We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn
Nearby Hotels
Carmel Bay View Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$301
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wayside Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$272
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$722
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel River Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel Valley Ranch(Carmel)
US$576
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$375
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveller rating
187
127
37
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
187
127
37
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookiesgreat locationsan carloswine and appetizersthird floorafternoon winehot tubwithin walking distanceparking is tightthe main streetcarmel by the seaocean avenueshops and restaurantsyogurtno elevatorno air conditioningeach morning
Filter
Updating list...
252 - 257 of 367 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We stayed here for two nights, 2 rooms, the week of March 12th, 2013. After a very disappointing 1 night at another hotel in Monterey, we arrived at the Coachman's Inn and asked if they had any rooms available for us, though we were without a reservation. To our delight, they did, and they saved our vacation! The rooms were spacious and clean (yes, they actually launder the comforter on the bed, unlike many other hotels!!), and the overall feeling of the inn is very rustic, romantic, and relaxing. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, and made our Pomeranian that was traveling with us feel very welcome. The location was perfect for us since it is right in downtown Carmel, for we were able to walk through all the downtown shops, as well as to the beach. We highly recommend this inn to anyone looking for a romantic time, or even as we did with having a family vacation. We definitely will stay here again!!

Room Tip: The rooms with the gas fireplace added a very nice touch.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaeltedrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

What a kind review - thank you! We are glad that you found as well. Yes, we launder everything on site and our housekeepers have been with us an average of 10+ years so they do an excellent job. We look forward to welcoming you back, and thank you for spreading the word.

Kindly,
Karen
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights this past weekend of 3/16/13. -Wish we could have stayed longer...Since it was a first for me and my family to be staying in an Inn, I wasn't expecting much. But as soon as we arrived and opened the door to our room, I was glad I chose the Coachman's Inn. The room was spacious, clean and well supplied with the basic necessities to make your stay comfortable. You also get to enjoy their spa/sauna privately as there's only 1 key and you have to reserve your time of use. Privacy! The breakfast was delivered at the exact time you requested. My kids got so excited seeing the 2 baskets of "goodies" for their morning meal. The staff are all so nice and the cider & cookies they serve at 5pm was a welcome treat. The place is in the heart of Carmel and steps away from all the shops. ...It's only been 2 days since we left Carmel and we already miss our room at the Coachman's Inn. We would definitely be back (my kids are already asking to be back next month!)!! And we've actually recommended the place to our friends already! It's pricey, but worth it!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jc1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and please do come back to see us again soon! Keep in mind that we do run specials throughout the year and that weekday stays are a great value!

Kindly,
Karen
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Stayed here for two nights in February of 2013. Located right in the heart of Carmel, close to everything. Very nice rooms with fabulously comfy beds. A continental breakfast is delivered to your room every morning with just a discreet knock on the door.
As with other hotels in the village, if you leave your windows open at night, you may be woken up early by the sounds of delivery trucks, but that's the only complaint I have. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trailrunner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Coachman's Inn. It's in a very convenient location and the room was very nice. It is very well designed and nicely decorated. It was very cozy and exceptionally clean. The staff was very nice and breakfast was served promptly at the time requested. The breakfast was quite adequate for us and included yogurt, cereal, croissant, orange juice and milk. There is a Keurig Coffee maker in the room. The fitness center consisted of one exercise bike. However we would much rather walk/jog along the beach than use the fitness center. The hot tub was very clean and nice. We will definitely come back.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor at the end. It's a King with a Fireplace. Very nice and quiet. The second floor rooms appeared to have more street noise.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

My boyfriend and I went to the Coachman's Inn for one night and the room was just perfect for two people. The room included a Keurig machine which was a nice treat. The decor has a very homey feel with a very comfortable bed. A big plus to this hotel is that it is a five minute walk to all the restaurants and shops in Carmel. The woman at the front desk was very friendly and helpful as well. If I go back to Carmel I would definitely like to stay at this place again. There is also a complimentary breakfast delivered to your room in the morning at your desired time, but they forgot to include one of the things I ordered with the breakfast but overall the place was great.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenred1010, Manager at Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Thank you, Monique and sorry that we had forgotten that breakfast item. Just let us know when you return so that we can make sure we have everything perfect for your next stay. We love those coffee makers too - on a cold, January/February day there is nothing better than a warm cup of freshly pressed coffee!

Karen,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews