We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eclectic, clean hotel!”
Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Carmel Mission Inn
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Escondido, California, Usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Eclectic, clean hotel!”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Read other reviews before booking and wasn't 100% sure but surprised to find a nice big room (king) w/nice linens, bath amenities and fast wi-fi connection. Restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    699
    213
    60
    49
See reviews for
492
724
48
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

Breakfast: No warm food in the buffet for 30 minutes. Also took that amount of time to get a cup of tea. Either get here when they open or just make the drive into Carmel to avoid the frustration. The other two servers not responsible for our table were good, but our server was absolutely terrible. Service: 1

Lodging: The rooms were clean, and the bathroom looks more updated than the hotel exterior. Front desk help was pleasant as well. Service: 3

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chococow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. It seems like you enjoyed our clean rooms and friendly staff but were disappointed in the food quality. We apologize for that. The quality should be the same when breakfast begins or when it is nearly over. Trust that your comments will be taken seriously and addressed by our managers. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again. Please contract the hotel directly for the best rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Downside: The entire staff was snooty. Didn't want luggage brought through the front doors!! Not enough parking. Back lot is dark. Elevator is too small for the luggage cart to fit easily. SIgnage was poor. Facility is a bit hard to find. Expensive! Housekeeping staff tie up the luggage carts to haul laundry. I wouldn't stay here again unless all the motels in Monterey (and there are many) are full.

Upside: nice beds, attractive decorating, very clean, close to shopping.

Room Tip: Drive the 5 minutes on to Monterey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you for the review of our hotel. It seems that you found our rooms very clean, the decor attractive and the beds nice and comfortable. We appreciate these positive remarks. We were a bit concerned when you found our staff to be a bit” snooty”. The vast majority of our reviewers find our staff to be very friendly and accommodating. We will certainly address our staff to make sure comments like this are not repeated. We are very proud of our staff and the hard work that they do. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
452 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Check in was very good and the young lady that checked us in was very good and gave us some good information and discount vouchers for local restaurants.
Our room was 251and had no view at all, it was small compared to the others on this trip but it was clean and had a safe and ironing facilities and the bed was very comfy.
The pool is of good size however there are only 6 loungers and 12 chairs, not nearly enough.
Breakfast leaves a little to be desired the Americans think that bacon has to be cremated before is can touch a plate to the extent that you are better eating it with your fingers rather than try to got a fork into it. So much for the BIG American breakfast give me a full English any day.
The location is good, if you are driving there is a petrol station at the end of the drive and you are just a 5 min drive to Ocean Ave where there are some lovely shops and restaurants, one we can recommend is Casonova's it is located behind the main road / strip but worth the effort to find and the seafood linguine is fantastic.
Fishermans wharf in Monteray is also worth a visit especially if you like seafood like crab, lobster and clam chowder you can also depart from here to go whale watching.
Our trip started in Las Vegas to Death Valley to Yosemite to Carmel to Nappa Valley to San Francisco so if you would like any information about driving and things to do please contact me.

Room Tip: Stay away from 230 -253 they have no views except the car park and 251 has a huge tree in front of i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank applegate69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I’m glad you enjoyed our convenient location and the friendliness of our front desk staff. We sincerely appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again. Please remember to contact the hotel directly or visit our website for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We were in Carmel in late June for a "destination" wedding. We had stayed at the Carmel Mission in a few years ago for another wedding. The place is very nice, but their room policy a bit odd: We arrived early on a Saturday, staying one night. We thought that we would try to see if our room was ready before the 2 o'clock wedding so that we could get settled beforehand. We went in at noon and were told that yes, our room was ready, but since their check-in time is at 4 pm if we accessed the room before 2 pm we would have to pay an additional $35.00. Huh? The room was ready, we weren't requesting anything out of the ordinary. Needless to say, we went to the wedding and checked in at 3 pm. Otherwise, the hotel is very nice, perhaps a bit pricey for where it is. We did have fun later in the lounge listening to live music with what seemed like a nice group of locals. Otherwise the staff was all very pleasant.

Room Tip: Fourth floor with a balcony is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you for the review of our hotel and your positive comments about our staff. I would like to clarify our policy on early check-in. Our normal check-in time is 4 PM. During our peak seasons when “available” we set aside a select number of rooms for early check-in. Unlike most hotels we do not require a minimum length of stay on most occasions. When you were told your room was ready what should been explained is that is the “type” of room you had reserved was available. Thus we could have accommodated your requests for a noon check-in for a minimal fee. I hope this helps clarify this situation. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery Bay, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I reviewed this on Yelp and it magically disappeared? I feel I should aware people who are thinking of staying here. This place was that bad I am writing a review- and I don't normally do this! If I could give this hotel zero stars I would. AVOID this place at all costs. There are many hotels in the area that are a 100% better. If you want to have flea bites all over your body from staying in one of their "pet friendly" rooms and save some extra money by all means stay here. My mother and I were arriving late evening and retired to our room once we arrived. I woke up with bites all over my legs and arms. Afraid they were bed bug bites, I called the front desk and they asked for their staff to search the room. Please by all means. They did not find any bugs on the sheets but instead of giving me new sheets the maid put the SAME sheets on the bed. I was upset. Who does that? Went to the front desk and asked for new bedding. While I was there I showed the staff (who took pictures - I might add) to show the manager. At first the manager insisted we had been to the beach before we came to the hotel which we did not (fleas in sand? I guess) and he apologized. He said he was going to refund us our stay. He did not. In fact after we disputed the charge on our card, he wrote to our credit card saying he did not know who we are and this is an attempt to get a free stay. What a liar! I am awaiting to hear back from my mom on his newest response. Bottom line runaway while you still can!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
We stand by the many “HONEST” reviews of our hotel so I will present our side of the story in this situation since we remember you quite well and have detailed documentations about this. First point of clarification is that you stayed in March not May. We did inspect the room at your request, found absolutely no signs of any insects and asked if you would like to change rooms to put your mind at ease. You declined our offered to change rooms, put a do not disturb sign on your room, and did not allow was into your room for the two nights of your stay. Thus we were unable to change any bed linens in your room. You stated that you came down to the front desk and the agents took pictures of your skin condition. This is absolutely false in its entirety. You also stated that the manager said you would get a full refund for your stay at the hotel. This is absolutely false. You did try to dispute the charges with your credit card company which was denied. They felt there was absolutely no merit in your claim. Now if this situation did exist after your first night stay with us why would you decide to stay a second night? Both logic and honesty need to be examined here. We stand by the many fine reviews of our hotel, the friendliness of our staff and the cleanliness of our facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Nice Clean and a slightly more affordable option than some of the other bed and breakfasts in the area. The staff were friendly and could give a good suggestion for restaurants. It is a 2- 5 minute drive down to Ocean Avenue where all the cute shops/ restaurants are [not really walkable] and it easy to navigate though the entrace is a bit tricky to find. The room was a good size and the bathroom nicer than I expected.

I'd say it's a good place for families /casual vacation but it is not particularly romantic by any means.

It is nicer than it looks like from the outside.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SonitaSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Carmel hotel. Our housekeeping staff works very hard to provide a clean room for our valued guests. Our front desk staff is also rated as one of the friendliest in the Carmel area. We thank you for recognizing their hard work and effort in making your stay most comfortable. We appreciate your business and hope to be able to serve you again. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and packages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
1.4 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Property: Carmel Mission Inn
Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923-8609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing