We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Forest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Forest Lodge
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is a great place to stay in Carmel. The staff are friendly and very helpful, and the rooms are wonderful and quaint. It is nice to have a fireplace to use. They will bring breakfast to your door in the morning, and even gave us a bottle of wine on our first night. We loved Carmel and would highly recommend Forest Lodge as a place to stay - great location only 5 minutes walk from the shops. Their partner hotel Lamp Lighter is nearer the beach but also close to town if that is important to you. A great trip and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Garret Loft was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
backincarmel, Owner at Forest Lodge, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Glad you had a great time in Carmel.

Thanks for the review,
Bobby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    14
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
28
54
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We've traveled to Carmel and Monterey Bay many times but have always stayed in a larger hotel in Monterey. Because my husband's bike race (Sea Otter Classic) was the same weeks as a food and wine event the hotel we usually stay in was booked solid, and what a blessing in disguise! I put my faith in the wonderful reviews I saw here on Trip Advisor for Forest Lodge and I was not disappointed. This Lodge is one block on the outside of town (cross the street and you are at the outdoor mall) but feels like you are in a woodsy retreat. The grounds are beautiful with several outdoor sitting areas to read or have your coffee. We stayed in the Garrett Loft (the only upstairs room) which was a tree top delight. The building is older but clean, clean, clean, with ample space, large tub, and extra little nook with second bed, kinda fun to go down there and read or look out at the trees. I talked to someone staying in the Ocean Ave. room who said it was also lovely. We walked six blocks to the Lamp Lighter (this is where they have small breakfast and wine and cheese in the afternoon), which takes you right down Ocean Ave, by all the shops. Very pleasant walk. We got to sit around their courtyard and meet other guests. Our dog enjoyed the walk and keeping an eye on their resident cat! The staff in the main office (all located at Lamp Lighter) were very accommodating. I was worried that staying at the sister hotel up the street with no immediate front office may be an issue but it was not at all. They made sure we were taken care of from morning through evening. They asked every day if we wanted our breakfast brought to us. When we were on our way to the beach they gave us towels. They made dinner reservations for us on our first night there when we checked in by calling the Cypress Inn. The grounds keeper at the Forest Lodge even offered to help my husband up with our luggage since we were upstairs. They were just superb in anticipating anything we needed. I would definitely stay here again and maybe try another room just for fun. The Garrett Loft was lovely but if you have trouble with stairs, or a dog that may have trouble with stairs, I believe all the rooms are nice and the website gives you a good preview. Notes: Breakfast is small, but enough.

Room Tip: Garrett Loft is beautiful but if you have trouble with stairs, choose any other room. This is the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaPerlman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
backincarmel, Guest Relations at Forest Lodge, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for the thorough review. The beautifully landscaped grounds and the woodsy feel are two things I love about this property. I suggest you try the Ocean Ave. room next time you stay. The ample amount of natural light and the plush arm chair make it perfect for curling up with a good book. Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to a return visit soon.

-Maddy and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We went on a totally last minute trip to Carmel for the night last night and were able to book the Ocean Ave room.

Pros: We had our very own parking spot (included in cost) that was available by 11am and the cleaning woman was done with our room early so we were able to check-in well before the 3pm time. Our cottage could not have been cuter. It had a lovely cathedral ceiling which made it feel more like a ski chalet and we cozied up by the fireplace at night. The queen bed and loveseat were comfortable and the bathroom and shower were clean and renovated. Our dog was welcomed with his very own water bowl, blanket, and logo'd dog tag should he wander too far and folks can know where to return him. It's right on Ocean Ave (the main shopping street) and walkable to everything there is to do in Carmel-by-the-Sea. We would DEFINITELY stay there again or even try their sister properties.

Cons: Again, we truly enjoyed our stay and are excited to return but we do hope they get some new fluffier (down or downlike) pillows, and step up the breakfast baskets to include some local pastries. It's these fine touches that go from "Very good" to "Excellent" for us.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
backincarmel, Guest Relations at Forest Lodge, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to share some details about your stay. We are always looking to improve and comments like yours about the pillows and breakfast basket help in this process. Thanks for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to a return visit soon.

-Maddy and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Staying here for my second anniversary was amazing. We stayed in the Einstein cottage, and the room was absolutely cozy and comfortable. When we arrived, someone started a fire in the fireplace for us, and being in your own cottage felt more personal and secluded. The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating, thank you Melissa! And the location was perfect. The little cottage nestled up in the forest by the sea, feels like it's straight from a fairy tale. At night, you can hear the ocean faintly in the distance, and in the morning you can walk right into town and sit down at a cafe. This place is great, and I would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
backincarmel, Guest Relations at Forest Lodge, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
One thing I love about being at the Forest Lodge is even though your practically in downtown, you feel like your tucked away in the woods. This place has a special charm and we're happy you enjoyed the fairy tale feel. We hope your next stay is as wonderful as your first.

-Maddy and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PACIFIC GROVE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

My wife and I have stayed at a variety of hotels, inns and B&Bs in Carmel, and I can confidently state that Forest Lodge is our new favorite. We stayed there recently and everything was wonderful. We are locals (in Monterey) but sometimes we like to just escape the house and have a special night out, and Forest Lodge is PERFECT for this.

The very sweet and professional front desk gals got us checked in quickly and efficiently. Our cottage, the Dali Suite, was very comfortable and spacious. The large living room features a GIANT stone fireplace, and we fired that up right away; makes the place nice and cozy, romantic. The whole place has a pleasant mountain lodge feeling, but it's not rustic nor outdated... it is modern and well appointed. The bedroom is cozy, and the bed was very comfortable. Nice, high quality linens and bath towels.

Speaking of the bathroom... it is LARGE. Most hotel bathrooms are small at best, and sometimes cramped. Here, the opposite is true; plenty of room and a large and deep tub/shower as well. There is a small deck off of the bedroom; we didn't use it, but it's there. There are also several common outdoor seating/patio areas just steps out the door, and the grounds are beautifully landscaped and maintained. And peaceful.

Oh, the other awesome thing is the location! Forest Lodge is perfectly situated at the cross streets of Ocean Ave and Junipero Serra, and it is convenient to walk to all the downtown locations from there. It is only 2 minutes to the market, and to all the shops wonderful restaurants on Ocean Ave and nearby streets. We went shopping, had drinks, and then to dinner all within three blocks. Could not be more convenient or relaxing. We will definitely come back to Forest Lodge.

Room Tip: The Dali Suite was awesome and spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikePG22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
backincarmel, Guest Relations at Forest Lodge, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
What a thorough and detailed review! Thank you for contributing to the TripAdvisor community and helping our future guests. We're so happy you enjoyed the Dali Suite and your time here at the Forest Lodge. If you ever want to try out another room, I'd suggest the Ocean Ave. room. Being that it's not a suite, it's not as spacious but it has a big front window that overlooks the courtyard and a cozy fireplace near the foot of the bed. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

-Maddy and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
123 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Some friends and I stayed in the Garden and Ocean suites. Easy walking to great shops, restaurants, and the beach with a wonderful sunset view. Only problem is controlling the temp in the cold seasons. Still, the ocean suite has the ability to block off the two bedrooms and the benefit of space heaters and the garden suite has a gas fireplace.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank GK7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
backincarmel, Guest Relations at Forest Lodge, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
With these old buildings, controlling the temperature can be challenging. We appreciate your understanding and patience. Thanks for choosing to stay with us and we're happy that you enjoyed stay.

-Maddy and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

My wife and I spent 5 nights at the Forest Lodge and 3 nights at the Lamplighter Inn in late September as part of our Jazz Festival experience. We love Carmel and to stay at such a quaint and whimsical Inn made for a magical holiday that we will never forget. Thanks to Peggy, Melissa, Cindy and Heather for being so thoughful and fun. The cheese and wine get together is something that we look forward to every afternoon. The first class complimenary breakfast, the peaceful grounds, the wine, chairs and firewood you supplied for our beach fire on Carmel Beach...I have to stop this; I want to go back!! 'This is Carmel, and we hope it stays like this forever.' We love you guys (and you too Shadow) and look forward to our return visit. Alan & Rose, Surrey, B.C. The Great White North. P.S. The service ladies are super.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
backincarmel, Guest Relations at Forest Lodge, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you so much for the kind and thoughtful words. It's always awesome when guests come as strangers and leave as friends. Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope you come back to visit soon.

-Maddy and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Lodge

Property: Forest Lodge
Address: Corner of Ocean Ave & Junipero, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old lodge with a new begining. The lodge is located downtown Carmel on Ocean Ave. A unique Inn recently remodeled using local materials and as much reclaimed product as we could. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing