We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Carmel Mission Inn during our California Coast drive. Our room was comfortable and well equipped. We thought the breakfast was very good and the staff polite, welcoming and friendly. It was a perfect base from which to explore the area, Monterey Aquarium and The Carmel Mission were two of our favourites. We would definitely recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mswheeldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,687)
There are newer reviews for Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,185 - 1,191 of 1,687 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2011

This is a great hotel and the stay was fine. It was quiet, the staff were accommodating, and the location was easy to find. But, we went to the hotel bar for happy hour, and there was a cheesy/bad DJ playing loud out-of-date songs, and we were the youngest people in the lounge by a good 20-25 years. We quickly drank our drink and ate some of the bland appetizers and went back to our room. Carmel is a quiet town, which is relaxing. But, please go out to dinner early, as everything closes after the early-bird specials and there are not many options after that.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharmCityExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

This hotel was a little too pricey for what you got..our room was on the small side and we had to close the slider every morning and night to keep the next door smoker's smoke out!
Gross! Even though they say it's a non-smoking room, they put ashtrays on the balconies so if someone lights up next door, you get to smell their smoke too! The breakfast buffet was okay. The in-room coffee was the worst (which is usually the case). I would definitely look around next time before coming back here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Novfam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review the Carmel Mission Inn. I'm truly sorry if the smokers outside offended you. We are a non-smoking hotel but to accommodate those who do smoke we have a few balcony rooms where they can step out to do so. We appreciate your business and do hope you will try us again. please remember to contact the hotel direct for the best rates and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Don't be fooled by the free breakfast! We had three adults, but each room only get two vouchers for breakfast. We had to pay for the third, and it wasn't reasonably priced. The rooms were ok.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbuddy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. In all of our packages and promotions the breakfast is clearly stated for 2 guests. We are honest and straightforward about our packages. Now if you choose one of our promo packages additional persons are $10 each. This breakfast is all you can eat to include: fresh fruits, breakfast breads, bacon, sausage, eggs, potatoes, granola, yogurt, oatmeal and choice of coffee or tea. Our maket research show that our bed and breakfast packages and promotions are truly an outstanding value. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again. Just remember to contact the hotel direct for the best rates and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

This was the third stop on our road trip up the California coast and was a welcome stop over with up to date, contemporary and well appointed wheelchair accessible room. Check-in was swift and the free Wi-Fi available which helped us plan even more things to do!
Bedroom was comfortable and quiet with coffee making facilities and a fridge. Bathroom/wetroom was spacious and elegantly decorated and easy for wheelchair to manoeuvre around.
Pool area was cramped but gated for security and safety. It did seem popular and was in constant use. Lounge area was comfortable and welcoming with big arm chairs. The food was nice, range and variety was quite good too and the night we ate there, a local blues band played in the bar and were pretty good.
The hotel issued us with breakfast vouchers to claim free breakfasts on both mornings we stayed there( not sure if this was a deal through trail finders who we booked through). The breakfast was buffet style with continental and cooked options and was good and replenished quickly and regularly. The waiting service was excellent.
The hotel is located about 10 mins drive from the centre of Carmel-by-sea and 20 mins to Monterey, again easy to access many main routes.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmch2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed here for two nights as part of our trip to California booked for us by Trailfinders. On first impressions as other reviewers have said this looks like an off the highway motel. But it's much more than that. Check in was fast and the staff friendly. The whole hotel looked like it had been recently refurbished. We had a lovely large room that was spotlessly clean, fantastic big flat screen tv with a great choice of channels. The bathroom was fresh and clean. Breakfast was included in our package and the choice of hot and cold food was excellent. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinse16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Stayed at the Carmel Mission Inn for 3 nights and was not very pleased. Room was small with paper thin walls. Decor is mediocre at best, staff was cordial but far from excellent. The hotel used to be a Best western and it shows. For the price I would stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JDMAN45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
673 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
892 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
3.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
1.5 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe

Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923-8609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: £109 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel
Carmel Mission Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing