We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Anniversary getaway! ”
Review of Tradewinds Carmel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tradewinds Carmel
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay at the Tradewinds. Hubby and I were celebrating our anniversary and upon arrival they provided us with a lovely orchid. There were complimentary nuts, pretzels, and little grapefruit gummy candies as well. There were also 2 delicious chocolate covered strawberries (don't know if that's normal or just because it was our anniversary, but it made is feel so special! Thank you! ). They had a cooler (just like a refrigerator except didn't make noise). Which we used our entire trip! They had cookies every afternoon and a continental breakfast every morning (hard boiled eggs, pastries, cereal, bread choices, yogurt, etc. ). Everyone is so helpful and nice there. We came with reservations for dinner but opted to cancel those reservations and go with another restaurant (we didn't want to move the car. Parking can be an issue.). They gave us some wonderful ideas and we were so pleased.

The good news is it's a short walk to Ocean st. Lots of shopping and restaurants in between). Unfortunately, it is on a slight hill. Not bad though.

We stayed in room 19. It was ABSOLUTELY beautiful! Wonderful view of the ocean. Comfy bed, lovely fluffy pillows, wonderfully high thread count sheets and what I am guessing is a feather bed topper on the bed (it was so soft). Didn't use it, but there was a Jacuzzi tub (they said it was for 1 1/2 people? ). Soothing and relaxing outdoor landscaping. Beautifully maintained. I saw one of the ladies from the front office walking around the property picking up lint and bits of tiny paper accidentally dropped. Includes an outdoor fire pit. Loved it! Ended our relaxing getaway by leaving a wish at their Buddha fountain. From the moment we got there, until we left, it was nothing but relaxing and peaceful! Thank you so much for an amazing experience!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tiffsu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Oh, please return soon! Maybe an anniversary tradition? We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We describe our beds as "sumptuous" because we do buy high quality linens- Fili D'Oro duvet covers and pillow cases, fine white goose down pillows and comforters and 4 inch high feather beds! I love the crisp white duvet covers because they are so fresh and clean! (no bedspreads or blankets that haven't been washed). Tradewinds Carmel has its own special traditions including giving each guest a fresh orchid sprig, and having chocolate covered strawberries that we make from fine Belgium chocolate daily in your room upon arrival. My favorite tradition is writing your wish or prayer on a bamboo sheath and putting it in the Buddha fountain! We have giant Temple Bamboo in the Meditation Garden and it is a tradition in Asia to do this. I love my staff because they all have a love for hospitality and catering to our guests. They also love Carmel and talking about this amazing place. I will tell them that you appreciated their service. Warmest Regards to you and please return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
There are newer reviews for Tradewinds Carmel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

295 - 301 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

What a wonderful relaxing treat! From the moment that you walk into your room the understated luxury is apparent. Dark wood with Asian styling, spa like amenities in the bath and luxury linens. The room is a wonderful oasis of calm after the bustle of touristy Carmel. We had a room with a balcony and a partial ocean view. The Hotel has been totally reconditioned and remodeled and won many awards for the tasteful work. The Hotel is an easy walk to the main strip. I would not hesitate to stay here again and again, a welcome change from the overdone options in the area.

Room Tip: The top floor on the west side of the building has the ocean views
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCZ-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

I love your review! Thank you for taking the time to write it. I am glad that you appreciate the "understated luxury". We have made a huge effort to buy the very best for the rooms and amenities, and it makes it all worthwhile when guests like you acknowledge it. We are also trying to be as environmentally conscious as possible. We switched from the Aveda bath products in tiny plastic bottles to our own specially made natural organic bath products in dispensers to save on plastic. Our soaps are hand-made and guests now want to buy them for their home use. We are constantly trying to improve and keep the rooms fresh. I hope that you can return soon! Warmest Regards, from the staff at Tradewinds Carmel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

What a pleasant, wonderful place. Excellent, friendly, helpful staff. Beautiful grounds. Our room had a fire place, and lovely Balinese touches.
Lovely continental breakfast.
I'm in the hospitality business, and I'm jealous, these people really have got it right.

Room Tip: Only saw our room, but I'd guess they're all nice.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wayne o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Your review puts on smile on my face. The most important reviews are from our fellow hoteliers and stating that we have got it right, makes my day. Please return and tell us that you are in the hospitality business. We will offer industry rates. Warm Regards to you and I hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The Tradewinds is unknown to many travelers headed into the Monterey Peninsula area, but it shoudn't be. It is a very fine facility, within walking distance of everything in downtown Carmel, with many ocean view rooms and a great staff. Their are many quite famous properties nearby, including the Lodge at Pebble Beach, Spanish Bay, the Highlands Inn, Tickle Pink and dozens of boutique inns within the town. The Tradewinds is overall a great value. Recommend that you try it. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have great views.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mderman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

We love our guests from Fresno! We have quite a few repeat guests who travel from Fresno during the summer to get away from the heat. Thank you so much for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and you are right, we don't advertise much so we are not high-profile. We depend on word of mouth from our guests! We consider ourselves a secret gem in downtown Carmel. This is our 55th year in business under the same family ownership!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This was a very last minute booking indeed and what a joy. Everything about this place is great. The staff, generous size bedroom, décor and ambience. It was just very unfortunate that we only managed to spend a very quick over night stay but would not hesitate in staying here again. This little gem is a lot better that some of the 5* places we have stayed in the US. We just wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lux_chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for your kind review! We agree! We provide a quality product and more personalized service than many of the 5* hotels in the U.S. We only buy the finest amenities for our guests and it makes it all worthwhile when guests like you appreciate it. We buy the finest silks for pillows, Fili D'Oro linens, custom wood furniture from Bali and Japan, Belgium chocolate, handmade organic soaps and natural organic bath products, cage-free organic eggs and organic fresh fruit for our breakfast. Thank you for appreciating it all! Please return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel in December and we have been really impressed by the rooms. The fireplace was great. The room was perfect, the mattress was absolutely great. The choice of food for breakfast was great and organic. Real cottage cheese, fresh fruits, fresh bagels and croissants.
The service was great too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Isabelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! So glad that you enjoyed the fireplace and mattresses and breakfast. We serve only organic natural food items, including free-range hard boiled eggs. We try to only offer the best amenities to our guests and it is so rewarding when our guests like you enjoy it! Please visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I must say the staff was extremely helpful and very friendly.
I wanted to take a drive along the coast and the person at the front desk mapped it out for me and marked attractions down and the drive and places were simply breath taking.
The recommendations for local restaurants were perfect.
My room was perfect. Amazing bed, fireplace, bathroom with a jacuzzi tub.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tenright22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you! Thank you! We are delighted that you had a perfect weekend visit. We love to share this area with our guests and I am glad that my staff assisted you with your journey down the coast. We have a "home grown" staff who all love this area. Thank you for complimenting us on our beds, fireplaces, and spa tubs! Please come see us again on your holidays in Carmel!
Our best to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
892 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
355 reviews
1.6 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
675 reviews
4.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Carmel

Address: Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Carmel
#8 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: £205 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds Carmel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, Mediterranean - 3 blocks from Ocean Ave. on a quiet residential street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tradewinds Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Carmel Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing