We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cute and relaxing”
Review of Tradewinds Carmel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tradewinds Carmel
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Fantastic little luxury hotel tucked away in the town of Carmel. A little expensive however worth it for a romantic time. We drove from LA for San Francisco and this was our stop for the night, after a 9 hour drive it was a perfect place to relax. Great service from the staff, nice breakfast and very attentive. Chocolate coated strawberries on arrival followed by an excellent shower (i am a fan of a good shower). 15 minute walk to the beach and 5 minute walk to most of the restaurants in town. The reservations staff gave us an excellent dinner recommendation.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a fireplace
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

I love your description of Tradewinds! "luxury hotel tucked away in the town of Carmel...attentive staff,", etc. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Interested in a marketing position?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
There are newer reviews for Tradewinds Carmel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

360 - 366 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2013

From the minute we arrived, we were charmed by this boutique hotel. The setting and the grounds are lovely and relaxing. We were warmly greeted and taken to our room, which was quite spacious and very nice. The beds are very comfortable.
We walked around the grounds before going for dinner. The fountains are very soothing and the outdoor fireplace was a great place to sit and enjoy the night air without being too cold. The location is great as we left our car and walked to town for dinner. It was about a 5 minute walk to the restaurant.
In the morning, we went to get breakfast and chose to eat it on our terrace while looking at teh ocean. it was a very peaceful setting. We wished we could stay longer. We will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoGizmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

So glad that you found Tradewinds to be peaceful and relaxing. Thank you so much and please return soon. The fire-pit and Meditation Garden are waiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Can't say enough how much we enjoyed the Tradewinds! This is one of the few family owned hotels in the area and the property and rooms were exquisitely remodeled to deliver a luxurious environment which really shows in both the quality of finishes in the rooms and the central courtyard area's firepit, fountains and plantings. What really sets this hotel apart from the others is all the attention paid to the little details like a soothing in room water fountain, gas fireplace, free snacks, chocolate covered strawberries on arrival, little dark chocolates, high end bath and soap products and a variety of glassware for wine and regular drinks and a staff who is very attentive, friendly and informative of all to do and see in the area. Both my wife and I can't wait to return to stay here again!

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the place. Carmel is so quiet that even garden rooms at street level are quiet and...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank srdzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

...and we can hardly wait until you return. Thank you so much for such a thorough and thoughtful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

We recently stayed at the Tradewinds hotel our experience was fantastic, from the moment we arrived staff was extremely helpful, the quality of the room was better than advertised including a wonderful fireplace we really enjoyed,the bed was so comfortable,bathroom better than expected over all one of the best rooms we have stayed in, within 3 blocks we found 3 incredible restaurant's,a breakfast place that served some of the best corn beef hash i have ever had, and a dog groomer 3 doors down from the hotel, in addition to all that they pay attention to detail's,one of the unexpected surprises was they give you nut's and candy free, a nice touch we were just at a similar 4 star hotel the previous week, if you even touch the items in fridge for over 5 seconds you are charged a ridiculous price a little annoying, we highly recommend this hotel if you are in Carmel.

Room Tip: I would definitely suggest the rooms facing the fire pit and water feature.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank happytraveller186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2012

Glad that you liked the free snacks in the rooms. I agree that it is nice to not have to pay extra for a snack when you arrive and want something to eat. Thank you for your kind review. Please visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Carmel is established,compact and expensive.Shopping,restaurants,hotels and the beach are all right there.Don't expect new,giant hotels.I stayed at the Tradewinds using a SniqueAway deal-making it almost a bargain.
After a long drive or a full day of doing the tourist thing,this was a lovely place to relax and then to sleep. The outdoor firepit surrounded by bamboo,private sitting areas near the fountain and waterfeatures just made it seem nice and tropical.Everything in the room just added to the feeling of tranquility.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eusnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2012

We have met our goal with your title "Relaxing Oasis". Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Tradeswinds Hotel was done in an Asian Theme. Very nice exterior with waterfall, bamboo and fountain. Tradewinds had three parking lots for each of the three levels of rooms. Continental breakfast in their breakfast room on lower floor. Staff was very friendly. We brought our small dog along with her own bed, as Tradewinds is a pet friendly hotel. Dogs not allowed in breakfast dining area or left alone in rooms (for fire reasons). Several people either ate breakfast outside on benches with their companions or locked them in their cars for a short time, which was ok, as the mornings have a cool marine layer. Recommend Carmel Beach and the Scenic Dr. along the waters edge in the afternoon. Tradewinds is about a five block walk to Ocean Avenue to the shops, etc. Can also drive, but parking can sometimes be hard to find depending on time of years. We had a nice 40th anniversary in Carmel and will go back again. Over all a good location to shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Room with outdoor balcony with small table and two chairs was nice. Nice ocean breezes. We did not...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdwardSandiego_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review and to alert other potential guests that we have some pet-friendly rooms. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

The front desk was very helpful and friendly. They called before our arrival to give us directions from the airport and confirm they would be there for our late arrival. There was a great continental breakfast each morning and there was fresh cookies and cold lemon water in the office every day. So many details to help you enjoy your stay...chocolate covered strawberries upon arrival, comfortable bed, in room water fountain, fireplace for the cool evenings, calming extensive landscaping with waterfalls and fire pit. A little warm first night and no air conditioning but it was very quiet even with windows open.

Room Tip: Paid a little extra to get a balcony so my husband could smoke out there but when I found out their...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

We know that the details are so important. Thank you for appreciating them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
892 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
355 reviews
1.6 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
675 reviews
4.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Carmel

Address: Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Carmel
#8 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: £205 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds Carmel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, Mediterranean - 3 blocks from Ocean Ave. on a quiet residential street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tradewinds Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Carmel Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing