We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average at Best”

Carmel Valley Coffee Roasting
Ranked #11 of 13 Coffee & Tea in Carmel
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
monterey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average at Best”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

This must be the most expensive coffee drinks ever disbursed. I mean even for Carmel, it's out of this world at $6 a pop. Now the atmosphere is outstanding, the service a little odd, the location great, but now that Starbucks is disbursing a consistent quality drink for over $2 less in the same neighborhood at the foot of the valley, how can they survive? Its a shame, because this area is desperate for a high quality independent coffee house, like the numerous good choices back in Monterey. The baked goods bring it up to a 3 star.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ginger a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    24
    5
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“decent coffee please.”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

As you probably know, it's hard to find good coffee in the US. This place promised a good cuppa, and at 6/10 was much better than the flavoured water most Americans drink. The atmosphere was kinda funky and it was popular for those wanting to sit and read.
We also bought a sandwich each and they must have been made some time before as they were not as fresh as they shoukd have been.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank smokyharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Coffee Ever”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Carmel Valley Roasting company's Organic Fog Lifter coffee is delicious. I loved it so much that when I got home, I ordered a five pound bag for my freezer. It's my go-to favorite coffee every day: smooth, not bitter, full bodied, rich.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“The best coffee shop in the Mission Area”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

This is agreat little coffee shop located in the Barnyard Shopping Village. The coffee is rich, full flavored, and not bitter. They have a nice selection of muffins, pastries, and sandwiches. The service is excellent. There is a comfortable indoor seating area for the rainy days and access to the Barnyard patios when it was sunny. It was a good place to wait while my wife shopped for dresses and shoes!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OJM1276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great coffee shops”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

There are several CV Coffee Roasting locations, and our favorite is the one off Ocean. It's open early and small, but a fantastic place to sit by the window in the morning with a cup of coffee, tea and pastry watching people walking by.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Silvertiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carmel Valley Coffee Roasting also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Carmel Valley Coffee Roasting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing