We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay!”
Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carmel Mission Inn
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Soquel, California
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice stay!”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This was our first visit to Carmel Mission Inn and it was very nice. Front desk was helpful, room was clean and very bright. We were on the 4th floor facing the Barnyard complex so it was super quiet too. We definitely would stay again when visiting the Carmel region.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors such as Delux King were super quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gotkona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
We thank you for the kind words about our hotel. The fact that you stated you would stay again is a testament to our hard-working and dedicated staff. We are very proud of our staff and they are considered our greatest asset. We sincerely thank you for your business and hope you will stay with us again soon. Just remember to contact the hotel directly or visit our website for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    716
    215
    60
    51
See reviews for
513
733
49
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My husband & I wanted to celebrate our 25th anniv. in Carmel as we visit quite often. Our dog sitter had to back out last minute so we had to bring our little sheltie with us. As this was the annual film festival weekend the hotels for pets were booked solid. We literally got the last pet-allowed room in town and we were not disappointed. We were on the first floor with double queen beds, very clean,quiet with big area for potty trips. Breakfast was wonderful with friendly waitresses. We loved the hot tub with Lucy just watching. We did not hear one bark and even Lucy was quiet. We will definitely stay here again with or without Lucy.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shari A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
We thank you for your many positive comments about our hotel. It sounds like you took advantage of our bed and breakfast package which is a great value. Our housekeeping staff works very hard to provide a clean guestroom and we are glad you appreciate their efforts. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon. Just remember to contact the hotel direct for those exclusive rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My brother and I stayed here for a night when we were passing through Carmel. The staff are super nice, polite and cheerful both at the front desk and in the breakfast lounge. The room was spotlessly clean. The beds comfortable. The balcony on the 4th floor has a decent view. We were informed it was a half hour walk into Carmel proper. True to their word, we walked in through the beautiful neighbourhoods down to the beach, then into town for dinner and back. A great time. I deffinately will make sure to stay here again next time I'm in town. (We didn't try the spa but it sure looked welcoming!)

Room Tip: This sounds silly but we really wanted to be able to see our performance car from the room so we cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Obidru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
We are truly humbled when someone states our hotel is “a great place to stay”. It is important that you noted the clean guestrooms and comfortable beds but more importantly you recognized our staff. They truly are genuinely nice people and our greatest asset. We truly appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again. Please contact the hotel directly or visit our website for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Driving up Pacific Highway stayed here for a night. The room was good with lovely touches but balcony was very tired and could have done with a re painting. This Inn is not really within walking distance of downtown Carmel. It is Holiday Inn standard but costs more. Breakfast was good but extra.
Keith and Tina
Beverley, UK

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thanks for your review of our Carmel hotel. Seems that you enjoyed our breakfast and I hope you took advantage of our bed and breakfast package which is a great value. We strive to provide a great value in the Carmel area which tends to be a bit expensive because of the nature of the destination. We appreciate your business and hope you will choose to stay with us again. For the best rates and packages visit our website or please call the hotel direct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucson, az
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We loved the Carmel Mission Inn. The room was beautifully decorated with aqua upholstered chairs and matching bed duvets. The breakfasts were really outstanding with excellent choices and ours were included with the price of the room through Travelzoo. It is very close to the Carmel Mission for history buffs and an easy drive to the 17 mile drive and great restaurants downtown in Carmel by the Sea.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawkaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
We thank you for your kind words about our Carmel hotel and it sounds like you enjoyed our bed and breakfast package which is truly a great value. We wanted you to know that we truly appreciate your business and hope we will be able to serve you again. Just remember to contact the hotel direct for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My wife stayed here for 2 nights Feb.3-4 and we got a lovely balcony room. Breakfast was very nice and everything was very clean.
What was special was on Feb.5 we were departing and inadvertently I left my sweater in the room.
The young gal who had gone in to clean the room noticed it and went down from room 413 on the 4th floor to the parking lot to give me the sweater as we were driving away. I will continue to use that hotel in the future because of my experience and will recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thanks for your kind words about our Carmel hotel. Your recognition of one of our staff members was the best part of your review. We honestly believe that we have genuinely nice people working here. The example you cited is truly a testament to that. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again. Just remember to contact the hotel direct for the best rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here unfortunately for only one night, wish it could have been longer. At check in we were upgraded to a king. I asked for the 4th floor because other reviewers recommended it. George at the front desk got it for us. For dinner we walked across the parking lot to the Barnyard, after a long day it was great not to have to drive anywhere to eat. Buffet breakfast was included and had a great assortment. I had French toast, bacon, fresh fruit and coffee. My husband had eggs, fruit, assorted breads. Many other vegan and vegetarian choices. Patty, our server always kept my coffee topped. The room was quite and cozy and the bathroom was well stocked with toiletries. We will definitely be staying here again and for more that one night!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thanks for your review of our Carmel hotel. I’m glad you enjoyed our breakfast and I hope you took advantage of our bed and breakfast package which is an outstanding value. We are very proud of our hard-working, dedicated staff and we thank you for mentioning them during your review. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again. Please remember to contact the hotel direct for the best rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
652 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
857 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
3.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
1.5 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#7 of 25 in Carmel
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Property: Carmel Mission Inn
Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923-8609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing