We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place for breakfast in Carmel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tuck Box

The Tuck Box
Ranked #67 of 155 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
509 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 507 helpful votes
“The best place for breakfast in Carmel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

I've been to the Tuck Box several times during my life. The place seems to have been there forever. It is located in one of the few remaining "story-book" cottages built in Carmel during the early years of the 1920's -- the kind of place that made Carmel world-famous. The tiny little dining room where food is served seems to have been taken directly out of some fairy-tale. Somehow, almost miraculously, the place continues to serve excellent breakfasts morning after morning from 7 a.m. to noon, and afternoon teas thereafter until about 2:30 p.m. If you are visiting Carmel, you owe it to yourself and your loved ones to visit this historic little place. Who knows how much longer this kind of charm will last in today's world.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    47
    25
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very cute place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stopped there and had breakfast. Only seats around 40 people. Very quaint place on Delores. Had wonderful jams and very good food. Can buy jams or order on-line. Staff friendly

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank calcarsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Really great fun and very tasty food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

This is a must if you visit Carmel and a very jolly place too.
We had breakfast here on a couple of mornings the eggs Benedict, once with the bacon and the second time with the smoked salmon, delicious !
We also went for the afternoon tea with their famous take on scones , baked while you wait, with whipped cream and excellent home made preserves all mouthwatering, the Ceylon loose leaf tea is also very good.
The young lady who served us on all occasions was very cheerful and added to the great ambiance of the place.
Be aware that the cafe closes early 14:00ish as they state in their website.
Once again this is a "not to be missed " event when in Carmel

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
Level Contributor
170 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Cute little tea shoppe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We had breakfast here in this tiny tea shoppe that looks like it was a home for Snow White and the 7 Dwarfs. They have a full breakfast menu, and everything was good. The scones are not the scones that most people in the US are used to... they seem more like sweet cornbread, but they are delicious especially with the clotted cream and the Tuck Box's signature preserves. The bacon and canadian bacon were especially good, and the poached eggs were cooked to perfection. We bought preserves and marmalade to bring home to friends.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JGTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovis, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just OK Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We ate here when we went to Carmel when I searched for restaurants that are featured in Food Nerwork's Drivers, Drive In and Dine.We ordered the special of the day which is a meatloaf.It was salty! My friend got the deviled egg sandwich and it was just ok.Many reviews said that it was overpriced probably because of the amount/serving that you get for the price but people have to remember that the restaurant is located in Carmel plaza so rent of the place is not cheap.I like the exterior and service was very good.It could have been better if they have more food selections and bigger serving.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SamS551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tuck Box also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
 

Been to The Tuck Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing