We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic B&B”
Review of Monte Verde Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monte Verde Inn
Ranked #19 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Petaluma, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic B&B”
Reviewed 27 January 2010

We stayed at the Monte Verde Inn for our 40th wedding anniversary. We were extremely pleased with the room, the wine and cheese in the lobby in the afternoon, as well as the breakfast basket brought to us each morning with the newspaper. The staff was fabulous and recommended Andre Bouchee's--the food was wonderful!!! We would definitely return to the Monte Verde Inn.
Kathy & Chuck
Petaluma, CA

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tennisbake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    87
    22
    18
    8
See reviews for
42
190
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Monterey
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2010

we decided to go to Carmel for a mini vacation and vacation it was. We arrived in and we were welcomed with a smile and food! There was appetizers cheese, wine, chicken, salad, and cookies! Our room was a nice size for inns in carmel and the french country theme was relaxing. The new managment has really changed things for the better.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marriedinmonterey10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2010

This is the second year we have gone to the Monte Verde in Carmel and we will definitly be coming back. This year we stayed is a beautifully decorated condo with an incredible ocean view. The living room has a fire place with a balcony that overlooks the ocean. The kitchen is equipped with all the modern conviences one might expect. The bedroom was good but could be better with a queen size bed instead of the standard twin. Adjoining the bedroom was the powder room with quite a large bathtub - great for soaking after a day at the beach or sightseeing. The extra special touches were breakfast in a basket delivered to our room each morning with the paper and wine and hors d'oeuvres in the evening. Our dog Bear had a great time too!! Thanks so much to Steve who is the new mananger.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2010

We visited Carmel for our one year anniversary and absolutely fell in love with this charming B&B. I found the Monte Verde on Trip Advisor and decided to book a room for one night, given its location and the pictures of the recently rennovated rooms. The new manager, Steve, learned that it was our anniversary and put us in a beautiful Ocean View suite with a full kitchen and separate living room with fireplce. It was amazing! The room was just perfect - nicely decorated and extremeley comfortable.
The hospitality at Monte Verde is outstanding. Everyone was so friendly. They gave us an excellent dinner recommendation (Andre Bouche's French Restaurant, which was wonderful), the breakfast basket delivered in the morning was great (hardboiled eggs, yogurt, warm pastries, OJ), and they were exceedingly accommodating when we awakened in the morning and decided we didn't want to leave! We stayed a second night and enjoyed it just as much as the first. They also offer complimentary wine and cheese - perfect for watching the sunset.
The hotel is right on the main street where you'll find all the restaurants and shops, and only a few blocks East of the beach.
They're even pet friendly!
We definitely recommend this B&B, and we look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcmCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2010

The Monte Verde Inn was the icing on the cake to our Carmel stay. The staff was amazing and helpful. The hotel and room was beautiful and extremely clean. The location was unbeatable. Going to Carmel? Stay here. When we return we are going to stay here the entire time. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMotsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2010

My husband and I stopped at Monte Verde Inn on a trip from Palm Springs to San Francisco for the holidays. We had booked through Travel Zoo at under $100. This hotel is a delightful change from slick, modern affairs, having a distinctly European ambiance. Check-in clerks were friendly and helpful. Our room was just off the lobby, but was quiet, had a fireplace with electric logs, pleasant bathroom facilities, and a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was brought to the room the next morning in a basket, was varied and ample. The hotel is just off Ocean and convenient to shopping and dining. The one drawback: limited off-street parking, but we had no problem. We wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CACALana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Excellent customer service!
Room was small but very charming.
If you like B&Bs in Europe - this is a great spot.
Location is perfect.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazak9313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
0.0 mi away
Normandy Inn
Normandy Inn
#13 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Verde Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Verde Inn

Property: Monte Verde Inn
Address: Monte Verde St at Ocean Avenue, #831, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monte Verde Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please call us at 831-6246o46 for special promotion. Tucked into the famous artisan village of Carmel-by-the-Sea are two classic country-style bed and breakfast inns - Monte Verde Inn and Casa de Carmel. Located in the Heart of Downtown Carmel- foot step's to the beach and moments away from World Class shopping, dining and local attractions. Each of our guest rooms are individually appointed with distinctive furnishings, warm cozy beds, and gas or electric fireplaces- creating an enchanted ambiance of romance and comfort. All rooms have a private bath, flat screen television, telephone, free WiFi, Gilchrist & Soames luxury bath amenities, hairdryer & iron, a decanter of our signature Sherry and Gourmet coffee & Tea's. A healthy light breakfast is included and delivered to your door each morning. Monte Verde Inn and Casa de Carmel are ideal for romantic getaways, honeymoons, families with children, vacations with friends, personal retreats, and business travelers alike. Both inns offer pet friendly rooms. The location of these Carmel-by-the-Sea bed and breakfast inns is perfect for easy access to Carmel beach, the finest restaurants, unique shops and well-known art galleries. The majestic Big Sur and Point Lobos Reserve are just a short drive south; the opulent Pebble Beach is adjacent to the north. The magnificent Monterey Bay Aquarium is just minutes away! And there are at least 15 world class golf courses within a 10 minute drive. We welcome your visit to Monte Verde Inn and Casa de Carmel - an extraordinary travel experience you will remember ... And aspire to relive often! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Monte Verde Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Verde Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing