We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good deal!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Dartmouth, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good deal!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

A great spot; the room was clean with a very comfortable bed and pillows. Nice decor; very pretty outdoors and had a nice patio with tables. The breakfast was very nice and the staff very friendly. Would definitely stay there again. A great deal for the pirce.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betty931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    293
    85
    17
    10
See reviews for
128
382
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

At the very start of the strip in kind of a bucolic setting. Nice lady ran the place and it was clean. Breakfast was the usual Comfort Inn stuff. Recommended - but boy is the town itself over rated....

Room Tip: Ask for top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mpdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

This is a lovely Comfort Inn like no other. So cute. Clean & updated. The rooms are a bit smaller (not too small), but for that price in Carmel, its fine. Beds and pillows comfy. We found a parking spot by the stairs so easy to unload. We then very easily walked to all the shops. A candy store & coffee shop is few blocks down ocean opposite side of Inn, and an affordable souvenir shop on same side of ocean as Inn. Lots of wine tasting near & restauranta galore. The Inn is a great location. Breakfast average. Its a good find overall.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter much if you get lower it upper rooms. Few stairs either way.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We had a good stay at the Comfort Inn. The big pluses are: the location – steps away from the main shopping street in Carmel, the very nice rooms that made me wonder if the rooms had been recently refurbished, and the on-site parking at the hotel (There weren't enough spaces for all the rooms but with the free angle parking right outside of the hotel, it was sufficient. Once when we returned to hotel, we couldn’t find any parking, but then we found that people seemed to come and go all the time so, in the end, parking wasn’t an issue.)

For me, there was only one significant drawback – as others have mentioned in their reviews, the walls seem to be paper thin. When our neighbors talked, the sound came straight through the walls. When our other neighbors turned on the television, I felt like I was in the same room with them. But fortunately, our neighbors kept a “normal” schedule and all was quiet by around 10:30 PM so I have to say it’s not like our sleep was bothered or anything.

All in all, we were happy with our stay and given the quality of the room and its location, we thought it was good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eva049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Carmel is one of my favorite places but it isn't always budget friendly when wanting to stay in walking distance from downtown and not too far from the water. :) My family and I stayed here over Thanksgiving and it was fantastic! The property is located perfectly. We could walk into town every day and even go enjoy the beach without having to get into the car. The Inn has flowerboxes, trees, a patio sitting area and felt like home. There is a free breakfast every morning and the rooms are extremely nice for the price. Comfortable beds, desk and sitting area and the upstairs room even had a window with the view of the ocean in the distance. Susie in the front office was extremely welcoming and very accommodating and kind through our entire stay. I would absolutely recommend this hotel and plan on staying there again...hopefully sooner than later.

Room Tip: Upstairs room that we had had more windows than downstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AETCNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We normally stay in more 'upscale' hotels and needed a place to stay in Carmel on a trip down to LA for Rose Bowl. It was Friday night after Christmas and there was 'no room in the Inn' anywhere in Carmel. We lucked out to get the last room in town or so it seemed. We chuckled when we entered our room as there was way more drawers and closet coat hangers than at the chi chi hotels. Susie the desk manager was welcoming and helpful with restaurant discount coupons. On the bed were two choices of pillow firmness, soft and firm. Didn't have to call housekeeping they were already there. Bed was quite comfortable. Only comment is the towels were a bit sparse. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the main road as can be slightly noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IPSAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

My husband, daughter and son-in-law stayed at the Comfort Inn Carmel by the Sea during Thanksgiving 2013. The Inn is charming and welcoming on the outside, and updated, nicely appointed rooms with excellent beds. The location is perfect and within walking distance to all you want to see in Carmel. When we reached the Inn, we loved the window boxes with bright flowers and upon registration we met Susie. She is just the best. We enjoyed our days talking with Susie, and she was very accommodating and helpful. Breakfast is included and is quite nice. We will definitely return to our best sleep! Oh, there is also a darling outside patio! Thank you again, Susie, for a great stay!

Room Tip: We loved the second story room because the bathroom had a window and we had a view of the town. How...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rle7513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea

Property: Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
Address: Ocean Ave. & Torres Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#13 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea Hotel Carmel
Carmel Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing