: Tradewinds Carmel
Address: Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Carmel
#8 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds Carmel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, Mediterranean - 3 blocks from Ocean Ave. on a quiet residential street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tradewinds Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Carmel Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing