We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sea View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sea View Inn
Ranked #15 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
126 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Just fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

What a wonderful place with the most accommodating staff and cute rooms (cute because they are small but very well appointed).

We stayed in Sept 2013 and I cannot say enough good things about the place. We stayed in one of the smallest rooms on the 3rd floor but it had a bathroom. I would have no problem saying in that room again although I would bring smaller luggage with me since the stairs are narrow.

The evening wine and cheese tasting is a nice touch for sure. I also loved having a cigar on the porch and enjoying the ocean air and extreme darkness at night...I couldn't believe how dark it got.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    56
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
201
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a stopover during our road trip from San Francisco to Los Angeles. We got the cheapest room (room 1) with shared bathroom. The bathroom was very clean and well maintained. Bedroom was small and cosy. The hotel is quaint and quiet. It's less than 5mins drive from highway 1 exit, carmel town central and the beach. The staff are also helpful and gave gd recommendations for dinner (i.e. Dametra cafe which serve Spanish food). Do made reservations if you are heading down to Dametra as it was full when we went down on a Monday evening.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joannalim67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We wished our stay was longer. Loved the safe environment to walk around and explore. Great beach access - no sea view from our room but it was certainly relaxing! Loved the evening small bites and wine. Breakfast was good - can't really remember what I ate - hors d'oeuvres were more memorable.

Room Tip: The stairs really are steep if you can't do heights
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lighthouse923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Beautiful room with stoning bathroom. Extremely nice and service minded personnel that do their outmost to assure that you feel well taken care off. In the evenings complementary wine is served accompanied with snacks in the main lounge with the fireplace lit or if you prefer on the porch. Every morning, breakfast is served with a wide variety to choose from, especially for being a B&B.

The houses in the quarters that Sea View Inn is located within (central area of Carmel) have no house numbers; however it is easy to find your way. The location is central, with only a few blocks from the sea and 10 minutes’ walk from all shops and restaurants. The staff at the Sea View Inn gave several good suggestions regarding where to go for dinner and also helped with reservations. Can defiantly recommend to eat at the Flying Fish (don’t forget to make a reservation).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mango60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

What a treat it was to arrive at Sea View Inn. A smiling welcome and a glass of wine was a great way to start our two night stay. Our room was on the 3rd floor with an ensuite and a glimpse of the sea. No lift, which meant carrying our bags up to our room but this wasn't a problem. The staff were very helpful with restaurant suggestions for Carmel, plus local walks. Breakfast was amazing with a different selection both days. The Inn is warm, cosy and relaxing. I have stayed in many B & B's and would recommend this as one of the best I have experienced.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Spent a very comfortable couple of nights at the Sea View Inn. It is high quality for a B&B by UK standards, not sure how it compares by US standards as it's our first B&B experience. If it is typical, then it won't be the last. Very comfy room, quirky decor. Excellent breakfast, and the complimentary wine and nibbles in the evening was most welcome. A very pleasant stay

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Davmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stay 3 nights over this Memorial weekend at this lovely inn in Carmel, CA.

It's located conveniently close to the town and beach -- we never need to move our car for dinner in town or a beautiful morning walk on the beach.

We stayed at Rm #1 with a large shared bathroom. The bathroom has been just updated with a clean & modern design that we loved. Our room was small but, we appreciated the sink in the room. We were lucky to be able to book on one of the busiest weekend at relatively the last min so, no complain!

A great sitting area by the entrance that functioned as a dining room in the morning. Breakfast was wonderful with many choices. We also loved a glass of wine served in the evening before we hit the dinner.

It was a bit chilly to sit outside but, this inn has a quint and well-kept backyard that provides guests with many seatings. All staff were very professional and seem to be proud to be a part of this lovely inn.

We will definitely come back to this cozy B&B.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Starlove N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
1.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Terrace
The Colonial Terrace
#5 of 26 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandpiper Inn Carmel
Sandpiper Inn Carmel
#10 of 26 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Inn

Property: Sea View Inn
Address: Camino Real Btwn 11th & 12th, Carmel, CA 93921
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sea View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing