We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hm, I thought I already reviewed this...”
Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carmel Mission Inn
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hm, I thought I already reviewed this...”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Maybe on another website :D . Anyway, we were there in October and had a tiny little room barely long enough for the bed and not much wider. However, it was nicely decorated and we didn't hang around in it, so it was fine. Breakfast was a very mediocre buffet. Otherwise a rather unremarkable place, pretty good mid-price option. Which is important in Carmel, land of the overpriced inns!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolWFairfax_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    713
    215
    60
    50
See reviews for
510
733
49
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We had an interesting stay. Our room was upgraded to a king-sized balcony room on the 4th floor. When we got to the room we noticed it was very warm inside. A housekeeping supervisor was on the floor so I asked about getting it cooled down. She turned the thermostat to "cool" and said it would take a little while to begin to cool down. We left for dinner and when we returned the temperature in the room was 86 degrees. We promptly went to the front desk. They were apologetic about the situation and offered to move us to either a double queen room on the 4th floor or a junior suite on the 1st floor. Since it was late, we just moved down the hall. Room was comfortable. The hotel is conveniently located close to Highway 1 and about a 5-10 minute drive from downtown Carmel. Would stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GailandSteve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stopped in overnight while driving down the coast!
After driving through the mountains at night, it was great to come upon the Mission Inn!
Staff was great, rooms were well worth the price, and we had zero complaints!

Room Tip: We were in 402! Very nice room, with a huge balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wags717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This rating is really 3.5 stars. The hotel was conveniently located, a good value, and very clean. The front desk staff was a let-down, but I would stay here again.

The hotel was easy to find and conveniently located in between two shopping plazas. One (The Barnyeard), consisted of several buildings and was more of a tourist-type shopping plaza with various shops and restaurants. The other was a plaza that seemed to cater more to locals with a CVS, Safeway, and other restaurants and shops. Both were easily walkable, which I appreciated.

The lobby area was inviting and clean and there was a nice lounge with a fireplace and a couple of computers available for guests to use. Our first interaction with the staff was not so good, though, and it is clear that they need better customer service training. We arrived early and since we booked two rooms, asked if two rooms located close to each other were ready. The woman told us that she could have 2 such rooms ready in about 30 minutes. We thanked her and headed over to Ocean Ave to walk around. We returned about 90 minutes later and when we approached the desk, that same person interacted with us as though she had never seen us before. She told us that our rooms were ready, but when we happened to ask if they were adjoining, she said no, they are on different floors. We reiterated our desire for rooms that are at least on the same floor and she said two such rooms were not available. She excused herself and went into the office. When she came back, she said she had two rooms on the same floor ready, but we would have to give up the King room we reserved and instead go with a room with 2 Queens. This was frustrating, to say the least, particularly since she had told us that she would have one King and one room with two beds that are close to each other ready when we first stopped in.

We then were told that only 2 breakfast coupons came with the reservation (we had 3 people in our room). We asked her what the cost is to buy one coupon for a child's breakfast buffet and she told us that if we bought a coupon for each day at check-in, the cost would be $8. However, this price was only available at check-in. We would have to pay full price if we paid each morning. When we asked her what the full price was, her response was "I don't know". Period. It was after pressing her on the issue that she asked her co-worker and his response was "its like $10 or $12 or something". It is a bit odd that they didn't know the price of the breakfast but what bothered me is that neither person offered to find out for us.

The next morning, we asked the same woman from my experience above what time the Mission opened, her response was again "I don't know". She didn't offer to find out for us.

The breakfast buffet was OK. They served the exact same items each of the three mornings we ate there. But it was cheap and convenient, so it was fine.

The pool area was great. The pool is heated to 85 degrees and the hot tub was very nice. Having a heated pool made swimming in January enjoyable!

The room was immaculate and generally well-equipped. There wasn't a true desk, so don't expect to do much work. The "desk" they had was a narrow table that sat next to the same narrow table that held the TV. But if you aren't planning to do any work, it shouldn't be an issue.

I found the mattress to be too soft for my tastes, but other people in my party slept well.

All in all, we'd stay here again, especially if we found the same deal.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeixeGato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

On first approaching the Carmel Mission Inn - behind a gas station - my heart sank, but don't let its location put you off. You'll be thankful to be out of downtown Carmel during the Concours d Elegance/The Quail week when traffic goes pretty crazy.

You're really minutes away from Carmel and if you don't feel like driving at the end of a long day, just walk (legs! Wehey!) across the road for some decent grub at the Rio Grill and other good restaurants in the area.

And being just a block off the highway means that you'll get to nearby Big Sur, Point Lobos and Monterey that much quicker - great for quick exploratory escapes.

Rooms are lovely. Breakfast is generous. Rates are decent when compared to others in the vicinity.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank explrdvr37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galt, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Booked our room online through an alternate site. The reservation never made it to the hotel! Rather than have us stand around wasting an hour of precious vacation time while he researched the problem, the manager, Jose, found a room to meet our needs (pet friendly AND handicap accessible!) and sent us on our way. Later in the day, the confusion regarding the reservation was resolved, we were informed by phone, and that was that. Jose's excellent customer service turned a potentially devastating experience into a wonderful memory. Thank you Jose and thank you Carmel Mission Inn. We will be back!
P.S. Accessible room was GREAT. Awesome bathroom. Great jacuzzi.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karmagary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The location seems a little off base but it really isn't. Just a block to highway 1 so minutes to downtown Carmel, a few minutes more to Monterey.
Pool is actually very warm and very large Juccuzi. Very friendly staff and spotless rooms. Best of all the rates during really popular dates are only a bit more than rack rates. Motel 8 etc can approach $600 per night during the Concours d Elegance, not Carmel Mission Inn.
Breakfasts are only fair. Great coffee places right behind hotel and for dinner walk to famous Rio Grill across the street.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
652 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
856 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
3.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
1.5 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#7 of 25 in Carmel
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Property: Carmel Mission Inn
Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923-8609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing