We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vendange Carmel Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Carmel(Carmel)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel Lodge(Carmel)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wayside Inn(Carmel)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Inn(Carmel)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
73
51
24
10
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
51
24
10
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitquichebagelslocal wineriesduring sleeping hoursholman ranchsmall parking lotlarge vehiclefree breakfasthard boiled eggsgardens are lovelywalk into townqueen roomcomfortable bedchecking inbaked goodsnice breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at this small hotel at the end of June 2014. We had a king room which was facing the street. The room was very nice but incredibly noisy from the passing traffic. We thought the traffic would die down later at night but no such luck. We felt like we were sleeping in the middle of the highway. The room was $270 per night which is not cheap. We mentioned the noise to the front desk the next day and they did not care. If you stay here make sure you do not have these front rooms that face the street.

Room Tip: make sure room is near the back of the property.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank AmyOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VendangeGM, Manager at Vendange Carmel Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

We are so happy you decided to join us during your recent visit to Carmel. We understand street traffic can be noisy at times and we do our best to accommodate room requests and provide a variety of amenities for guests to ensure their stay is as enjoyable as possible. We sincerely want you to leave our property happy and welcome you to call us at the hotel to discuss further. Thank you for your review and we look forward to speaking with you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This small hotel is very nice and includes a private patio, gardens, and even a fire pit. The beds are very plush and the room is clean but small. Continental breakfast begins at 8:00AM. The thing that must be known to smokers is that even though almost all hotels do not allow smoking in the rooms this property does not allow smoking anywhere on the property even in the parking lot. Upon arrival we were told that smoking on any part of the property comes with a $500.00 charge. We could however, go across the busy highway and smoke at the "bus stop" or on the next street. Since this is a private hotel I feel the owner has the right to enforce this type of policy. However, people should know the rules before making arrangements to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank travelerP661Tl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VendangeGM, Manager at Vendange Carmel Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your review- we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and yes, we are a nonsmoking hotel. We sincerely appreciate your review and hope you will visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Our first night in California was at this lovely little hotel. I loved the charm, the beautiful flowers and well kept gardens, the wonderful presentation of the breakfast, etc., etc., etc. My only complaint was the thin bedroom walls and they didn't really bother us. Our room also had a balcony with a table and chairs, which we did not use because of the cool weather. Each room had a winery theme, all of them different. We took many pictures of the gardens--that's how lovely it was! We arrived at SFO and this was a great start to our central CA trip and was at the northern end of Big Sur, where we headed south to Hearst Castle. We drove down to the Carmel beach the evening we stayed here and then went to the Monterey Aquarium the next day (very nice). It was one of the most charming places we stayed at during our 2 week trip.

Room Tip: Upstair rooms require stairs.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nurse_Joanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VendangeGM, Manager at Vendange Carmel Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your pictures and for your wonderful review! We re so happy you enjoyed the beautiful grounds and the lovely breakfast. We sincerely hope you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

This place was a highlight of our trip to California... Carmel is absolutely beautiful and the beach is amazing...in the evening you have dolphins just meters offshore. The hotel was brand new, very stylish and high standards. Wine bottles in your room to choose from, nice fridge and good big screen tv. There also is privet patio area at the back. The bed was so comfy and bedding fresh and clean. The best place I have stayed in California and we travelled a lot.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank izzwizz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VendangeGM, Manager at Vendange Carmel Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for the fantastic review! We are so happy you enjoyed charming Carmel as well as the beautiful local beaches and, of course, our hotel! We sincerely hope you will visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Tom was incredible! We arrived right at their wine and cheese reception which was lovely...we were welcomed by Tom immediately with warm hospitality...the inn was so quaint and beautiful....we stayed in the J Lohr room which over looked the small garden which we just loved....the continental breakfast every morning was perfect and the coffee was always fresh....the beds were very comfortable and we found ourselves to be very relaxed and happy to retreat to our room, that of course however after we enjoyed sipping wine by the outside fire pit with soft music (extra bonus)....I can not believe anyone who gave this lovely inn a bad review! I read several and I am so glad I went with my gut and stayed here....I will be returning soon! Thank you to Tom for sending us wine tasting we really enjoyed it! All the staff was extremely nice and helpful....thank you so much to all of you for making our stay so wonderful! SEE YOU SOON!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VendangeGM, Manager at Vendange Carmel Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for the fantastic review! We are so happy you enjoyed the wonderful wine and cheese reception and we sincerely look forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews