We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun, Relaxing Spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quail Lodge & Golf Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun, Relaxing Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

No better way to relax after a long day driving up the Pacific Coast Highway through Big Sur than staying at the Quail Lodge. It was such a nice venue, continental breakfast was top notch, and the room was huge. Stayed in a king deluxe, worth it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    109
    16
    4
    4
See reviews for
104
180
1
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel recently underwent a huge remodel. They decided to cut costs of concierge, bell service, etc to make other areas of the hotel nicer, which concerned me a little before check in. No need! The staff was so helpful, from making sure we got settled, the crib was set up correctly, etc. Our room, which was set up like a private cottage, was spotless, spacious, and well decorated. Our little outdoor patio was a perfect place to enjoy morning coffee. The hotel provides continental breakfast as well, and it is wonderful. All organic coffee, tea, yogurts, amazing fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, etc. My husband and I cannot say enough good things about this fantastic place, and it really was the perfect place to take our 2 year old. If you are worried about distance to Monterey/Carmel, it is really only a 10 minute drive to downtown Carmel and about 15 to the aquarium, etc. Additionally, we were in town for a wedding, and the hotel had so many fantastic gathering spots for all the guests to get together until late in the evenings, and there is also a very fun cantina directly across the street, which is an added bonus. We love this place, and cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Each room is like a cottage, so you can't go wrong, but the first floor rooms have more charm an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

I wasn't sure if it was a good idea to stay so far away from Carmel proper, but I figured since we were just driving in and continuing on our journey the next day, it would be ok. I'm very happy I picked this hotel. Our room was flawless and the service friendly and competent. The only issue, which isn't an issue if you know ahead of time, is that they use European bedding which means there is no top sheet. If you like to sleep with just a top sheet in the summer, just ask for one when you check in.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank rainalini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and his friend gave me and his friend's wife a two-night stay and two rounds of golf for the four of us as a birthday present. Our room was spotlessly clean, spacious and comfortable. We had a wonderful patio overlooking the 14th fairway. We could not have been treated better by the hotel staff, the pro shop staff and the staff at Edgar's. The bartender, Rudy, was especially nice. The golf course is in excellent shape.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jayblueyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were three couples travelling around California in June 2014. Having just come from a 2-night stay at Inn at Spanish Bay, and having no information on Quail Lodge other than TripAdvisor reviews, we had no idea what to expect. What a surprise!! The grounds are spectacular, the rooms some of the best I have seen, and the staff wonderful. We only stayed one night but we all agreed that if we came back to California, a much longer stay at this resort would be a must. We did not go to Edgar's, yet we had the most fantastic meal/experience at the Mexican patio directly across the street...what a treat! The location is perfect...a short distance to Carmel, a stunning National Park for hiking, Monterey and Big Sur. The breakfast "buffet" was the best 'included' buffet I had ever had...all organic and many fresh options. So happy we chose to book based on TripAdvisor reviews...it didn't disappoint!! Amazing value for the money we paid!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oakvillefamilyoffour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tahoe City, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed here one night before going to the Monterey Bay Aquarium (just a few minutes away). The seemingly one-story hotel has been recently remodeled. I loved that the old floor plan was maintained, as it reminds me of grand old hotels in Europe or, for example, the Claremont Hotel in Berkeley, in that the rooms are spacious, with a huge bathroom. The bathroom has giant mirrors on two walls and a separate small room for the toilet (kind of like a phone booth in the bathroom, but it had a toilet and a phone). The main room had a window seat---when's the last time you saw a window seat in a hotel room? The location of most rooms is lovely -- ours was on a pond and beyond the pond was the golf course with several Canada Geese in residence. The continental breakfast made use of organic or high quality produce and products---organically grown peaches and plums, local honey, organic peanut butter, Umpqua oats, etc. The desk staff was very friendly and helpful. We ate at Edgar's on the golf course. If they still have the $50 dinner for two, it is worth it. A very peaceful place in a lovely setting.

Room Tip: Most room locations seemed good. Ours was on a pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We booked for five nights and stayed another two.
One of the most homely hotel rooms we have stayed in. Very comfortable bed with beautiful linen. Great bathroom with everything you need.
Very helpful staff without being over attentive, just the right level of service.
Super value, high quality food at the clubhouse, we ate there 5 nights.
Well manicured golf course. My wife is a beginner and we both enjoyed playing it.
Gardens are beautifully maintained, a joy to walk through.
We would definitely come back.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Iombish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
4.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
3.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#13 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
5.8 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
4.3 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#19 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quail Lodge & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quail Lodge & Golf Club

Property: Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Address: 8205 Valley Greens Drive, Carmel, CA 93923-9512
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quail Lodge & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Quail Lodge & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing