We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and unusual”
Review of Flying Fish Grill

Flying Fish Grill
Ranked #1 of 159 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Delicious and unusual”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Good quality seafood with Asian overtones. Good service, setting is in basement, simple, with character. Not cheap though. I was disappointed with the choice of desserts though...ended up with a sundae which was unremarkable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank pniffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    553
    136
    50
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jennings, La.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great seafood”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We are from South Louisiana where seafood is a way of life. We are always reluctant to try seafood anywhere else. This place can compete with the best seafood restaurants in Louisiana. Food and service were great. Will go back anytime in Carmel.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mjrwjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My wife and I enjoyed one of the best meals ever, in terms of food quality and taste, last week at the Flying Fish. It was highly recommended by locals, and it DID NOT disappoint. Attractive, cozy atmosphere, but it is the food that stands out. Incredible!! We spoke with the Owner; very personable and also the Master Chef. I ordered the Alaskan Halibut and my the Sea Bass. Both were delicious, but the Alaskan Halibut was uniquely outstanding!! I don't think you can go wrong with anything on the menu. A Must Do in Carmel!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PAG66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood restaurant”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

An exquisite seafood restaurant with influences of Japanese cuisine, located on the ground floor of Carmel Plaza. Friendly and helpful staff. Not too flashy, just cozy.
I had the Sea bass, which was one of the best meals I ever had. The ingredients are fresh and of great quality.
Don’t forget to make reservations.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mango60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hands-down best meal and service we have experienced in No Cal.”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Phenomenal food and most congenial staff. The ahi was incredible, as were the desserts. Get past the basement locale and go. You will love it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WF E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flying Fish Grill also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Flying Fish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing