We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely The Best!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sea View Inn
Ranked #15 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Absolutely The Best!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2007

This was a wonderful place to stay for a number of reasons! We stayed for two nights at the end of June and I have to say it is more of a total experience than just accomodation!
It is a quaint lovely attractive place. It is about 5 blocks over from the main Street in Carmel - which is much much better than staying actually on the main street - the reason is that it is very quiet and you are in the middle of the most wonderful residential area, surrounded by wonderful homes. We spent hours just wandering around looking at the houses in the neighbourhood!
If you are not fit enough to walk the lovey 10/15 minutes over to the main street from here then you have serious health problems!
The room we stayed in was faultless and I have to say that the room prices are staggered - therefore I think the last reviewer on this page had a more basic room as they must have chosen the cheapest.
As for the breakfast - it is wonderful. Yes, it is not a traditional "English" cooked breakfast, but it is wonderful - I am not sure why the previous reviewer was not aware of this prior to booking, and to be honest, after a few weeks in America it was a nice change compared to the waffles, pancakes, maple syrup etc! The breakfast is served and is fresh and very enjoyable, with an excellent selection of cereal, fresh fruits, fresh homemade cakes and pastries, english muffins, toast etc etc.
The building itself is also wonderful, and the hosts are extremely nice - providing afternoon tea and cakes free, and also free cheese and wine in the evening - which is a lovely touch!
The sea is literally a few minutes walk away and so to comment "it does not have a sea view" is just damn picky - do your research!
Don't even consider staying anywhere else. It's wonderful and very good value for money.

  • Liked — the decor and antiques and location and cheese and wine!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Denster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    56
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
201
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2007

i chose this inn based on other reviews. I would not recommend it to anyone who generally stays in more upscale properties -- tired mattress (uncomfortable), very stained carpeting, broken window (would not open/close), and shabby (old) decor in the rooms. The common room is more quaint/cute. I stayed in room 8. There were minimal toiletries, only two towels and only two pillows per room. Probably a nice pick for people who love homey inns that feel like staying in someone's house--but not a great pick for people who like upscale inns with aveda bath products and extra pillows and high quality linens and bathrobes etc. Also pretty loud (heard people walking above us) and we had a leak in our room from someone showering upstairs. One final note that the breakfast is not a hot breakfast--- just granola/cereal, fruit, and bagels/toast/english muffin. My final kvetch is that the inn has no sea view and is not that close to the downtown area of Carmel -- was a fine enough walk for relatively fit young folks (we are in our 30s) but others may need to drive to get to the main part of Carmel.

  • Liked — good sherry and cute common area
  • Disliked — location, quality of linen, mattress, furnishings in bedroom, noise, shabby
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank shadowkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2007

My friend and I stayed here for a Girls weekend. It was a wonderful stay. We had breakfast included and tea with cookies in the afternoon. It was raining most days and when we got back from sightseeing in the afternoon, it was nice to come back to hot tea. In the evenings, sherry was provided. A fire in the living room was on all the time with lots of magazines and local newspapers to read. It was very inviting. It is a three block walk to the beach and about six blocks to downtown Carmel, uphill going, but downhill when you are tired and want to get back to the B & B.

  • Liked — very clean and inviting
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cpapat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2007

My husband and I stayed one night at the Sea View Inn. We wanted something low-key and cozy and this was perfect. The staff was so nice and the rooms were very comfortable. We were on the top floor with a private bath and with the windows open you could hear the waves at the beach. I don't know how the sound is on the lower floors or about sharing the bathroom. Good breakfast in the morning. Location is good to either walk to shops/restaurants or to the beach. Great Experience! We will definitely return for more than one night!

  • Liked — Comfort & Location
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LoopChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2007

We had a lovely time at the Sea View Inn. We only spent one night, but the service was great and the accomodations were quite nice. We stayed in Room 7, which was very spacious and the rate was reasonable. Breakfast was nice too!

  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AstoriaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2006

What a lovely experience. My husband and I stayted at this tastefully decorated, quaint B & B for 3 nights August 30 thru Sept 2. Upon arrival we were greated by Brenda who was in the kitchen baking the goods for the morning breakfast it smelled delicious!!! She took great care of us, helped us get situated in our third floor room and offered us complimentary wine and cheese. That night we slept with our window open no screen ( I guess Carmel does not have any bugs) and listened to the waves crashing against the sand. The next two days we were treated like royality by Margo and Joy. Love these ladies. The service was terrific.
We paid $95.00/night and stayed on the third floor sharing a bathroom with another room. As unusual as this sounds to many for us it was a good experience. The shared bathroom (between two rooms) was large and clean. I actually never saw the other couple who were sharing the bathroom with us.
I cannot think of another place in Carmel-By-The-Sea that is as lovely and affordable as The Sea View Inn

  • Liked — Margo, Joy and Brenda
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank chb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2006

Just stayed at the Sea View Inn for 2 nights on the 1st and 2nd July, the place is lovely. We had room 5 on the 3rd floor from the window you can just see the sea and can hear the surf really well. The beach is a 2 minute walk and the main street with all the quaint shops (Ocean Ave) is a short walk down lovely tree lined streets.

Joy was wonderful made us feel really welcome, afternoon tea on arrival, wine/sherry and cheese in the evening and a lovely breakfast all served in the lounge area which is a good place to relax, as is the front porch and the garden.

Will definately return.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travel231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
1.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.8 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#13 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Inn

Property: Sea View Inn
Address: Camino Real Btwn 11th & 12th, Carmel, CA 93921
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sea View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing