We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Getaway in Carmel”
Review of Forest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Forest Lodge
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We recently celebrated our son's 5th birthday with a trip to Carmel and were fortunate enough to stay at the Forest Lodge. We just loved it! The beautiful, sunny room with high beamed ceilings and wooden floors, the fireplace, the tasteful décor, the lovingly landscaped property, and the proximity to all the shops and restaurants on Ocean Avenue made this a treasured getaway. What a treat - we very much hope to come back again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaRabea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
backincarmel, Guest Relations at Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. One of the highlights of the Forest Lodge is it's proximity to downtown. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

-Maddy and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

This was our second stay in Einstein Cottage at Forest Lodge, and it was every bit as good as our first. Because this was our second stay and we stayed 4 nights, the manager gave us an outstanding bargain. The cottage itself is cozy, romantic, and inviting, and the location just at the end of town is ideal. A breakfast basket containing fruit, yogurt, bagels or muffins, hard-boiled eggs, coffee, and juice was delivered to our doorstep daily -- just enough to kick off the day. The bed is tucked into rather close quarters in this cottage, so climbing into the bed each night would be a challenge if you have mobility issues, but this really wasn't an issue for us. There is a lovely little courtyard with tables and chairs in the center of the property. We took full advantage of this beautiful area, having breakfast here most mornings and kicking off the evenings here with a glass of wine before walking to dinner at one of the wonderful Carmel restaurants. One last note . . . Forest Lodge management is top notch. I won't go into detail, but our initial reservation had some glitches due to a newbie working the desk. I ended up talking with the manager a few times, and she more than made up for the initial issue. We got an outstanding deal on our room rate, breakfast delivered every morning, and free passes to Monterey Bay Aquarium. Both times we have visited Carmel, we have chosen Forest Lodge. Our experience has been so good, I really don't see any reason to try another property. We will be back!

Room Tip: We love the privacy of Einstein Cottage and the convenience of walking out to the courtyard to enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STLWomanStuckinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
backincarmel, Guest Relations at Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thanks so much for the thoughtful review. One of the best qualities about the Forest Lodge is its proximity to shops and restaurants without the hustle and bustle. While relaxing in the beautiful courtyard, you'd never guess your a stones-throw away from downtown. We appreciate your understanding in terms of the reservation glitch and are happy to hear you're planning on visiting us again soon.

-Maddy and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We have stayed here before with our dogs in the Porpoise Room at the Lamplighter Inn & had a great time. We had plans to drive to Las Vegas this week but when we found out it was going to be 108 degrees, we changed our destination to Carmel! We looked online 3 nights before we wanted to go and the Lamplighter was booked but they had 2 rooms available at their sister Inn, the Forest Lodge. We booked the Einstein Cottage for our escape from the hot valley. What a nice little cottage!! A lone building with no attached rooms, our own little oasis! Living room area with gas fireplace, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, 32 inch tv. Separate bedroom with its own door and a queen size bed. The bed was a little difficult to maneuver with only 8-10 inches on each side to get in bed, so if you are a bigger person, you may want to consider another room. Very small tv in the bedroom. The bathroom wasn't bad but could use more shelf space. There are shelves but only enough room for travel size bottles, etc. The shower had hot water but it's typical in coastal towns to not have great water pressure. It includes a Continental breakfast but you have the choice of walking/driving to the Lamplighter for breakfast starting at 8:15 am or they will deliver to you starting at 8:45 am. Coffee, Juices, cereal, bagels or bread for toasting, pastries and yogurt.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank meechmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
backincarmel, Guest Relations at Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for the detailed review. We're always striving to improve and hearing what works and doesn't work for guests allows us to do so. We will look into getting more shelving in the bathroom. Thanks for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to share your experience.

-Maddy and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed in the Weston room on our honeymoon. While the room looked exactly like the photos, we quickly realized we could hear every little pin drop in the next room over. Not that our neighbors seemed excessively noisy, but they might as well have been in the same room with us. We felt like we had ZERO privacy and got very little sleep (our neighbors liked to stay up quite late chatting, moving luggage around, making phone calls, pacing around...) It was very frustrating.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Emelia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
backincarmel, Owner at Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

I am so sorry your stay was not what you were hoping for. I can understand your frustration especially on such a special vacation. I cannot turn back time but if we had known of your frustration we could and would have made every possible attempt to move you into a freestanding cottage. I sincerely hope the town, restaurants and natural beauty of our area helped even out your honeymoon stay here in Carmel.
We have made measurable strides in the soundproofing of all of our buildings, however, I am aware they are still not perfect. These old buildings can be challenging but we do try and we are aware.
Thank you very much for staying with us, I just wish we would have known of your frustration. When staying at these small family owned properties please always ask for a solution, most of the time owner operators will try to do something if they can.
Please accept our apologies and as well, congratulations.
Bobby Richards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Excellent Special attention to Guest Satisfaction. Nice Breakfast with interesting people from all over. Close to beach with Dog Friendly service and a Nice House Cat (shadow
). Super people and great Staff
Would definitely stay again and again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TC M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
backincarmel, Owner at Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We will let shadow know you mentioned her.

hope to see you back,
Bobby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is a great place to stay in Carmel. The staff are friendly and very helpful, and the rooms are wonderful and quaint. It is nice to have a fireplace to use. They will bring breakfast to your door in the morning, and even gave us a bottle of wine on our first night. We loved Carmel and would highly recommend Forest Lodge as a place to stay - great location only 5 minutes walk from the shops. Their partner hotel Lamp Lighter is nearer the beach but also close to town if that is important to you. A great trip and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Garret Loft was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
backincarmel, Owner at Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Glad you had a great time in Carmel.

Thanks for the review,
Bobby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We've traveled to Carmel and Monterey Bay many times but have always stayed in a larger hotel in Monterey. Because my husband's bike race (Sea Otter Classic) was the same weeks as a food and wine event the hotel we usually stay in was booked solid, and what a blessing in disguise! I put my faith in the wonderful reviews I saw here on Trip Advisor for Forest Lodge and I was not disappointed. This Lodge is one block on the outside of town (cross the street and you are at the outdoor mall) but feels like you are in a woodsy retreat. The grounds are beautiful with several outdoor sitting areas to read or have your coffee. We stayed in the Garrett Loft (the only upstairs room) which was a tree top delight. The building is older but clean, clean, clean, with ample space, large tub, and extra little nook with second bed, kinda fun to go down there and read or look out at the trees. I talked to someone staying in the Ocean Ave. room who said it was also lovely. We walked six blocks to the Lamp Lighter (this is where they have small breakfast and wine and cheese in the afternoon), which takes you right down Ocean Ave, by all the shops. Very pleasant walk. We got to sit around their courtyard and meet other guests. Our dog enjoyed the walk and keeping an eye on their resident cat! The staff in the main office (all located at Lamp Lighter) were very accommodating. I was worried that staying at the sister hotel up the street with no immediate front office may be an issue but it was not at all. They made sure we were taken care of from morning through evening. They asked every day if we wanted our breakfast brought to us. When we were on our way to the beach they gave us towels. They made dinner reservations for us on our first night there when we checked in by calling the Cypress Inn. The grounds keeper at the Forest Lodge even offered to help my husband up with our luggage since we were upstairs. They were just superb in anticipating anything we needed. I would definitely stay here again and maybe try another room just for fun. The Garrett Loft was lovely but if you have trouble with stairs, or a dog that may have trouble with stairs, I believe all the rooms are nice and the website gives you a good preview. Notes: Breakfast is small, but enough.

Room Tip: Garrett Loft is beautiful but if you have trouble with stairs, choose any other room. This is the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaPerlman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
backincarmel, Guest Relations at Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for the thorough review. The beautifully landscaped grounds and the woodsy feel are two things I love about this property. I suggest you try the Ocean Ave. room next time you stay. The ample amount of natural light and the plush arm chair make it perfect for curling up with a good book. Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to a return visit soon.

-Maddy and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#8 of 24 in Carmel
733 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 24 in Carmel
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 24 in Carmel
629 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn
4.1 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Lodge

Address: Corner of Ocean Ave & Junipero, Carmel, CA 93921
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Carmel
Price Range: £186 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old lodge with a new begining. The lodge is located downtown Carmel on Ocean Ave. A unique Inn recently remodeled using local materials and as much reclaimed product as we could. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing