We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (674)
Filter reviews
674 results
Traveller rating
418
155
62
19
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
418
155
62
19
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chocolate covered strawberries asian decor fire pit continental breakfast partial ocean view top floor pastries few blocks four seasons little touches jacuzzi tub shops and restaurants an easy walk the main street king room cookies beautiful room
Filter
Updating list...
239 - 244 of 674 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2016

Please check VERY carefully the cancellation policy if you book your reservation directly with the hotel!!!!!

They have a $25.00 penalty no matter how far in advance you cancel the reservation.

Made my reservation on 6/27/2016 for 7/19/2016. Call the hotel directly on 6/29/2016 (two days later after making reservation and 23 days prior to the arrival) to cancel do to a change of plans out of my control. Two seconds later I received an e-mail with the $25.00 charge.

Do not bother to call them because as they said "it is our policy".

Very sad an disappointed to know that they charged you just for pressing a single button on the computer to cx the reservation.

Never ever I have encounter this type of policy before and we travel very often. Better to book your reservation with booking.com.

Good luck!!!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank gfalgons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016

We spent two nights at this delightful hotel. It was very reasonable compared to many of the hotels I checked in Carmel. I wasn't expecting the room to be as nice as it was. The room had lots of nice features, including a fireplace and little fountain. The welcome gift of white chocolate dipped strawberries was a nice touch too. There are also really good cookies available in the lobby. The Asian inspired hotel grounds really nicely done. We liked the location too, just a few blocks walk to the main streets. And free self parking!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GreenLakeDave2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berit K, General Manager at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2016

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We agree that being able to walk to Carmel and the beach is a huge plus, and are happy you were able to explore the town. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Be sure to check in with the front desk staff, as they have many great restaurants and activities to suggest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

Great hotel beautifully appointed with tranquil setting. Great service, great room with the softest sheets ever! Would highly recommend ! They also have fireplace in the room and welcome you with flowers! The main office was very accommodating and helpful planning our visit.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank theresa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berit K, Manager at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2016

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! Our staff really enjoys assisting guests in choosing restaurants, activities, and things to see in the peninsula. We look forward to seeing you at some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2016

Only stayed for one night on my journey to LAX on hwy 1. Staff were friendly as well as the gorgeous resident cat. Our room had a balcony and the room was huge, spacious and very quiet. Had the best night sleep in a long time. Breakfast was include. Short walk to the centre. Each room has a parking lot. I will be back this time for 2 nights..

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cliff-Ange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berit K, Manager at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2016

Thank you for your kind review. Both our staff and Sweetie, our cat, hope you do stay a little longer on your next visit. Give us a call the next time you plan to visit and we will be happy to help with dinner reservations or other activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

More than one person seen smoking out of their windows despite it being a non smoking area.

Also I think they really need to pay attention to the way their guests are parking. The same person tried to take up two spaces when parking and also hit our car when they left, leaving scratches down the side.

Not the right kind of people.

Also, the breakfast seemed a bit limited, some meat would have been appreciated.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank MissVictoriaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berit K, Manager at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2016

Thank you for taking the time to send in comments on your experience at Tradewinds. We apologize for our guests that ignore our no-smoking request. Whenever our staff is made aware of a smoking situation they will respond as quickly as possible. Our bellman does help guests with parking when they arrive, but unfortunately, we are unable to monitor the parking areas throughout the night. I hope you informed the front desk of the parking incident. We hope you will give us another try, please feel free to call me directly when you are thinking of returning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews