We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romance in Carmel”
Review of Monte Verde Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monte Verde Inn
Ranked #16 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Perfect location in heart of Carmel. Only downside is that parking lot noise/light is somewhat audible/visible in some of the rooms. Karen at front desk was great source of info. We enjoyed the wine and cheese and guitar music in the courtyard before heading out for dinner. Bed was comfortable, shower was forceful. Loved the breakfast basket left by the door in the morning with yogurt, fruit, breakfast bar, and two pastries. Hot coffee at main desk would be a treat, but there are ample coffee houses in Carmel, and you need the exercise anyway--Will stay here again!

Room Tip: Don't take a room right off the parking lot if you have a choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank oliver57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel-Inn-Keepers, General Manager at Monte Verde Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Romance in Carmel:

Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel, the staff really does strive to provide the very best of services and accommodations for our guest, and the breakfast baskets are just one of those unique things about our hotel. We apologize for the parking and noise issue you experienced while staying with us, parking is definitely at a premium in our community and especially when we are full to capacity. But, the noise issue on rooms is something we have tried to correct, being a small almost historical hotel there is little we can do for changing the hotel, but extra layers of sheet rock and double pained windows have been added throughout the years.

I love the suggestion for hot coffee in the lobby, we do provide water for tea, but guest would enjoy coffee as well, I will be added that to our selection, Thank you. Well as my predecessor adopted for the Monte Verde Motto, so do I, "May all who enter as guest, leave as friends", I hope we have accomplished that, and please come visit us again. many new changes are in the works, Casa de Carmel has under gone an upgrade and rooms will be taking on a more nautical look to depict the theme (house by the sea), and Monte Verde is undergoing a Madison park upgrade, so join us again as we grow and expand our services. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 113 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had numerous issues with this Inn but couldn't beat the location. When we arrived we were offered a choice of rooms. When we went to the one we wanted, the door was open and the room was not cleaned. We were told the rooms wouldn't be cleaned that day so we didn't really have a choice. The room we got was right off of the lobby. The room was small, but quaint, but being off the lobby was not ideal. It did however allow us to hear all the guests coming in and complaining. The lady at the desk was constantly having to explain why something wasn't a certain way for a guest. When the inn closed at night though the room was nice and private - until the early hours when the phone would ring.
Breakfast basket worked well for us since we were up and exploring (hiking and kayaking) each day. We did not get certain things refreshed though (like coffee). But the sherry decanter was nice and full!
We honestly felt like anything we asked or questioned (like when the breakfast basket would arrive, if our room would be get housekeeping that day) was met with frustration by the front desk lady. To be fair, we were given a bottle of wine for our initial room frustration. I don't know if there was something going on with housekeeping, but that seemed to be a major complaint from us and others coming through the lobby (that we heard because of being - well practically IN the lobby). We tried to stay away most of the day, only coming in and out to change or grab something.
Couldn't beat the location. Right off of Ocean Ave and close to both the shops and the beach. The back patio was nice and the music / wine and snacks were a nice touch. It is a pretty location with typically Camel beauty of flowers / vines / bushes.

OH and ladies beware - no blow drier - be sure to bring your own! I thought that was fairly standard in Inns and hotels.

Room Tip: You can't pick your room, even though your registration indicates that you can. Ask for a cotta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anniemal111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel-Inn-Keepers, General Manager at Monte Verde Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Location is the biggest plus”

Thank you for your candid and very honest review of our hotel, I wish we could have over-come some of our problems and provided you with a more comfortable and rewarding experience. I take accountability for offering you another option on your room without checking with our housekeeping department to see if it was ready. Yes! we were experiencing some problems with our housekeeping department, with all the new upgrades and remodeling we have been striving to complete before the rush of the season we took on some new employees that are still finding their way with us.

I'm sorry you were able to hear complaints from some of our guest with minor missing items (like replenishing coffee services, cups and hair dryers), and coordination of housekeeping schedules. Much like other small hotels, we complete the check-out and arrival rooms first and our guest staying over usually get services in the afternoon, not always ideal, but cost effective. As for the hair dryer we do provide hair dryers in our rooms, for some reason many seemed to have gone home with our guest this week. I wish we were made aware that your room was missing one, as we usually have some behind the front desk.

I will be working with our staff to make sure we inspect and catch missing items before our guest arrive and are inconvenienced. Please accept our heart-felt and very sincere wishes for your return visit (please contact me directly for my personal incentive) so that we may have you experience a more comfortable and memorable stay when the upgrades and refurbishing is complete.

If at all possible we would like you to re-enter as our guest, and allow us the opportunity to have you leave as a friend. I will be looking forward to your call.

Best Wishes

Karen Richardson
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Monte Verde Inn on a Thursday night (to avoid the drive up early Friday morning from silicon valley) I had an early am apt. In Monterey. Best idea ever. It was 15 hours of pure peace & quiet. I'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9livesOceanside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel-Inn-Keepers, General Manager at Monte Verde Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear A place to find your peace!

It was a pleasure to read your review and see that your wife and yourself had a wonderful time when visiting us in Carmel by the Sea for your anniversary. We are all very proud of our little town especially when we learn it provides so much joy to others and not just for special occasions.

Thank you for the kind words on housekeeping and the front desk, we need to hear words of encouragement and satisfaction sometimes. it lets them know they are meeting guest satisfaction. Our properties have adopted the motto established by a previous manager that we feel should hold true to every visitor, may all who enter as guest, leave as friends, we hope we have found a true friend in both of you and look forward to your return visit with us.

Karen Richardson manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My wife and I had chance to stay at this little Inn twice. Every time, there was a different experience. Front Desk staffs were friendly and guided me to my room. They offered us a bottle of wine since I told them I came here to celebrate our anniversary. What a treat!
We received breakfast in room service every morning while we stayed. Housekeepers were friendly but they spoke little English though.
Overall, the room is clean and the bed is comfortable enough for a good night sleep.
Location: 4 blocks away from the beach, 5 minutes walk. The Inn is the center of everything. Very convenient.

Room Tip: Monte Verde Room should be a good upgrade. Choose King room instead of Queen room for a bigger space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel-Inn-Keepers, General Manager at Monte Verde Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Quiet, close walk to beach, perfect:

What can we say but WOW! and thank you very much for your kind words, our staff are very encouraged by such reviews because of course like all hospitality establishments we strive to provide our guest with the best possible service, great value and clean well maintained rooms. With older properties this can be a challenge as well as during peak season where we are rushed to get rooms completed for early check-ins. Letting us know how you enjoyed your stay and if you were disappointed is a valuable tool for us to maintain our consistency and services.

We are in the process of room upgrades and trying new services for guest satisfaction, this is starting to be evident by reviews that we are headed in the right direction. So from all of us at Monte Verde Inn and Casa de Carmel once again Thank you and we hope you will visit us again. Like our previous manager's motto, may all who enter as guest, leave as friends, we wish to see you again.

Karen Richardson Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We booked on the special offer otherwise would probably have rated lower. As with the last review it's evident some areas have been scrimped on...shower a bit mouldy etc and furnishings a bit tired. Comfy mattress though. Can't fault location and the music in courtyard during the wine socials in evening was nice. Just overall a bit worn and tired with fairly chaotic approach to admin.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelloSunshine43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel-Inn-Keepers, General Manager at Monte Verde Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Shabby and not so chic!

Please accept our apology for not meeting your expectations, our hotels and housekeeping staff strive to exceed industry standards and provide the best possible facilities to our guest. In more than three years we have had great reviews, however, we must be slipping to have received two such disappointing reviews in as many days.

We thank you for bringing these items to our attention so that we can focus our efforts on improvement. Our hope is that you revisit our Inns in the future with much better experiences.

Respectfully,

Karen Richardson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at the Monte Verde for three nights. Our room was small, but we figured it would be since we were booking for value. The room itself was very cute and the little patio was great. The only thing that would have improved the room is a retractable screen over the sky light since the morning sun hit us right at 7:30. Other than that, we had a great experience at the Monte Verde. The location was perfect - right next to Ocean Ave yet still very quiet and just a few blocks from the beach. The breakfast basket was a good start to the day. We'd happily come back here (just maybe in a different room!)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mostlyworktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel-Inn-Keepers, General Manager at Monte Verde Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Great stay!

Thank you for your review of June 27, 2014 of our property at Monte Verde Inn in Carmel. we sincerely appreciate that you have taken the time to let us know that you have enjoyed your stay, despite the small rooms and that ever present Carmel California sun peaking in through the skylight., how annoying to be woken up so early.

We like your idea and will be looking into some alternative covering for the skylight. Usually, we hear that our guest are awaken by the crows looking for a morning meal out of the breakfast basket, they can also be annoying, but what a beautiful area to be annoyed by sun and crows.

We love that we are so close to the beach that at night you can hear the waves crashing and on many nights an amazing sunset awaits.

Please come back and we would be happy to have you try another room, as a suggestion room number 7 at Monte Verde has a partial ocean view a nice deck, and no skylight, but plenty of windows.

Karen Richardson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Staying here May 30th 2014
Room beside office, love the fireplace, bed very comfortable, great location, and good service.
Free wine tasting and bottled water on request,
Big bottle of free Sherry above Fireplace.
Great Italian restaurant on corner.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 24 in Carmel
929 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0 mi away
Normandy Inn
Normandy Inn
#18 of 24 in Carmel
596 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#1 of 26 in Carmel
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Verde Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Verde Inn

Address: 2 SW of Ocean Ave. on Monte Verde St., #831, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range: £128 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monte Verde Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please call us at 831-6246o46 for special promotion. Tucked into the famous artisan village of Carmel-by-the-Sea are two classic country-style bed and breakfast inns - Monte Verde Inn and Casa de Carmel. Located in the Heart of Downtown Carmel- foot step's to the beach and moments away from World Class shopping, dining and local attractions. Each of our guest rooms are individually appointed with distinctive furnishings, warm cozy beds, and gas or electric fireplaces- creating an enchanted ambiance of romance and comfort. All rooms have a private bath, flat screen television, telephone, free WiFi, Gilchrist & Soames luxury bath amenities, hairdryer & iron, a decanter of our signature Sherry and Gourmet coffee & Tea's. A healthy light breakfast is included and delivered to your door each morning. Monte Verde Inn and Casa de Carmel are ideal for romantic getaways, honeymoons, families with children, vacations with friends, personal retreats, and business travelers alike. Both inns offer pet friendly rooms. The location of these Carmel-by-the-Sea bed and breakfast inns is perfect for easy access to Carmel beach, the finest restaurants, unique shops and well-known art galleries. The majestic Big Sur and Point Lobos Reserve are just a short drive south; the opulent Pebble Beach is adjacent to the north. The magnificent Monterey Bay Aquarium is just minutes away! And there are at least 15 world class golf courses within a 10 minute drive. We welcome your visit to Monte Verde Inn and Casa de Carmel - an extraordinary travel experience you will remember ... And aspire to relive often! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Monte Verde Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Verde Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing