We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happily delighted with Carmel Mission Inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carmel Mission Inn
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Happily delighted with Carmel Mission Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Yes, this is a slightly older property with the character of beautiful architecture in the secondary business centre of Carmel - but that truly is where the buts stop.
When we arrived the front desk the greeting was the best I have ever received. Great enthusiasm to attend to our needs and a good level of local information provided upfront ( Best place to park the car to access our room, location of room, breakfast time and locations, good local knowledge an d recommendations for dinner).
The decor in our room was certainly 'zanny' and eye catching with everything immaculately clean.All the staff we met during our stay were cheery and genuine. Complimentary buffet breakfast was a welcome surprise.
We were fortunate to be placed on the top floor at the rear of the property - which proved to be quiet with a pleasant view onto the hills of Carmel Valley.
Carmel and the surrounding area was great - we watched the sun come down on the beach in the company of a pod of dolphins frolicking in the surf as the tide turned, 17 mile drive with the coast, scenery, fantastic homes and world class golf courses was fine, Monteray Bay Aquarium truly deserves all of it accolades or and some great places to chill out and eat.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiebp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Carmel hotel. When someone compliments our front desk to as you did it genuinely puts a smile on their faces. You also mentioned our breakfast buffet which is part of our bed and breakfast package and one of our best values. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again. Please contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    690
    211
    60
    49
See reviews for
488
716
47
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Relaxed with the complimentary glass of wine at happy hour. Staff was helpful and courteous, We were given discounts to various restaurants, shops and wine and food tasting events. Breakfast buffet was hot, and delicious with Fresh sliced fruit, Eggs, sausage and breakfast breads -very good. Our server kept our coffee cup filled! Loved our balcony with a breath taking view of the sunset. Slept great, so quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LADSunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for the review of our Carmel hotel and we are pleased that you felt relaxed and pampered. We have a friendly and outgoing staff that sincerely tries to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. It is also nice to know that you had a great night sleep. We appreciate your business and please come stay with us again in the future. Just remember to contact the hotel direct for the best rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed the night and it is in the perfect location. Not in Carmel by the sea, but in the shopping area of carmel valley. Across the street from Safeway and next to the Barn shopping area. Right off highway 1. Rooms were nice and great place to stay the night.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonpowered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Carmel hotel and I’m pleased that you enjoyed our convenient location. I’m also happy that you enjoyed our comfortable guestrooms and we sincerely appreciate your business. We hope you will stay with us again in the future and please remember to contact the hotel direct for the best rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

this hotel is not in the main part of Carmel it's on route 1, it's about 2 miles from Ocean Ave.
it's quiet and the beds they're pretty comfortable. no views except for other businesses or streets. but the worst part is the shower experience. The shower has no door, so the floor of the bathroom gets totally flooded with water, you are totally exposed and you freeze while showering since the steam isn't trapped in the shower. whoever designed this seriously needs to look for another line of employment.

Room Tip: ask for the top floor, you'll get a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Carmel hotel and I’m glad you enjoyed our quiet location and comfortable beds. You mentioned the shower design which is the open glass look. Some people prefer the traditional shower/tub combination so when you return simply mentioned that at check-in and will be glad to accommodate your request. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again. Please remember to call the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed in Carmel after a great day at Pebble Beach and the 17 mile drive. Found this place on trip advisor. There was a special running thru trip advisor which also included breakfast and 2 drinks/free apps in the evening.
Room was not fancy but it was clean and comfy.
One issue. The thermostat was not working right. Strange issue. They sent up a portable heater and that solved the problem.
Breakfast service was great. Normally you would get to order one main and a drink off the menu. But they were busy so they had a buffet set up. They made eggs to order since there was cheese on the eggs in the buffet. They were also allowing other tables to order the single item off the menu option.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for the many kind words in your review of our Carmel hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our clean and comfy guestrooms as well as the service provided in the restaurant. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again whenever in the Carmel area. Just remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

I am an avid Travelzoo person, but it was my sister-in-law who actually found this fantastic deal on their website for the Carmel Mission Inn. We got a two queen room for $89 a night (weeknight rate) which included breakfast for two. When we initially drive up, I was slightly underwhelmed but for the price was not about to complain. I thought the location was a little different in the middle of city across from large shopping center, but actually the location could not have been more ideal, as directly adjacent to where we parked was another lovely shopping center with quite a few nice restaurants and quaint little shops that we were able to walk to for dinner and breakfast. Plus the mission was a short drive down the road.
When we actually checked in, there was a lovely fire pit outside for hanging out to visit in the front. The rooms were beautifully appointed with a nice built in cushioned bench in front of the window and two additional chairs in the room so ample seating. The beds were very comfortable- if the pillows a little too fluffy for my liking. The bathroom was beautiful with a walk-in shower- no shower door or curtain. For those with little ones who use bath tubs, there were showers only in our rooms which was not an issue for us. The sink space was small, but it was such a gorgeous bathroom, I could look past that. Overall, I can now think of no other place I would want to stay in the area- especially at that rate, and we visit Monterey area frequently- first time staying in Carmel. We chose to skip the breakfast, as we had family of four in each of our rooms and the reviews on the good at the hotel was mediocre. We chose to spend the money we saved by staying here at breakfast next door. From Scratch was a fantastic breakfast choice. The service was not the speediest, but they were friendly and the food was well worth the wait. All in all, a fabulous two day escape for our family.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Me0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Carmel hotel. We strive to provide a great value in our area and I’m glad you enjoyed our convenient location. You mentioned the fire pit on the patio which is a great place to hang out and make new friends. We appreciate your business and hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future. Just remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Upon booking, we requested a quiet room. I wasn't impressed when we were assigned Rm 117, a ground floor room, with a tiny window beside a service corridor. The front desk reluctantly relocated us to a 'pool view' room but the view from Rm 222 was mostly of the walkway canopy below. Missed opportunity by management to keep customers happy, as the hotel appeared to be only 50% full on the midweek night we were there. Do we really have to beg for a better room location? sigh...

The second floor room was much brighter and I happy with that. Spacious bedroom and bath with full compliment of amenities. Yes, this is an older style hotel but recent décor. Nice quiet bar fridge but noisy A/C unit...chilly days/nights when we visited and we had the heater going! another thing I liked (besides the big window) as that there was sufficient bedside light for reading as well as general room lighting.

HIghlight of the stay here however was was our first day, morning waitress. She was a complete gem! wish I knew her name - the smile and HOT coffee didn't stop coming. A delightful addition to the staff, much more pleasant than the surly evening bartenders.

Not walking distance to anything but neighbourhood shopping mall. Gas station at the corner, also convenient.

Would stay here again if the price was right but only if.

Room Tip: Room 117 is a dark, ground floor room that faces parking lot. Room 222 faces south (well is brighte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1hker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Carmel hotel. Seems like you enjoyed the service in our restaurant. We are very proud of our hard-working and dedicated staff and I’m glad they made your stay more enjoyable. We appreciate your business and hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future. For the best rates and packages please contact the hotel direct or visit our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
1.4 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Property: Carmel Mission Inn
Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923-8609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing