We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away from this hotel!”
Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carmel Mission Inn
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Discovery Bay, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stay away from this hotel!”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I reviewed this on Yelp and it magically disappeared? I feel I should aware people who are thinking of staying here. This place was that bad I am writing a review- and I don't normally do this! If I could give this hotel zero stars I would. AVOID this place at all costs. There are many hotels in the area that are a 100% better. If you want to have flea bites all over your body from staying in one of their "pet friendly" rooms and save some extra money by all means stay here. My mother and I were arriving late evening and retired to our room once we arrived. I woke up with bites all over my legs and arms. Afraid they were bed bug bites, I called the front desk and they asked for their staff to search the room. Please by all means. They did not find any bugs on the sheets but instead of giving me new sheets the maid put the SAME sheets on the bed. I was upset. Who does that? Went to the front desk and asked for new bedding. While I was there I showed the staff (who took pictures - I might add) to show the manager. At first the manager insisted we had been to the beach before we came to the hotel which we did not (fleas in sand? I guess) and he apologized. He said he was going to refund us our stay. He did not. In fact after we disputed the charge on our card, he wrote to our credit card saying he did not know who we are and this is an attempt to get a free stay. What a liar! I am awaiting to hear back from my mom on his newest response. Bottom line runaway while you still can!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
We stand by the many “HONEST” reviews of our hotel so I will present our side of the story in this situation since we remember you quite well and have detailed documentations about this. First point of clarification is that you stayed in March not May. We did inspect the room at your request, found absolutely no signs of any insects and asked if you would like to change rooms to put your mind at ease. You declined our offered to change rooms, put a do not disturb sign on your room, and did not allow was into your room for the two nights of your stay. Thus we were unable to change any bed linens in your room. You stated that you came down to the front desk and the agents took pictures of your skin condition. This is absolutely false in its entirety. You also stated that the manager said you would get a full refund for your stay at the hotel. This is absolutely false. You did try to dispute the charges with your credit card company which was denied. They felt there was absolutely no merit in your claim. Now if this situation did exist after your first night stay with us why would you decide to stay a second night? Both logic and honesty need to be examined here. We stand by the many fine reviews of our hotel, the friendliness of our staff and the cleanliness of our facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    707
    214
    60
    49
See reviews for
503
728
49
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Nice Clean and a slightly more affordable option than some of the other bed and breakfasts in the area. The staff were friendly and could give a good suggestion for restaurants. It is a 2- 5 minute drive down to Ocean Avenue where all the cute shops/ restaurants are [not really walkable] and it easy to navigate though the entrace is a bit tricky to find. The room was a good size and the bathroom nicer than I expected.

I'd say it's a good place for families /casual vacation but it is not particularly romantic by any means.

It is nicer than it looks like from the outside.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SonitaSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Carmel hotel. Our housekeeping staff works very hard to provide a clean room for our valued guests. Our front desk staff is also rated as one of the friendliest in the Carmel area. We thank you for recognizing their hard work and effort in making your stay most comfortable. We appreciate your business and hope to be able to serve you again. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and packages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Carmel Mission Inn to celebrate his 60th birthday. We had the most wonderful time - this hotel is super clean, serves a most delicious hot breakfast which is included and is located within walking distance to the Rio Grill Restaurant and two shopping centers one which has a large Safeway grocery store. The historic Carmel Mission is located approximately 6 blocks away along with the beautiful 17 mile drive. This Inn is also not far from Cannery Row and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. We met my sister-in-law and her husband and the four of us had a most enjoyable weekend. The nighly room price was $199.99 - with the free hot breakfast and no parking fees. On the weekend there were two bands that played in the bar/lounge area. There is a really nice pool and hot tub also ! WE WILL CONTINUE TO STAY HERE WHEN WE VISIT THE CARMEL/MONTEREY AREA !

Room Tip: There are many rooms to select from - some rooms have a balcony - we favor Room 350 which is on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tahoe03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you for reviewing our Carmel hotel and we are pleased we are able to make your special occasion a memorable one. It sounds like you took advantage of our bed and breakfast package which is an outstanding value. Thanks for recognizing our housekeeping staff and the hard work they perform to keep our rooms super clean. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again. Please remember to contact the hotel direct for the best rates and packages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We found the Mission Inn easy to miss of highway one. As you drive along highway one look out for the chevron garage the inn is just behind it on rio road.
The reception was very friendly and informative and gave us great recomendations for the area.
The room was large and clean and the shower had a large showerhead which unfortunatly made the shower not very powerful. (Seems picky but was the only thing we could find wrong with the room).
Breakfast was included which had a good choice but on one of our mornings the service was very poor with a waitress who seamed like she couldn't smile or speak.
There was a walkway to the barnyard shopping area which had restaurants, flannagans bar and various shops. We also went into Carmel and ate at The hogs breath and A.W.Shucks cocktail and oyster bar which were both good value with a friendly service.
I also recommend the pebble beach 17 mile drive for great views and a must for golf fans .

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have less noice as no one is on top of you
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrfarandaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thanks for reviewing our Carmel hotel and your kind words concerning our clean and friendly facility. We are very proud of our staff and they work hard to make sure you have an enjoyable stay in this beautiful area. We sincerely appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaside, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Being from the peninsula, we don't think of staying around the area. But my husband and I wanted a little get away weekend. This was the best weekend in years!! Just those 2 days at the Carmel Inn made the week refreshing. We were talking about "how there was no stress of standing at a airport getting our baggage". Breakfast was wonderful and came with the room. Happy hour at the bar with food. So we didn't need to buy dinner. Then a local band played great R&B music. Then the drive home was 30 minutes. This was a 5 star weekend for us.

Room Tip: These no bad room. There's easy parking and your surround by beauty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Granada R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, TX
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

The rooms are so cool looking and modern. Beds were very comfortable. Had a nice breakfast buffet. The Barn Yard shopping center is right behind the hotel and is very charming with beautiful landscaping. Lots of restaurants close by and a 5 minute drive to downtown Carmel. The staff is very helpful. Couldn't hear the other hotel guests, lots of cable channels.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room facing the pool - lots of bird flying around and sweet smelling jasmine vines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gosomeplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Good place for a night or two. . Our Room was clean, nice and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and included in our rate. Staff helpfull and very welcoming. Reataurants and shops not far . We had good experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steven b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
637 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
846 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
3.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
1.5 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Property: Carmel Mission Inn
Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923-8609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing