We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't do it...”

La Dolce Vita Ristorante
Ranked #88 of 156 Restaurants in Carmel
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
fort worth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Don't do it...”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I can't review the food because we left without ordering. I should have know there was a problem when I called for a reservation and they answered "Hello?" We walked into a completely empty restaurant. I think we woke them up. No liquor license. They have some kind of beer of wine based fake Vodka & Tequila. The wine list was terrible and the menu was very strange. Didn't waste any time in getting up and walking out. How this restaurant is open is a mystery to me.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayorshinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    36
    6
    5
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clovis
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

The pizza was very good, prices are reasonable for the area. A very good dining experience. The calamari appetizer was great.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank BryanPClovis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A Delicious Meal...”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

First, this restaurant has moved to a new location - on 5th Avenue, across from the Carmel post office. I had been to the former location several times and always found the food to be delicious and the service excellent. In this regard, nothing has changed. We recently visited the new location with out-of-town friends, who happen to love Italian food. They both ordered the veal chop and loved it. I ordered the seafood pasta, which was generous and served with all fresh seafood, very tasty. The manager, Miguel, is very eager to please and is trying to build business in the new location. So, please do go - you won't be sorry!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“The only thing gourmet was the price”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We spent one night in Carmel-by-the-Sea, a beautiful area that we plan to return to. My husband wanted pizza and, while going thru a stack of menus at our B&B, came across La Dolce Vita which featured “gourmet pizza”. After stumbling around in the dark, and getting redirected after a stop at a gallery, we finally found the restaurant. Our first clue should have been that there was only one other couple in the restaurant. We were tired and hungry, so we ordered a pizza to share. The pizza crust was burned around the edges, toppings were sparse and the sauce was bland. The only thing gourmet about the pizza was the price. Table service was slow and the waiter never checked back with us or refilled our water glasses. I would not return or recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Changitah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We love dinning here, when in Carmel. My favorite part of their menu are the appetizers... incredible! Skip dessert and save room for them!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sejs2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Dolce Vita Ristorante also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to La Dolce Vita Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing