We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service, accommodations and location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites
Ranked #2 of 25 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Lamp Lighter Inn during the Big Sur Marathon weekend. The Lamp Lighter Inn is situated in the town of Carmel, only a couple of blocks from the ocean, restaurants, and shops. Once we arrived, we didn't need to drive anywhere in town. Our room was cozy and comfortable and tastefully decorated. The in-room microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker (supplied with complimentary basket of coffee supplies, hot cocoa, and tea) gave us the option for a quick snack or meal. The individual cottages of the Inn surround a beautiful garden with multiple seating areas and fire pit. In the mornings and evenings, a number of guests gathered to sit around the fire, read, and talk. And the staff? They are friendly, personable, and accommodating! Anytime we had a question, they went out of their way to not only provide us with information, but also with coupons to use at area businesses. Morning breakfast of cereal, bagels, toast, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, fresh fruit and coffee as well as afternoon hors d'oeuvres, all a part of the lodging package, made our stay an excellent value! To top off our experience, the owner of the Lamp Lighter Inn, arranged for one of the keynote speakers, at the Big Sur Marathon Expo, to stop by the Inn to visit with the guests. We can't say enough positive things about the Lamp Lighter Inn; it's the perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fjord14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (715)
There are newer reviews for Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

411 - 417 of 715 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

Friendly helful Staff, Beautiful setting, and cute well appointed room make the Lamplighter romantic getaway for lovers of all ages.

Room Tip: The cottages are cozy, and romantic.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Location is great and the folks are running the place are extremely nice. But we were expecting more from this place in terms of the room, especially for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johngalt_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Very pretty hotel. Lovely, light, large rooms.
Breakfast included in our rate was very good.
Great location between the beach and the restaurants.
Carmel itself is a beautiful town.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shmaffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Very happy with our choice of somewhere special to stay at the start of our trip down the California coast. Lamp Lighter Inn lives up to all the accolades from others, from the friendly reception to the family atmosphere created by the social wine & cheese get-together in the late afternoon.
They really do want you to use the fireplace! And it's a great way to drift off to sleep, with the sound of the waves & the flickering of a real fire.
Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I did a lot of research before our trip in California. I found the Lamplighter Inn on this Website, read the comments and booked. I was impatient to get there and see by myself. My husband and I were very satisfied. We got there when the sun was coming out of the grey clouds at sunset. It gave the place a fairy tale look. Really cute Inn with an inner courtyard where people can hang out amongst the flowers and trees, have the afternoon wine or morning breakfast or enjoy the fire at night. Breakfast was big enough to keep me walking all morning. Nice staff. We were in the Dolphin room which we appreciated. Wood fireplace and wood floor. Nice and clean. Has an extra bed. The only tiny detail, the bed is right under a window giving on the courtyard. I guess it could be noisy if people hang out late at night. The other windows give on the parking. But it was really quiet that night. Short walk to the beach. Was surprised by the hairdyer that was more powerful than mine!

Super B&B, charmant, comme dans un compte de fée. Les chambres sont dans de petits bâtiments entourant un jardin où gazebo, chaises, feu extérieur et fleurs vous accueillent. Petit déjeuner très soutenant, personnel charmant, courte distance de la mer. Chambre Dolphin très propre et joliement décorée.

Room Tip: Dolphinis on the main floor, private entrance from the courtyard, has a hardwood floor, fireplace (r...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chantal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Great location, totally dog friendly, casual/quaint center garden courtyard, wine happy hour, good am coffee with cereal, bagels, etc., friendly staff. Definitely a find.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
891 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.1 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
673 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#1 of 25 in Carmel
404 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carmel Country Inn
Carmel Country Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites

Address: S.E. Corner of Ocean Avenue & Camino Real, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range: £173 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small seaside Inn centrally located in downtown Carmel. We offer free parking, beach chairs and breakfast. On weekends we have wine and some other small dishes for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamp Lighter Inn And Sunset House Suites
Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing