We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Corporate sameness”
Review of Il Fornaio

Il Fornaio
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Fornaio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 161 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Il Fornaio means "the Baker" in Italian. Located in downtown Carmel, Il Fornaio offers an authentic and unique Italian dining experience and a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2007 wine list. Enjoy wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; house made and imported pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and house made soups; antipasti and a wide variety of desserts made daily from scratch. Reservation Confirmation Message: Thank you for choosing Il Fornaio - Carmel. Should your plans change, please let us know. We look forward to serving you Grazie e Ciao
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Corporate sameness”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I dont' feel much for this chain. A lot of people like to hang out at the bar and in teh "reading room" as I call it where coffee and pastries are available. i jsut find the food not so good. Carmel has realy good places to eat. I am afraid a lot of people come here to drink and feel like they have something familiar from some other place they have been with the same brand. My expectations are higher.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank topntails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    163
    78
    30
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
.
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best brick oven pizza in Carmel”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

In my opinion the pizza was great, restaurant is hidden in hotel so hard to find unless you ask the locals

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wartfang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Typical Il Fornaio in a great setting”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

If you've been to an Il Fornaio, you'll know exactly what to expect from the food. This is no different, which is to say consistent quality at a fair price. The setting is lovely in the old Pine Inn hotel and the service is good.

Tip: check out the cool Vintage Rolexes at the shop (Fourtane) on the corner outside the restaurant.

Ciao

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Millard112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leawood, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Table of the Evening”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Yes I know it's a chain (mainly in California) but that should not stop you from dining at this stylish place. Also full disclosure is necessary here because we were the "table of the evening" - that means we received a complimentary appetizer (bruscetta), smaller pasta portion and a dessert. That said, the service was excellent (Ramon) and the food (complimentary & ordered) was high quality. We particularly recommend the wonderful cappellaci di zucco (butternut squash & walnuts with tomato sauce, brown butter, parmesan & sage). There is also a very good wine by the glass list - especially Italian wines. We sat on the porch side which had a gorgeous view of the outside gardens but the main area with the bar has a cool vibe and there is a real liveliness to the whole place. Dining here was a great way to start our vacation in Carmel.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeawoodCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Restaurant at The Pine Inn, Carmel-by-the-Sea, CA”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

It is a chain restaurant (not that there is anything wrong with that) I have always had a great time here whether I am having a drink at the bar or dinner with the family.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Fornaio also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Il Fornaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing