We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, great value & location”
Review of Homestead Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Homestead Inn
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quaint, great value & location”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We just booked a last minute stay at the Homestead Inn in Carmel, when we also could not get a room at Mission Ranch. It was just perfect! We had 3 rooms - the lower level just off the reception area was for my momma, and was spacious and updated. My husband and I had the room that opens out to the upper patio with the fire pit, and it was not one of the updated rooms, but was absolutely fine. Our kids stayed in the smaller room next to ours, also not updated but was perfectly fine. The rooms have wine glasses and wine openers, so after dinner, we took our wine and made s'mores at the fire pit. It was one of our favorite evenings. If you stay at the Homestead, you get priority seating at Mission Ranch restaurant as well as free complimentary breakfast at Mission Ranch, which is about a mile away. We jogged from the hotel down to the beach, and along the beach. The hotel is in a great location for exploring Carmel on foot. We would certainly come back. Clean, affordable, comfortable, & very pleasant staff.

Room Tip: The rooms which have not been updated are cheaper and really just fine: clean, well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MMTexasGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    30
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
19
45
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

If you're looking for it all in Carmel: location, affordability, cleanliness, this is the perfect place. The Homestead Inn is tucked away in a great spot in Carmel. Blocks from the coast, yet steps away from the neat shops and restaurants of Carmel By The Sea. We stayed in room 43. Right off the main entrance by the front desk. It was very quiet and the staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and clean. We regret we didn't enjoy the little courtyard with a fireplace. We were too busy exploring Carmel. :) The only tiny concern was the lack of air conditioning. Our room was very warm upon arrival, but we opened windows, got the ceiling fan going and all was well. Actually very chilly at night, which felt great.

Room Tip: Our travel companions stayed on the third floor and their room did get hot during the day, but it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BookPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry uk
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel when we couldn't get an extra night at the Mission Ranch.

Our room was recently remodeled, very comfortable, with a large selection of cable channels and strong wifi. spotlessly clean.

The location was right in the centre of everything. Throughly reccommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank couchguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Great location, within walking distance of the downtown area and the beach. Didn't deal with the staff much (phone reservation, check-in and check-out) but they were friendly and pleasant. We were able to extend our check-out to by a half hour to 11:30a which was nice. We were in a third floor room in the main building. We don't mind stairs and only had bags so it was no trouble, but if you don't like stairs or have suitcases it could be a hassle. Room and bathroom were clean but basic. Towels were fine but the bed was ok (too many places are offering comfort/luxury bedding now that I've come to expect it). Bathroom amenities were also basic but we didn't use them since we had brought our own. Overall for the price it was reasonable (since Carmel can be pricey), but besides the convenient, central location the rest of the property is just average.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NY_Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We booked two Rustic Rooms for our one night stay. These rooms have not been refurbished but were very clean, well appointed and comfortable - if just a little dated (with a tiny bathroom!). However for the price we paid (which is very reasonable for Carmel) we were happy with our rooms and highly recommend the property. The receptionist was very helpful and efficient.

The big bonus for our family was the hotels' location in Carmel - close to the main street with it's excellent shopping and restaurants.

We highly recommend a visit to A W Shucks for drinks and dinner - great food, great ambience and resonably priced.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellersGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We arrived in Carmel at 6 O'clock in the evening and got a last minute booking by calling the hotel direct. The receptionist was very friendly and we were impressed by the room we were given it was very cosy with a fireplace and huge bathroom. Great location and will definitely return for another visit.

Room Tip: We had room 44 which is on the ground floor next door to reception, it is on a side road but we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We arrived in Carmel at 6 O'clock on a Saturday evening, we were looking for a last minute booking. The receptionist was very friendly and the room we checked into was a nice surprise, very homely with a fireplace and huge bathroom. Great location & very reasonable rate for Carmel. A basic continental breakfast at Mission Ranch was included, glad we drove as it was quite a long walk.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 44 which was very nice, it is on the ground floor on a side road, next door to rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge
0.1 mi away
Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#17 of 25 in Carmel
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
592 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
1,230 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Inn

Property: Homestead Inn
Address: 8th & Lincoln, Carmel, CA 93921
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing