We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware the Hill!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carmel by the River RV Park
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Ugh. One narrow one-way road in and nowhere to pull over if someone else is coming. Bathrooms are a cringe nightmare: stalls doors so low you just peek over (can't help it!) to see if it's in use! Common undressing area for two showers - have to dress/undress in front of people. Long way off the road and a dried up river. We are in a hard sided pop up and have been on the road almost three months - we have never paid $80.00 to stay ANYWHERE else! What's good? Well tended, nice flowers - hope all the full timers here got a better deal. Skip this one.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank AlinerX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

OH MY!!! The entrance to this park is way off the road..thru residential area and lastly down a STEEP and NARROW entrance. We are calling this the "RV park from hell"! Had we known we would have NEVER gone here. AND there was no turning around. We have an older one ton Dodge and were towing a 5th wheel, we almost burned up our transmission getting out the park.
there is another rv park next to this and it is just a bad...going UP the hill.
Also, there was really no access to the river and it was dried up.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Great little park - beautiful presentation and location. They were very accomodating as we didn't have a reservation. Only issue was the showers... Unfortunately the worst we have encountered in our RV trip (12 day trip and no more than 2 nights in one spot) with 1 minute timer (takes more than a minute to get hot water) and poor pressure that turns to a dribble when another shower is turned on. Overall would recommend for the obvious care and pride the owners take in their business.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Charlie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stopped here on day 8 of a 21 day trip and compared to other sites it was not the topmost place we had stayed but was very nice, quiet, and with friendly staff and clean facilities. No laundry so make sure to do that before you get there, but all hookups that you need, a smallish general store and a nice game room for the kids. May be a bit overpriced but for a safe, clean environment was worth the money to us.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed here over labour day weekend for 2 nights as it was the only RV place we could find with sites available. Th owners have made the place look nice with gardens and all sites have a hedge that separates them.
It was very quiet, and the facilities were maintained well and were clean. Unfortunately the showers were a little frustrating as the water would only run for a few minutes at a time and then turn itself off, not so helpful when you are trying to shower yourself and a small child.
Wifi worked well, but expensive for a place to park your camper van for the night. I'd try somewhere else before staying again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This park is one of the best we have ever stayed at. While not cheap, it is worth every penny if you like a well maintained, clean, pretty place to stay. The park has a lot of Foreign visitors in rented motorhomes who stop in for a night or two while touring the west. We stayed for a little over two weeks in a diesel pusher towing a jeep and had a great time. Spaces are a little narrow but private with hedges between the spaces and very quiet at night. No pull thru's which was not a problem for us. Very convenient location to Carmel and Monterey with great weather, less fog than Monterey. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

this campground is too expensive for what you get. (75$)
no discounts, very small sites, no pool, unfriendly reception, just cash,
reservation only possible for more than one night,
Its hard to find something in carmel, but I wouldn't come back again.
better check out the neighbour campground. there is a nice pool.

pos. fast and good working wifi

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Reep2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
3.7 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
4.9 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
901 reviews
3.9 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
4.9 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel by the River RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel by the River RV Park

Address: 27680 Schulte Rd, Carmel, CA 93923-9534
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing