We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our First Valentine's day”
Review of Monte Verde Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monte Verde Inn
Ranked #19 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Our First Valentine's day”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Such a cute and cozzy hotel. European/french style. The best was the bottle of wine and the little breakfast basket at the door in the morning, it was so good that we went to the same bakery afterwards.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nathalia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    87
    22
    18
    8
See reviews for
42
194
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level 6 Contributor
1,131 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 703 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The actual Carmel setting is a "5" and this room (#10) is about a "3.5" but it is, after all, in charming Carmel, in the very heart of it, for that matter. The little property consists of 10 rooms and the last 2 rooms (9 and 10) are in a small little structure that could pass for a big shed, lacking any charm whatsoever. The main building contains the other 8 and they looked far more interesting, at least it appeared so, from the outside.

Room #10 was roughly 12 x 15 feet, contained a king-size bed, 2 nightstands, a bench at the foot of the bed, one chair, mini cube frig, and electric space heater which is really needed in those chilly evenings. There was a small shower in a small bathroom. No dresser so pack lightly and rely on a suitcase. The closet is micro-mini and shares its space with that cube refrigerator. A small narrow table holding the coffee and sherry sits over the electric heater.

Sometime after 8 in the morning, a knock on the door announces "breakfast has arrived!" Inside the Easter basket there is a small bottle of juice to share, 2 yogurts, 2 bananas, and a bag of 4 breakfast bakery items. Coffee is in the room.

On Friday and Saturday evenings, there is a wine and cheese hour, but, as we did not find out about it until we checked out, there is no review here for that event.

Carmel is a little slice of paradise, measuring about 6 blocks by 6 blocks at its most significant core. For all the food, wine tasking, shopping, strolling, and enjoying you can pack into a full day or two, this location is pretty ideal.

In the "plus" column is the comfort of the bed, the quiet setting, and the decanter of dessert sherry provided in the room. A (provided) fire log in the outside fire pit is a great way to sit and enjoy the evening with other guests. The young man at the front desk was extremely helpful with his personal recommendations for places to eat (or to not eat). Also, the map he provided (www.carmeltreasuremap.com) was so very helpful. Located a short walk to the beach on Monte Verde and Ocean Avenue, this property is situated perfectly.

In the "minus" column: the room was pretty rustic, sort of a cross between a cottage and a cabin. The comforter and pillow shams have seen better days and would be considerably improved if the bedding was updated like shown on the website for the property (hotel style, scrap the "way-past-its-expiration-date" bedding). A little table for eating the breakfast treats would be helpful, too, but there are trays out on the back patio area and one of those works out well enough for breakfast (bring inside the room). The room had no microwave either. The inexpensive aluminum blinds in this room didn't look as nice as the wooden shutters we saw on the main house. This little shed-like structure is set up against another motel-like property. So, opening blinds is really not an option as people are passing by the windows all the time. The back patio could use a sweeping.

Maybe next time we'll try the main house.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank on_the_go_98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Fantastic place -- the staff was incredibly nice and friendly. Thanks for all the chocolate Liora ;-)
The bed was super-comfy, the shower was really nice. Breakfast was a real breakfast -- not just bread and coffee. I am a yogurt eater, so was pleased to have yogurt at breakfast. Coffee was really good. Very quiet location for good night's sleep. Spent an evening by the fire talking and drinking wine with Dana and Pete and visiting with their dog, Cooper. Although dogs are welcome, don't worry if you're allergic. Our room was so clean that I had no reaction to any pets that have stayed there before. Ate breakfast on our private patio. Couldn't have been a better stay. Great deals from January - March (wish we could come back then). We were lucky to arrive before the Christmas rush (and highest prices). I'm not sure we could have afforded to stay there at that time.

Room Tip: All are beautiful. We especially liked #9 with its private patio and easy access to fireplace patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Illysa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This hotel suits the atmosphere of Carmel perfectly. The room was very clean with a nice, comfortable, big bed and a good shower. Breakfast brought to the room every morning and (a full) sherry decanter in the room. Staff could n't have been more helpful, with some real inside advice on trips, food, etc. They even found a sweater I left and posted it to the UK!

Room Tip: One tip - avoid Room 8 if there someone in the room above, as the noise travels down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is an amazing place, we have really enjoyed our stay here.. The room was perfect and very very clean, bed so very comfy, wifi, sherry, quiet and had a great nights sleep.. Defiantly 5 stars.. Thank you for a great stay..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We chose Monte Verde inn for a one-night stop in Carmel based on tripadvisor reviews. The very pleasant young man at reception told us that our queen bedded room had been upgraded to a king size room, which was at the back of the hotel. In fact, we think it was once a stable. Although nicely decorated and appointed and very clean, with what was a comfy bed and reasonable shower room, the closet was filled with a small frig which meant we couldn't hang up the hanging suitcase we had with us (we were on our way to a wedding in San Francisco). The nice touch was bottle of sherry and sherry glasses waiting for us, but the breakfast the next day, delivered to our door at 8.45 as promised, was only a couple of cold pain au chocolates, some yogurt (which my husband doesn't eat) and a packet of craisins and a bottle of juice-drink. Not terribly appetising.. The receptionist did suggest some restaurants in town and we took him up on his suggestion, but the restaurant was pretentious, fairly expensive for what it was and overrated. More fools us for eating there. A big plus, tho, for this hotel, is the free parking and the position of the hotel which, as mentioned by other reviewers, is in the heart of the town and near the beach, and easy to find. It also has a pleasant little courtyard in which to sit and drink your sherry, but overall, we wouldn't return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BetF830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I booked a night here for myself and my husband. We were living in Pebble Beach for a year and had always wanted to do a staycation in Carmel. Check-in was smooth and easy. We were given a bottle of wine and 2 wine tasting passes to Chateau Julien. We relaxed in our room for a bit and set off to be tourist in one of our favorite towns. Our bed slept very comfortably. The shower was nice and warm and the towels fluffy. Breakfast came to our room via a basket. It was all charming. We loved our stay here and if we ever visit Carmel again, as we have moved now, we would definitely stay at Monte Verde Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ebbosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.0 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
593 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
873 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
1,230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Normandy Inn
Normandy Inn
#13 of 25 in Carmel
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Verde Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Verde Inn

Property: Monte Verde Inn
Address: Monte Verde St at Ocean Avenue, #831, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monte Verde Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please call us at 831-6246o46 for special promotion. Tucked into the famous artisan village of Carmel-by-the-Sea are two classic country-style bed and breakfast inns - Monte Verde Inn and Casa de Carmel. Located in the Heart of Downtown Carmel- foot step's to the beach and moments away from World Class shopping, dining and local attractions. Each of our guest rooms are individually appointed with distinctive furnishings, warm cozy beds, and gas or electric fireplaces- creating an enchanted ambiance of romance and comfort. All rooms have a private bath, flat screen television, telephone, free WiFi, Gilchrist & Soames luxury bath amenities, hairdryer & iron, a decanter of our signature Sherry and Gourmet coffee & Tea's. A healthy light breakfast is included and delivered to your door each morning. Monte Verde Inn and Casa de Carmel are ideal for romantic getaways, honeymoons, families with children, vacations with friends, personal retreats, and business travelers alike. Both inns offer pet friendly rooms. The location of these Carmel-by-the-Sea bed and breakfast inns is perfect for easy access to Carmel beach, the finest restaurants, unique shops and well-known art galleries. The majestic Big Sur and Point Lobos Reserve are just a short drive south; the opulent Pebble Beach is adjacent to the north. The magnificent Monterey Bay Aquarium is just minutes away! And there are at least 15 world class golf courses within a 10 minute drive. We welcome your visit to Monte Verde Inn and Casa de Carmel - an extraordinary travel experience you will remember ... And aspire to relive often! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Monte Verde Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Verde Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing