We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We thought long and hard about which hotel to book in the Carmel area and we are so pleased that we chose Quail Lodge. We so very nearly booked a hotel in the town which experience has shown would have been a mistake. Firstly Quail Lodge is superb value for money and secondly it is a few miles inland which turned out to be a great advantage. One of the aspects of the California coast that many visitors, including us, do not realise is how cloudy it can be, even in July. Quail Lodge’s location escapes this and it is warm and sunny while in Carmel just 5 miles away it can be grey and cool as it was when we were there. The hotel is spread over several acres bordering the golf course and provides ground level accommodation in semi-detached bungalow style buildings which are very attractive. The room we had was large, well decorated, comfortable and had its own covered patio with a dining room size table and chairs outside, beautiful in the evenings. Being situated on the edge of the golf course it was not so much quiet at night as silent. Evening meals were offered at the lodge about half a mile away but we found it easier to use the Mexican style restaurant (not part of the hotel) just across the road. The hotel staff were friendly and very helpful. We don’t play golf but still had lots of fun on the putting green.
Quail Lodge is an excellent choice for anyone visiting Carmel and does not mind the short but very pleasant drive into town.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the golf course
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
There are newer reviews for Quail Lodge & Golf Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 263 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

the rooms are spacious and comfortable... the breakfast rather bland and uninspiring... the setting close to the golf course quiet... we spent two nights here and expected a bit more... alas, the hotel was clean, the staff very friendly and helpful, and it was relatively close to carmel by the sea...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank poonhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our visit to Quail lodge was outstanding! Our room was right on the golf course with nice mountain views. Amenities were nice and staff was quite friendly. Our stay was too short to enjoy everything offered, but we will return!

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be nice, but to be sure, check out a property map before you book.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nyr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was our second visit and we enjoyed the staff, the grounds, and the location very much. Regrettably, we arrived late, however, and were assigned a dog-friendly room that is only 30 feet from the highway. The room itself was not furnished nearly as well as our previous room, worse, however, was the traffic noise. I ended up using my Bose QuietZone headphones to sleep. The noise situation is not remotely acceptable in a room costing close to $500 per night!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveling_Pundit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

What a wonderful place! The room was large, beautifully decorated, and had a fabulous bathroom with separate tub and large glass shower and private patio. The grounds are beautifully landscaped.

The continental breakfast included fresh fruits, pastries, jams, juices, cereal and hardboiled eggs. Wifi was free and fast.

We've stayed at many places that allow dogs and felt that his presence was merely being tolerated: not at the Quail Lodge! They welcome dogs here. And housekeeping is especially sensitive. When you leave the room with your dog, you call housekeeping and they take care of your room while you are away.

Our pup loved his walks around the serene grounds, and the lodge thoughtfully provides a supply of clean up bags, a blanket for those chilly Carmel mornings, a portable dog bowl, and a stuffed quail dog toy (although our little dog managed to rip it open and get to the stuffing in less than five minutes). They also provide a flashlight for night walks but the grounds are so well lit that it isn't needed. I felt perfectly safe getting up early and walking my dog around the resort.

Carmel has many pet friendly restaurants and pet friendly hikes and other activities, and the weather there is perfect. We're already planning to vacation there again next year.

Room Tip: Rooms in the single floor buildings are quieter, as well as those on the side of the lodge away from...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DallasElmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The pace seems to slow down every time we returned to our room in this well-managed hotel. We found the staff was fantastic at accommodating our special requests, and they have plenty of recommendations to help keep anyone busy. Only our need to take bottles of milk to the reception to get them heated became a little bit of a pain…no microwave in room. This was our first visit to Carmel, so we had plenty of excursions. Every morning breakfast was fantastic with plenty of selection of extremely high quality foods, and we found it ideal to eat on the deck surrounded on 3 sides by water. One difficulty we had was that the nearby shopping/city area has some sort of sign ordinance, so it is very difficult to find a store if you are looking of one.

Room Tip: The walk out of first floor villas provide a nice view and access to a putting green.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The hotel is a 10-15 minute car ride to Carmel-by-the-Sea and many stores. Request a room in one of the "cottages" (four guest rooms in separate buildings) which are not advertised on their website. The quiet "cottage" room faced the pond and the golf course. The room was large with cathedral ceilings and a lovely window seat. A wonderful organic breakfast is included as well. Adding to the experience is the beautiful lobby, lush gardens, and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravelGirl3050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
4.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
891 reviews
3.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
3.4 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#3 of 25 in Carmel
579 reviews
4.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
594 reviews
4.3 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quail Lodge & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quail Lodge & Golf Club

Address: 8205 Valley Greens Drive, Carmel, CA 93923-9512
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Price Range: £180 - £437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quail Lodge & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quail Lodge & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing