We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Licorice tasting...REALLY!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cottage of Sweets

Cottage of Sweets
Ranked #3 of 9 Dessert in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Takeout
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Licorice tasting...REALLY!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

This darling cottage has it all. Unique candy, great people, great service and FUN! You can actually do a licorice tasting! Find candy you can't find anywhere else.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank hlsgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    27
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
694 reviews
340 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
“Willy Wonka is Jealous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

How rare to find a gourmet candy shop with a truly different and interesting selection. The cottage itself looks like it was an extra in a children's movie. To see all of the unique and tasty candies from the UK, Finland, Germany and other places was a joy. The folks working there did not seem thrilled, but everything else made up for it.

TIP: Rasberry truffles cannot be avoided!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CuriousTravelerRadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fudge and English toffee...yum!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Stopped in at this sweets shop after dinner and got some cookie dough fudge and English toffee. Good candy and pretty good prices, compared to other higher end chocolates. Very small space, but cute shop and a fun stop during our evening stroll in Carmel.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great candy shop!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Such a cute little candy shop in a great location on a shopping street in Carmel. They had a great selection of British chocolate, which I normally would have taken advantage of...but they had fresh fudge, so I went for that! It was amazing. I tried 5-6 flavors and mostly, they were amazing. The only one I didn't care for was the Turtle, as it reminded me of a Snickers bar, and I like creamy fudge. Otherwise, everything was a hit. The rest of the family loved the gummy bears and other sweet & sour chewy choices.

The woman that helped me (Karen, I think?) on two of my three visits, was very sweet and even though it was crowded both times she helped me, she took the time to pack the fudge nicely in a box and provided a knife. On my other visit, though the man that helped me was nice enough, he put my fudge in a bag and as it was a hot day, it got a little soft and slightly melted in the bag, which was a bit of a drag. Minor problem, though, and now that I know I would request a box if somebody else helped me.

Overall, a lovely place and I hope to visit again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bookclubgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weatherford, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quaint Candy Store”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Wonderful old time candy store with every kind of candy you can imagine. Kids love it. Only problem is that it is too popular! Was very crowded and hard to maneuver around to see all the candy.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fwlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cottage of Sweets also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Cottage of Sweets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing