We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely but distant from downtown” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vendange Carmel Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vendange Carmel Inn & Suites
Ranked #18 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely but distant from downtown”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

First, so many positives! The young, dark-haired man who checked us in was very pleasant and thoroughly explained all of the details of our stay. He also lit the fire pit for us both nights of our stay upon request. Ending each evening with a drink and book by the firepit was amazing! The J. Lohr (king) room was large, well-appointed, well-decorated, and very clean. We enjoyed having a little private patio. Breakfast was great (they served eggs!!!, so it was not only a sugar-carb fest, like many free breakfasts) and well-timed (8-10am). WiFi and parking were really easy. Cozy, comfortable beds! Oh, and we loved the mini-fridge which allowed us to enjoy a picnic on the beach! I also love that they provided a hair dryer and nice soaps, shampoos, etc.

And now a few downsides. It's technically in Carmel but far out of town on a very busy road (5-8 min drive downtown). We live in San Francisco and deal with noise all day, but then we're able to easily walk to shops, restaurants, cafés, etc. Our room had the downside without the upsides of that situation. :)

Vendange happened to be much less expensive than anything in town, so it was great for a last-minute trip. I could see us staying here again if everything in town was ~$50-100+ more expensive per night.

If they somehow fixed the noise problem (the bathroom window, facing the street, is currently not close-able; maybe find a way to sound-proof that window?) and offered a shuttle to/from town (even every hour would be fine) we'd be more likely to come back!

Cheers!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bschoolbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    41
    19
    7
    11
See reviews for
13
100
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Cleanliness is of utmost importance with a wonderful Bed to me and this place surpassed my high standards. It is only a 5 minute drive to a charming town and the Innkeeper has a map for public parking locations.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northridge
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This place is great, you come into town and bam! You're there. Off the beaten path and quite, and make sure you have your room at the rear of the property on the 2nd floor, very woodsy and nice. The staff will tell you where the great places in town are and guide you by hand if they need to. The room is not large nor small but the bed and bath are great and you have a balcony with a nice view and the breakfast may keep you from going into town, very nice

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yukedaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VendangeGM, Manager at Vendange Carmel Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are so glad you enjoyed our location and
amenities. We sincerely hope you come visit us again when you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We were there at the behinning of august, 2014.The place is quiet, peaceful. Rooms very clean.bathroom and shower ok.
Poor breakfast, poor wifi connection in our room.
Located outside downtown, the car always needed.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enrid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VendangeGM, Manager at Vendange Carmel Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
We are so happy you enjoyed a quiet, peaceful stay with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the Wi-Fi and your breakfast- we will be looking into these issues. We sincerely hope you visit us again and thank you for taking the time to review our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The room was very small but beautiful. The breakfast was delicious and beds very comfortable. Modern bathroom, big shower.

I didn't appreciate so much the service as I thought the employees would rush the clients at check-in and during breakfast (I understand it was to give the leftovers to the maids, but the breakfast was not finished yet and the lady would stack the croissants under our nose to ask if we will take more after when we were just starting our first one).

Be aware, apparently check-in is only until 10pm and some rooms are very noisy (aparently, we got lucky, and we were informed about that by their own employee!!)

I recommend this place, but I would not pay more than 150$.

Room Tip: Ask a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emilie116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VendangeGM, Manager at Vendange Carmel Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
We are happy you enjoyed a delicious breakfast and your beautiful room. We appreciate the recommendation as well as your feedback regarding the breakfast service. We sincerely hope you will stay with us on your next visit to Carmel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at this small hotel at the end of June 2014. We had a king room which was facing the street. The room was very nice but incredibly noisy from the passing traffic. We thought the traffic would die down later at night but no such luck. We felt like we were sleeping in the middle of the highway. The room was $270 per night which is not cheap. We mentioned the noise to the front desk the next day and they did not care. If you stay here make sure you do not have these front rooms that face the street.

Room Tip: make sure room is near the back of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VendangeGM, Manager at Vendange Carmel Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
We are so happy you decided to join us during your recent visit to Carmel. We understand street traffic can be noisy at times and we do our best to accommodate room requests and provide a variety of amenities for guests to ensure their stay is as enjoyable as possible. We sincerely want you to leave our property happy and welcome you to call us at the hotel to discuss further. Thank you for your review and we look forward to speaking with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

This small hotel is very nice and includes a private patio, gardens, and even a fire pit. The beds are very plush and the room is clean but small. Continental breakfast begins at 8:00AM. The thing that must be known to smokers is that even though almost all hotels do not allow smoking in the rooms this property does not allow smoking anywhere on the property even in the parking lot. Upon arrival we were told that smoking on any part of the property comes with a $500.00 charge. We could however, go across the busy highway and smoke at the "bus stop" or on the next street. Since this is a private hotel I feel the owner has the right to enforce this type of policy. However, people should know the rules before making arrangements to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerP661Tl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VendangeGM, Manager at Vendange Carmel Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review- we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and yes, we are a nonsmoking hotel. We sincerely appreciate your review and hope you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.9 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
1.6 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.8 mi away
Normandy Inn
Normandy Inn
#13 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vendange Carmel Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vendange Carmel Inn & Suites

Property: Vendange Carmel Inn & Suites
Address: 24815 Carpenter Rd, Carmel, CA 93923-8344
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Vendange Carmel Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vendange Carmel Inn has just been recently been renovated this month. We are doing a pre-opening starting now to showcase our new rooms with brand new furniture and brand new bathrooms as well. We have an exquisite pergola area and Wi-Fi that access all the buildings now. We have fixed the noise issues during the renovation process as guests reviews have told us both were a major issue. Now our rooms are very elegant, modern, and very tasteful with a special theme. Please come in and check them out! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Vendange Carmel Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Crystal Bay Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing