We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow, location, place and employees all wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sea View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sea View Inn
Ranked #15 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wow, location, place and employees all wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

The seaview inn is in a great part of Carmel, right in the middle of the quirky streets, minutes from the beautiful white beach and walking distance to shops and restaurants. The employees were lovely, friendly and interesting and the property itself was gorgeous. Finished to a very high standard with great finishing touches

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cfvarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    56
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
201
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

My husband and I loved this B and B. It was so sweet and special. Very welcoming set in a tranquil setting one charming block from Carmel Beach. The breakfast was delicious and we met so many nice people to share our travels. We also really enjoyed both the owner and Margo who made us feel so welcome, we felt like we were with old friends. The veranda and the garden in the back were both so cozy and beautiful,as well. My husband and I can't wait to go back! We loved it! Truly a gem and an extra -special bed and breakfast! Do not miss this wonderful experience in Carmel!

Room Tip: all are sweet and lovely with wonderful charm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelcharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Having read all the reviews we had high hopes. Yes it is close to the beach and you can hear the sea from your bedroom (the main reason we went there), but you cannot rely on that alone.
We had a very welcoming and helpful person greet us on arrival. She proudly showed us the room and pointed out the new mattress this had one of those protector things on it that make you sweat in the night, the pillows, one each and no spares, were possibly the worst I've ever come across. When we asked for an extra one the next night it took a lot of finding and no pillow case at all! Our room was generally draughty (Carmel can get very cold when the fog is around), it was on the 3rd floor (UK 2nd floor), this had been our choice but we hadn't realised just how many stairs that involved and that the last section was very narrow. We couldn't actually get our main case up there and had to mange with an overnighter.
Breakfast, we had been told coffee was available from 8.00am, we went down and saw that everything was laid out but we were told she wasn't ready for us and to come back at 9.00am. We waited as we had hopes of a good breakfast, we did not get one. Inspite of a lot of cutlery, nothing was cooked apart from hard boiled eggs, a lot of fuss over nothing and one woman serving and managing to be both over and under attentive. The next day we had no breakfast as we had to leave early and breakfast is 9 - 10 am!! Overall, very disappointing.

Room Tip: 3rd floor (UK 2nd floor), heating poor, air con none. If you have problems with stairs don't go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosemary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

We had the privilege of staying here two nights over Easter. From the moment you enter to the moment you leave it is a delicious experience. We stayed in Room 9 which was beautiful. The bed was super comfortable and our room beautifully clean. The wine and cheese hour is a lovely way to meet fellow travellers staying at the Inn. Room 9 was so quiet it was like being in the country. The Inn has a wonderful charm and warmth, made even more special by the special ladies that take care of the Inn. Breakfast is delicious, Margo, thank you for my boiled egg with soldiers, a most welcomed treat. Still didn't get to see a squirrel. It was magical walking around the streets of Carmel and the variety of the dwellings architecture absolutely breathtaking. If ever someone needs to reconnect with their love, this certainly is a place to
consider. Just a wonderful experience, thank you. Love Sue and Rick

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhangareiSioux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

My husband and I arrived here after a very long day of traveling and we were warmly greeted by one of the innkeepers. Although she was fairly new at the job, she was very helpful in showing us around the inn and provided us with some great suggestions for dinner. The inn itself was SO charming and it's located in the most beautiful part of Carmel, in my opinion - two blocks from the sea and right in the midst of gorgeous beach front homes. We stayed in room 5 which was so warm and cozy. The bathroom had recently been renovated with all Waterworks appliances and white marble/tile - it was gorgeous. Although the room was a little small (looked like it had been a converted attic space), this did not bother us as we were only there for one night and barely spent any time in the room. There was a window in the room that we opened at night which you could see and hear the ocean from. The bed was very comfortable and I loved how they used hand blocked fabric draped on the wall in lieu of a headboard. In the morning, we were again warmly greeted by another innkeeper who invited us to sit down for breakfast which was delicious. There was an assortment of breads, yogurt toppings, fruit, and our favorite soft/hard boiled eggs. After driving around the Carmel/Monterrey area, my husband and I were very happy that we chose to stay at this sweet little B&B as the other options (brand name hotels) seemed to be located in very concentrated/touristy areas. We definitely recommend this B&B if you are seeking a more 'local' experience.

Room Tip: We loved our room on the third floor; however, if you have trouble climbing steep stairs, I would su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chgerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in the sea view inn and enjoyed nearly every minute. The inn is located in a quiet street close to the beach and a 15 min walk to the shops. And indeed when you go out in the evening to the beach, take a torch as street are not lighted.
Allthough our room ( no 4) was very small ,it was nicely decorated,as well as the bathroom.
Breakfast was not very big,but the happy hour in the afternoon on the porch was most enjoyable.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jef06202010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence RI
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

I stayed here with my hunny for four nights a few weeks ago. We couldn't have been happier with our stay :)

Why we loved the Sea View Inn:

- The inn is ideally located near the beach and yet was still walking distance to town.
- The rooms are charming and very comfortable.
- The bathroom on the top floor has an amazing shower.
- The whole place is spotless, which scores big points for a neat freak like me.
- Breakfast is served every morning and there was complimentary wine and cheese at night.

Most importantly, the staff were so welcoming. For example: We arrived late (past 10PM) and Mary had left us a little note with everything we needed to know to get settled in. When we arrived the next evening from a long hike she made us feel right at home by making us a plate of cheeses and pouring us some wine to help us unwind by the fireplace.We also met Tracy, who I think is the owner (I think it is a family business). She was wonderful and gave us great tips on things to see and do in the area. These people care a lot about their guests and it shows.

I would recommend the Sea View to anyone looking for a reasonably priced Carmel getaway that delivers on charm and relaxation. Enjoy!

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor are less expensive (possibly because they are on the smaller side) but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livetotravel365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
1.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Terrace
The Colonial Terrace
#5 of 26 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandpiper Inn Carmel
Sandpiper Inn Carmel
#10 of 26 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Inn

Property: Sea View Inn
Address: Camino Real Btwn 11th & 12th, Carmel, CA 93921
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sea View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing